We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food, wonderful hosts”

The Honiton Wine Bar
Ranked #16 of 75 Restaurants in Honiton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $24
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: You are welcome to The Honiton Wine Bar for a sundowner glass of wine, or a four course dinner. The old building has a unique atmosphere, friendly and happy staff who really care about your experience. We serve breakfast, lunch and dinner. Our menu changes frequently and special menus each week for Fish Fridays. There are special steak nights on Tuesdays and Thursdays, and a special curry night on Wednesdays. Our main menu runs alongside all our specials.There is a wonderful selection of wine, with three whites, three reds and two rose wines by the glass. We welcome special occasion dinners and love to help to make your evening memorable.Our food is sourced from local suppliers whenever possible, our West Country Steaks are stunning. We serve tap water in specially prepared bottles with the environment in mind.Ring to discuss a special dinner or event. Bookings always advisable.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Just had our second meal at the Honiton wine bar this week. We are on holiday for another week and have already booked for Tuesday and Friday next week. The food is top class and we only wish we were locals as it would be a regular choice for us. What can we say about the owners, so very friendly and warm, we couldn't of asked for anything more. If you haven't been yet I strongly recommend u give them a try x

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Atkinsons1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (251)
There are newer reviews for The Honiton Wine Bar
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

211 - 215 of 251 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2013

This small, beautiful Restaurant is a must if you are visiting, live or even if you want to travel to a top little restaurant. New owner is so lovely and helpful and the food is top class. Check this place out you will not be disappointed. The standards are high and the new owner has made a massive improvement to the atmosphere and menu. We will be visiting this gem again xx Thanks

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nuttalls028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DevonLilly, Owner at The Honiton Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Thank you so much for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed your evening with us and look forward to meeting your lovely family again next time you are visiting your Devon relatives!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

A group of 8 of us ladies who eat out every 6 weeks decided to give this a try as it has new owners. Well, we were by no means disappointed! The atmosphere was great and the staff so friendly & attentive which must have been hell with the heat at the moment!
We are not the easiest to please with so many different tastes but they didn't let us down! I had the Ribeye Special which was delicious, in fact for the first time in ages my plate went back clean! The meals were varied but not one plate went back uneaten - now that's rare for us so Top marks for the new owners Carol & Andy and their friendly team, we had a top night & we will definitely be back. I'm going to take a friend & try the Lunch! What a MASSIVE improvement, well done all & Thank you. LG - Honiton

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chuckles96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DevonLilly, Owner at The Honiton Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Hello there and thank you for your lovely review. We enjoyed meting and serving you ladies, even if you did re invent our menu!!! So glad you had a great night and thank you for your patience on such a busy evening.
Looking forward to seeing you all again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We've been here a few times at lunch or for coffee and always found it friendly and charming. Went recently for an evening meal and had a very disappointing experience. Maybe it was because they were busy or maybe the new owners have different standards, but we felt it was very overpriced and the service was indifferent. Maybe they were just having an off night.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Min F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DevonLilly, Owner at The Honiton Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

How disappointed I am to read your review. Since taking over the Wine Bar we have received much positive feedback about the new wine list, the great food and the happy staff. Since I have been present on almost all evening services, I have tied to speak with all of our customers where possible. It is a pity I wasn't aware that we had someone so disappointed.

We have several evening meals for under £10, even our West Country Steak night at £8.95, so again I am sorry you feel the food is overpriced.

Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

What a lovely evening. Food was really tasty. My husband had the pork in cider sauce and I had the seafood medley, both of which were gorgeous. The artisan ice cream is the best you will ever taste.
A lovely atmosphere and the owner is a very nice lady who was so kind to help us out when we got in a pickle with our taxi which never happened. Very many thanks for your kindness. Hope to be back very soon.

Janice and Geoffrey - Dunkeswell

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank janice m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DevonLilly, Owner at The Honiton Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

Thank you so much for your review, Andy is being teased about his new "taxi" service. So glad you enjoyed your evening, it was lovely to meet you both and we look forward to sharing another evening with you soon. Carol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Honiton Wine Bar also viewed

 

Been to The Honiton Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing