We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Nice conversion, quirky home from home.”
other travelers have booked this property
Woodhayes Farm from the River Otter
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Woodhayes Farm from the River Otter
Exterior of Orchard Barn Dining and sitting room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
18 reviews
Woodhayes Farm from the River Otter
Exterior of Orchard Barn
Dining and sitting room
Dining area and sitting room with log stove
Kitchen and Kitchen Units
Zip Link beds either 2 single or King size bed
King size sleigh bed
2 single beds
Loft Sitting room
View from farm gate with Dumpdon the Iron age hill fort in the distance
View of Honiton from Woodhayes
Field of Buttercups with Dumpdon Hill in the distance
Farm Track at Woodhayes Farm
Panoramic view from Sitting area under 400 year old oak tree
View of Farm Buildings from the orchard
A View of the Orchard
The River Lupp  2/3rds of a mile long
Parkland oak trees in winter
Dumpdon Hill fort in Winter
Woodhayes Farm from Honiton with Dumpdon Hill fort in the distance
Field of buttercups with Dumpdon Hill Fort in the distance
View of the Blackdown Hills from the BBQ area
View of Honiton from Woodhayes Farm
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Honiton, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Rurubear
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice conversion, quirky home from home.”
Reviewed August 13, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We needed to stay close to the Blackdown Hills Gliding club as our son was in a competition. Orchard Barn was perfect for our base with the added attraction that our border collie was not only allowed but was welcomed by the owners when we arrived. There was a lovely welcome pack of a bloomer loaf of bread, butter, preserve, tea and coffee and fresh cut flowers from the owners garden.

Orchard Barn is homely and provides everything a family may need for a comfortable stay. The kitchen equipment serves all purposes to cooking a roast or baking a cake. It is a nice room for a family to sit and talk whilst preparing a meal as it has a large table and chairs, and a sofa and two cushioned chairs and a small wall mounted TV. The washing machine is behind a closed door in the wall which is a nice touch.

The beds are comfortable and there is clothes storage in each bedroom. The two bathrooms are nice, the water is gravity fed so the power in the showers, whilst perfectly adequate, is not strong. The third floor TV lounge is very comfortable and a lovely room to just relax and watch a film. The owners also provide a few toys, games and books for family use.

If we need to go to this area again we will certainly try and stay at Orchard Barn.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 15, 2017
Many thanks for your review we hope to see you again sometime in the future. Greg and fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew C
Swindon
Level 6 Contributor
488 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Great accomodation”
Reviewed August 22, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

A great place as a holiday home. II did all it said it would on the tin. The accommodation details were accurate and any issue with kitchen equipment was swiftly dealt with by the proprietors.
The kitchen/dining area was spacious with enough room for 6/8 to sit for communal meals. The bedrooms were spacious and despite having an infant there was space to spare in the master bedroom for him as well. The upstairs living room was in the eaves but there was plenty of space for the evenings and a large ish TV to watch the Olympics using the Freeview box! The property was spotless on arrival. The parking spaces for the property are a short walk but drop off of bags at the entrance was no problem. There is a lovely BBQ area in the orchard for Orchard Barn use (about 40 metres from the front door) overlooking the valley. Plenty of walks up Dumpdon Hill and a good spot to tour to the coast. We would recommend the Seaton Tramway and Lyme Regis for visits.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location in Devon near Honiton
Liked least: Very little
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrea m
1 review
“Tranquility Personified”
Reviewed June 7, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

The accommodation is clean and in very good condition. The barn is beautiful but not as beautiful as the surroundings. You are able to roam around the fields, some with sheep and cows in. The owners of the barn own all of the surrounding fields, there really are some fantastic walks around including up to the iron age fort where you may see some wild deer. The barbecue area is set some 30 metres from the barn with a stunning view of the surrounding fields.

I really cannot enthuse about this place enough, I live in a barn conversion as well, but this one is better. The owners are very nice and helpful, its worth chatting to them to get the most out of your trip. In the house there are lots of helpful things such as guides on where to go. Other additional things are baby toys which I assume have been left over the years (but clean), books, towels, washing machine etc. I went with my extended family with a 7 and 10 year old, both loved the freedom and the surroundings.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 8, 2016
thanks so much for your lovely review its much appreciated, greg and fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
782jorand
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful setting, fantastic accommodation, children didn't want to leave!”
Reviewed June 2, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

The entire experience from booking to arrival, using the property and the information that was provided was easy, practical and straightforward. Very nice people to deal with who put a lot of effort into making us feel welcome and looked after.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna E
Surrey, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great accommodation in a peaceful yet convenient location”
Reviewed August 11, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Orchard Barn has been equipped to a high standard and had lots of space for our family of four to enjoy. The owners were helpful in suggesting places to visit. Our young children loved the miniature railway at Beer and Escot Park. The only aspects stopping this being a 5* review was that the outdoor space for the cottage was no directly outside the door, and the showers could have been more powerful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJJoolz
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful place to stay”
Reviewed August 6, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Stayed at this lovely accommodation in May with my husband and 2 children. The accommodation was fantastic, very well equipped and the upstairs den was a particular favourite. It's set in beautiful countryside and we were lucky to have fabulous weather during our stay. Very good location, close to lots of different attractions.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful location and upstairs den
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda P
Seaford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Spacious, well equipped accommodation in a good location.”
Reviewed April 9, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We stayed as a party of 6 covering 3 generations of our family. The barn is a few minutes drive from Honiton set in beautiful countryside with walks literally on your doorstep. Set over 3 floors the accommodation is well laid out providing ample space for everyone. Spotlessly clean and with everything you could possibly need including a friendly welcome. A welcome pack and fresh flowers were a nice touch. Beds were comfy and hot water endless.We were very glad we chose it and would stay again in a heartbeat.
Many thanks to Greg & Fiona for also accommodating our son for the night before his local wedding!

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing