We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Plantation House Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ermington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Haven't had the pleasure of staying in hotel but came for dinner after a friend recommended it.
This place is a hidden gem, excellent from beginning to end highly recommend, will definitely return and hopefully stay too next time.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Julies557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (218)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 218 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2013

We recently stayed for four nights at The Plantation House and felt compelled to write this review really as a way of saying thanks to the team there for what my partner and I felt was a unique experience.

The location is rural, peaceful and idyllic. The property and grounds have this charm that could lead you to believe that you were anywhere in the world. The staff are extremely professional, but friendly and attentive without being obtrusive. They always had a smile on their faces, but there was no 'falseness' that unfortunately we tend to experience in a few of the large five star plus hotels that we tend to stay at.

Our room, again, had a welcoming charm, and although it wasn't the largest room in the hotel, had everything we could possibly wish for to make our stay as comfortable as possible. The welcome fruit bowl was a nice touch as it included apricots, strawberries and plums, which were beautifully ripe and fresh. The bed was comfy, and we both slept like....well, we haven't slept in a while!

We ate in the restaurant on the last night and the food was divine. It was pleasantly busy, with a lovely atmosphere, and we finished with a cheese board, brandy and coffees outside on the terrace. It was a gorgeous evening and it just seemed to top the night off perfectly.

The real star of the show for both of us though, was the breakfast. It was SERIOUSLY good, and we just didn't expect it. You are given a fresh tropical fruit salad to begin with which contains a divine selection that tastes as good as it looks. You then have a choice of basically whatever you could ask for.

The fresh eggs from their own hens melted in the mouth. Like silk. The hogs pudding makes an extremely refreshing change from your typical breakfast sausage, and the chef did us some beautiful fried bread to boot. There were home made jams, croissants and pastries if you wanted...literally the whole shebang!

Most importantly, nothing ever felt like it was too much trouble. We were mostly being looked after by Julie (hi!) and she was cracking. Great sense of humour, and just a perfect hostess really. The other girls that were serving breakfast and dinner were also extremely sweet and amiable. A real credit to the place.

Conclusively, you cannot fail to relax there, and be impressed by the ambiance of the property.

5 stars from us, and most certainly return visits! :)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Peasants_Revolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

We've eaten here a few times now, mostly as large family parties. The service has always been of a very high standard......but the food, the food is on another level, absolutely amazing.

Black bream as the fish course will never be forgotten......... Think am going to book another visit stunning.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

;firstly no vegetarian choice , I had pasta which was overcooked & very sweet as a starter,main course venison red but cut very thinly & burnt on the outside the jus was fine ,finished with cheese cut waffer like!!! Wine great . Service OK but waiter did'nt engage with us. at all.As a ex hotlelier & restauranteur Francais a little disappointed

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank muffinella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Sited in the heart of the S Devon countryside a very attractive house set on a small hill off the main road. A good welcome and greeting was given. The room had a great view in the front of the hotel of rolling hills and very docile looking brown cattle, very peaceful.

The highlight of this hotel is the fantastic food served up we are both veggies and we must say the Chef went out of the way with some delicious meals, probably the best veggie meals we have tasted.

For a relaxing time with attentive staff and delicious food a must visit.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pressure52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We were here for the fourth time and again it was great to be there. We had something special to celebrate and stayed for 5 nights. The owner Richard and his chef John took care of our well-being with wonderful breakfasts and dinners. They made us feel welcome and at home. The room and the bed were very comfortable.The environment is beautiful, the area invites numerous excursions,.Wonderful golfcourses.To put it briefly: It was an excellent stay!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aliciawinters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed for two nights in the last week in May for my wife's birthday. It is a lovely hotel, well managed with attention to detail. We received a warm welcome on arrival and shown to our room on the top floor. The room was very pleasant with an extremely comfortable bed. The en suite was tiled throughout with underfloor heating which was a nice added touch.
The food, both breakfast and dinner, was to a very high standard (compliments to Richard - Patron and Chef) and represented extremely good value for money. The hotel is run also to a very high standard and although slightly off the beaten track, is only a short drive away from the main coastal towns in the area.
The stay was totally relaxing
Would we go back again? You bet your life we would and have no hesitation in recommending it to all our family and friends.
Thanks for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ermington
10.8 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
5.3 mi away
Glazebrook House Hotel
Glazebrook House Hotel
#1 of 2 in South Brent
351 reviews
16.5 mi away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,162 reviews
6.6 mi away
Thurlestone Hotel
Thurlestone Hotel
#1 of 1 in Thurlestone
684 reviews
6.8 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plantation House Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation House Hotel and Restaurant

Address: Plantation House Totnes Road, Ermington PL21 9NS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ermington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ermington
Price Range: $141 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Plantation House Hotel and Restaurant 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A former rectory, this eight bedroom boutique hotel and restaurant,nestling on the sunny side of the river Erme valley, now provides a luxurious blend of rural hospitality and stylish sophistication with a strong emphasis on food. Log fires in the winter, breakfast on the terrace in the summer, yummy new bathrooms. Innovative, classical cooking from the highly experienced chef/patron. Fabulous beaches, Dartmoor, Plymouth, Totnes, Dartmouth, Eden project all close at hand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Plantation House Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plantation Hotel Ermington
Plantation House Hotel And Restaurant Devon/Ermington, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing