We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Odle Farm Holiday Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Odle Farm Holiday Cottages
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

We have just got back from a wonderful 4-night break at Odle Farm. Our checklist had been.... inexpensive, rural with good walking, reasonable travelling distance from home on a Friday night and.... a private outdoor hot tub!
Odle Farm is a small collection of self-catering units and B&B set around the courtyard of a converted farm. The Farm is beautifully situated above the Otter valley and much of the accomodation has great views over the surrounding countryside. The Farm is not far from Honiton but the drive up the final track is a little narrow and windy in places - we didn't have any problems, but if you are an anxious driver in a big car who can't reverse, you may think twice!
We arrived late on a Friday night. Despite this, we had a warm welcome and were quickly shown around the cottage. There was some complimentary delicious ginger cake left for us in the kitchen as well as some milk in the fridge and a few sachets of tea/coffee to make sure we could survive through the night! We had come supplied with an Indian takeaway and soon found the kitchen to be well-equiped.
The cottage had everything we could possibly want. Everything was immaculately clean and the furnishings were of a high standard. The heating (underfloor) was set at a comfortable level and we didn't have to use the electric stove in the living room at all (despite fairly inclemant weather in January). The outdoor hot-tub was as great as we had hoped, and we had several lovely times slowly poaching ourselves in the bubbles while looking out over the valley and letting time drift happily by.
Everything was provided, from towels to washing-up liquid. The only think that caught us out was an absence of shower-gel and shampoo (I know.... It's not a hotel). This wouldn't normally have surprised me but given the comprehensiveness of everything else, I think they might offer a "toiletries package" for a small extra cost for those of us lazy enough to want more of the "Hotel experience".
Anyway, we had a truly wonderful time. We will definitely be going back. A warm welcome, great location, fabulous facilities and reasonable price... what more could we ask for?

Room Tip: Willow cottage - couldn't be better for 2 sharing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bourgeois_Hedonist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OdleFarm05, Owner at Odle Farm Holiday Cottages, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a glowing review, its really appreciated and makes all the hard work worth it. We will look in to offering a toiletries pack as we do have a supply for the bed and breakfast rooms.

I also saw your review on The Candlelight where you had a meal on the Sunday night, thank goodness my recommendation was a good one as it is always difficult to know what people like ! I know we have never been disappointed when we have eaten there.

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
52
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Glad to see so many great comments for Odle Farm. We have stayed there four times now and it has always been brilliant. The accommodation is lovely, with the hot tubs a lovely bonus. Saw my first shooting star in the hot tub drinking Champagne at midnight! Doesn't come better than that. Karen and her mum are really friendly hosts, the duck eggs delicious and the views over the Otter Valley are beautiful. Lovely place in a lovely part of the world.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Will S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OdleFarm05, Owner at Odle Farm Holiday Cottages, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for your review, it's always lovely to hear about the highlights of guests visits, the hot tubs are always a hit and even better if you are lucky enough to see shooting stars! We look forward to seeing you on visit number 5 ? : )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

We have stayed here twice. First visit was to Honeysuckle cottage which we loved, especially the lovely homemade cake on arrival, the hot tub and the great verandah overlooking the valley. Two years later we decided to return and enjoyed a very comfortable stay in Jasmine Cottage, which is very roomy for 3 people, Really well equipped kitchens, very clean cottages, friendly and helpful owners and great fun to be had in the recreation barn. Hot tub special at night under the stars, but equally fantastic on a sunny but frosty November morning. Real away from it all feeling in the beautiful Otter valley. This really should be a best kept secret !

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sallyand2ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OdleFarm05, Owner at Odle Farm Holiday Cottages, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you, we really appreciate you taking the time to write such a lovely review. It's always lovely to see previous guests coming back to Odle Farm and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

We needed somewhere to stay overnight near friends who were visiting the area for the weekend.

I googled Upottery more in hope than expectation and we won the lottery.

This Farm Stayy with holiday cottages and bed and breakfast rooms is run by a charming family who seemed to have really thought about what makes for a comfy and pleasant stay.
Even though we were only staying for one night we were wwarmly welcomed with a tray of tea (or coffee) with fruit cake as well.

The farm is "out of the way" but only. 10 minutes from the A303. As it is high up and south facing
there are gorgeous views across the Otter valley. We stayed over on one of the coldest nights so far this winter and we were toastie warm as there is central heating. Our room had biscuits, tea coffee and hot chocolate. There were extra blankets and the large bath room had all needed for a quiet soak or a quick reviving shower.

Breakfast in the morningg featured the farm's eggs. And I wondered if the ducks in the pond might furnish a duck egg or two in the summer.

Naturally it was exceptionally clean and everything worked: plugs, sockects ....

Would we stay again? You bet your sweet life.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dshackell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OdleFarm05, Owner at Odle Farm Holiday Cottages, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again if you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights in the B and B rooms. Very warm welcome Which included a cup of tea and cake. The rooms were spacious and very clean. Nice touches like fresh milk provided for tea and coffee in your room.plenty of choice for breakfast. Very good value for money and friendly and helpful hosts.
The railway in honiton was recommended to us by our hosts for dinner one eve and the food was seriously good. If you are looking for a B and B near honiton this is definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Milliedaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OdleFarm05, Owner at Odle Farm Holiday Cottages, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for the great review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay.
Hope the bread making at River Cottage went well and the journey home wasn't too busy. Maybe see you again if you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle staffs
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

stayed in wisteria cottage,found it to be very clean and comfortable,and the kitchen well equipped,the only thing we found a let down was having to walk across a courtyard and down two sets of stairs,if it had said that in the advert i doubt we would have booked this cottage,as we had children with us and a baby,apart from that i must say that i really did enjoy this break and was made to feel very welcome.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nessyNewcastleStaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffs
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

Cottage was clean and comfortable. Beds comfortable and kitchen very well equipped. Outside space was nice but we were under the impression when booking that the hot tub was just outside the cottage, it was in fact, a few meters away across the courtyard, and was accessed through the play barn ( up and down two sets of stairs ). Locality not ideal for walking with pushchair/ wheelchair due to lots of gravel and steep, narrow roads. Lovely location, and we could not fault the service provided by the owners.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrandmrsbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OdleFarm05, Owner at Odle Farm Holiday Cottages, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for reviewing your stay at Odle Farm we really appreciate your feedback and are glad you enjoyed your stay.
I have looked at the wording on our website and re written the hot tub part of the facilities page to make it clearer that the hot tub is set across the courtyard on it's own decking area. It is situated here so as not to be overlooked by any other guests as it would be if on the patio at the back of the cottages.
Willow and Honeysuckle have there own private hot tubs which are situated outside their cottage doors which may be where the confusion occurred?
Thank you for bringing this to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honiton hotels
2.8 mi away
Lakeview Manor
Lakeview Manor
#4 of 5 in Honiton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
2.2 mi away
Barn Park Farm
Barn Park Farm
#2 of 3 in Stockland
5.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
0.0 mi away
Greyhound Country Inn
Greyhound Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Fenny Bridges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Belfry at Yarcombe
The Belfry at Yarcombe
#1 of 2 in Yarcombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
5.8 mi away
Deer Park Country House Hotel
4.8 mi away
Premier Inn Honiton
Premier Inn Honiton
#3 of 5 in Honiton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Odle Farm Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Odle Farm Holiday Cottages

Property: Odle Farm Holiday Cottages
Address: New Road | Upottery, Honiton EX14 9QE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Honiton
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Honiton
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have four self catering cottages at Odle Farm accommodating between 2 and 5 guests, all have use of hot tubs, the couples cottages having their own private hot tubs. Situated overlooking the beautiful Otter Valley with outstanding views we aim to offer you a relaxing stay, home away from home. The games room with pool table, air hockey, table tennis and darts together with plenty of board games and books provide added entertainment to help create happy, lasting memories of your visit. We look forward to welcoming you to Odle Farm. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Odle Farm Holiday Cottages Honiton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing