We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One to be recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Plantation House Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ermington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed for two nights in the last week in May for my wife's birthday. It is a lovely hotel, well managed with attention to detail. We received a warm welcome on arrival and shown to our room on the top floor. The room was very pleasant with an extremely comfortable bed. The en suite was tiled throughout with underfloor heating which was a nice added touch.
The food, both breakfast and dinner, was to a very high standard (compliments to Richard - Patron and Chef) and represented extremely good value for money. The hotel is run also to a very high standard and although slightly off the beaten track, is only a short drive away from the main coastal towns in the area.
The stay was totally relaxing
Would we go back again? You bet your life we would and have no hesitation in recommending it to all our family and friends.
Thanks for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (218)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 218 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

I live nearby but eat Richards superb food regularly and send visitors to stay here rather than use the faceless corporate hotels in Plymouth. Ever guest I send says the same. "Awesome". My advice? Book for dinner and just let the kitchen choose the food and wine for you

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We managed to get a room last minute on Saturday evening and were very pleased. The owner is really polite and clearly prides himself/them on food. Both the cake and breakfast were delicious. The decor throughout and in the room were of a very good standard, the bed comfy, linen good and overall a very easy and good stay - thank you.

Room Tip: Room 26 has a new bathroom and dual aspect Windows. Top floor to so no passing foot traffic in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexBarnicoat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We found the Plantation House while searching for possible stopover spots from Heathrow on our way to Cornwall. It's a bit out of the way, but the idyllic setting, welcoming hosts, and excellent food made this the perfect stop. Beautifully kept property and grounds. Easy parking if you don't drive by the place!

Room Tip: We were traveling with our graduate-student son and had to book a separate room for him, since there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for our first wedding anniversary after a number of friends recommended it and we weren't disappointed. Our room was lovely, nicely furnished but not ostentatious with White Company toiletries in the modern on suite. There is a lovely terrace where we had drinks in the afternoon sun and a nice intimate restaurant where we were served a very delicious and reasonably priced meal. The small bar was stocked with an impressive selection of whisky's, gin's etc as well as a large selection of wines across all price ranges. Breakfast was lovely (served in a separate bright dining room with raffeta furniture) - a wide selection of cereals, pastries, preserves (including very good homemade jam and marmalade) followed by freshly cooked hot breakfast - I had the soft cooked scrabbled eggs with hot smoked salmon - delicious, and as much fresh fruit juice, tea and coffee and toast as you want. The staff were lovely, very friendly and attentive but unintrusive. Highly
recommend!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BristolGill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Despite having lived in Plymouth for 20 years I didn't know this place existed until recently but I'm glad I've found it now.
Stayed one night as a birthday treat for my wife and what a treat it was! After a friendly welcome and being shown to our beautiful room, (where we enjoyed a fresh coffee and some fruit), we had a drink in the sun on the lovely patio.
Rather than a hotel this feels more like you're staying at a friends house. The staff are attentive without being overbearing and nothing is too much trouble.
The evening meal can only be described as outstanding. Everything, from the wild garlic & cheese bread served with the appetiser, to the coffee served in the bar afterwards, was delicious and better than I've eaten in other, more expensive restaurants. Breakfast is as good, from the fresh fruit and yoghurt, to the homemade preserves and cooked choice.
The room was lovely and the bed incredibly comfortable, with fantastic rural views.
A wonderfully relaxing place to both stay and eat, I can't recommend The Plantation House highly enough and I will certainly be going back.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Adam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

I had stopped at the Plantation House twice in 2011 for business and decided to take my family for a short break - I didn't quite expect not to organise it for 2 years but hey ho!

We took advantage of an Easter break deal that included the 3 course dinner and after a two year break I can only say that my extremely positive view of the Plantation House was confirmed again!

From the old school courteous yet discreet service, to the lovely rooms (we had Singapore Sling and Frozen Diaquiri) and the truly excellent cuisine it made for a super relaxing mini-break that I could recommend to anyone.

Please don't forget that Ermington is within easy reach of the likes of Noss Mayo, Bigbury on Sea etc, so the hotel makes a high quality but still local option compared to staying right near the coast.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lpspeshmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ermington
10.8 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
5.3 mi away
Glazebrook House Hotel
Glazebrook House Hotel
#1 of 2 in South Brent
351 reviews
16.5 mi away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,163 reviews
6.6 mi away
Thurlestone Hotel
Thurlestone Hotel
#1 of 1 in Thurlestone
684 reviews
6.8 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plantation House Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation House Hotel and Restaurant

Address: Plantation House Totnes Road, Ermington PL21 9NS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ermington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ermington
Price Range: $141 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Plantation House Hotel and Restaurant 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A former rectory, this eight bedroom boutique hotel and restaurant,nestling on the sunny side of the river Erme valley, now provides a luxurious blend of rural hospitality and stylish sophistication with a strong emphasis on food. Log fires in the winter, breakfast on the terrace in the summer, yummy new bathrooms. Innovative, classical cooking from the highly experienced chef/patron. Fabulous beaches, Dartmoor, Plymouth, Totnes, Dartmouth, Eden project all close at hand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Plantation House Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plantation Hotel Ermington
Plantation House Hotel And Restaurant Devon/Ermington, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing