We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great home cooking” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lacemakers Cafe

Lacemakers Cafe
Ranked #2 of 8 Coffee & Tea in Honiton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $12
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Friendly welcome, service and relaxing atmosphere where the Chefs create extraordinary dishes from locally sourced produce. The menu changes regularly and is extremely good value for money.
Honiton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Great home cooking”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

This cosy and comfortable little Tea Shop is situated on the Eastern end of the High Street where on road parking is usually available (1 hour). Public pay Car Parks are available nearby.

The café offers a home cooked range of hot and cold delicious lunches and is popular with locals many making this their regular lunchtime venue. Coffee, tasty tea time cakes and tea are also popular. Everything is very reasonably and competitively priced

There are about a dozen tables in the main area with comfortable easy chairs in the bay window and with additional tables in the rear. Pleasant garden available in summer.

Good home cooking is the order of the day and the staff offer a cheerful welcome to all their guests.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teameffort, Owner at Lacemakers Cafe, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you, great helpful comments, thanks for taking the time to comment on us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    54
    14
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious Sunday Roast...10/10!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed the lacemakers cafe so much yesterday, that I had to return again today! As thrilled to discover, they now OPEN SUNDAYS! Arrived at 2.30, not realising they shut at 3, but this didn't affect the food or service in the slightest. Today I had the Sunday roast, (and so did my friend and her thoughts are the same!) paid around £8 for it, and was worth every penny! Pork was tender, delicious gravy, crispy yet healthy roasties, all the trimmings, apple sauce, and perfect portion size! And I'm a big eater...
One thing i will say, which i LOVE about this place is that the speed of service is fantastic, especially when your hungry, you never have to wait long for food. Afterwards I couldn't refuse the offer of homemade cherry and apple crumble and custard, and at just £3.25 it's again, fantastic value for superb quality food. Can't think of one negative, from the piping hot latte, the efficient and friendly waiter 'dan', who catered for every need, the relaxed atmosphere, makes every visit there a pleasure. I just might make this routine every Sunday, as it beats cooking, and for the reasonable prices and excellent food and service, why would you stay at home??!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosie-P2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teameffort, Owner at Lacemakers Cafe, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for your comments and glad you enjoyed our Traditional Sunday roast, hopefully see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Would come here every day if I could!!!! :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

came to the cafe today with my mum, very hungry so ordered the full English 'village breakfast' for the hungry! (There's also a smaller option, for the peckish!) And it didn't disappoint!!!! Generous portions, DELICIOUS good quality food, and with all local produce (and you can taste it). The cleanliness, the friendly staff, great sense of humours and chat, the decor, the atmosphere, and ambience, EVERY single thing is Divine. I would 100% recommend it, and if I could afford to eat out every day, I would choose this place. Thankyou!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosie-P2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teameffort, Owner at Lacemakers Cafe, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write your review, we are glad you enjoy our home cooked food here at the Lacemakers Café, hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food, good wine, service excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

Lace makers cafe is warm, friendly , clean with good service, excellent meals, wonderful wine and beats anything in honiton hands down first class

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jaygo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
62 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Popped in for lunch half hour before I had an appointment at hairdressers. I explained I only had half hour. My lunch was freshly prepared, served and eaten with 10 minutes to spare! Excellent food and service.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank DevonMosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lacemakers Cafe also viewed

Honiton, Devon
 

Been to Lacemakers Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing