We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western The Dartmouth Hotel Golf & Spa
Nearby Hotels
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$202
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$326
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$96
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (684)
Filter reviews
684 results
Traveler rating
291
251
74
38
30
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
291
251
74
38
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbar bistrogroupon dealputting greensteam roompro shoprasul mudreception staffsunday carverybirthday treatnight staybeautiful locationboth nightsthe cottagesenjoyable stayrelaxing breakcouple of nightslovely view
Filter
Updating list...
650 - 655 of 684 reviews
Reviewed March 30, 2011

We will definitely be back again in the future!

Absolutely everyone from the front desk staff to the bar and kitchen staff and the pro shop were fantastic and couldn’t do enough to make our stay more comfortable and easy, particularly with 2 babies! They constantly blew us away with how thoughtful, attentive, polite and generous they were.

Everyone went above and beyond the call of duty whether it be extending our check out time by a couple of hours, the offer from the chef to make us a dessert of our choice to even sausage rolls that we could pick up between the 9th green and 10th tee. Simply brilliant!

Room Tip: Room 320 was awesome
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob1581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2011

Stayed for a long golfing weekend which was incredible value.
Staff were excellent, rooms were new and overlooked the putting green.
The inclusive meals were also very good.
Enjoyed the golf course and the pro even had a sale on!

The only downside (and now I'm being picky) the drinks in the bar were sooooo expensive, even the house wine was way to dear.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BigDraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2011

We started our stay as business travellers and finished up with a few days leisure on one of the spa weekend packages.

The great stuff: Charlie - waitress, bar person, problem solver and direction giver. An absolute credit to the hotel for whom nothing was too much trouble. The receptionist who ensured our room was at the quiet end of the hotel. The beautician who provides wonderful treatments. The stunning location. The receptionist who resolved an issue promptly and efficiently at departure, ensuring we left with a positive memory of the hotel. Our room was spacious, comfortable and had a full range of digital TV channels, huge cups and saucers and excellent wireless internet access. The food made using local produce was delicious and perfectly cooked throughout our stay. The bath filled in record speed and the shower was most acceptable. The bar and restaurant area are marvellous.

The OK stuff: * The weekend spa package at £115 per head wasn't as good value as we had hoped. * The inclusive meal is only two courses and the options were so limited that I had to choose from the a la carte menu instead. * The beautician offers excellent 'taster' treatments - (try the amazing eye treatment which removed dark circles and bags in less than half an hour and left my partner totally chilled )- but the appointment time is limited by the money allocated by the hotel to cover the beauty treatment. An extra fifteen minutes would have made all the difference. * The room is made up with feather duvets and pillows, which I'm sure is lovely for anyone who likes them - however if you are booking and prefer synthetic bedding, let the reception staff know so you don't have to get them changed as you wheeze! *When we pointed out our 'well past it's sell by date' bath mat it and a blown bulb they were replaced before we returned to our room. Very impressive.

The room for improvement stuff: * The rooms are clean and more than servicable at surface level but would really benefit from a deep clean to get to the grime in the awkward nooks and crannies. This isn't a criticism of the housekeeping service, and we couldn't fault the cleanliness of the bedroom, it's more a reflection of the bathroom's age. *It's great to have decently sized cups on the refreshment tray in the room, but the tiny pots of milk meant hot drinks were rationed. Lovely to have a specialist tea, however green tea or peppermint would have been preferable to the fruit tea option we left untouched. * The swimming pool, changing rooms and really the whole spa area (with the exception of the lovely beauty treatment rooms) are in desperate need of complete refurbishment. It's clear the staff do their best to maintain it, but it does rather let the place down.

I think perhaps because this was a special weekend away we were determined that we would highlight any glitches so they could be resolved rather than irritate us. Without exception, we were delighted with the staff's response to and resolution of the little issues we raised. We will certainly return to Dartmouth Golf and Country Club and have already recommended it to our wider family for a holiday.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TwinkleyAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2011

We chose DGCC as the venue for our wedding reception on 23rd September 2010 after attending a large party there the year before. It exceeded our expectations and we are incredibly pleased we chose it! Staff were very helpful and friendly and the food was fantastic - all of our guests commented on how delicious it was. Our wedding co-ordinator, Paula Fahy, was efficient during the planning and on the day of our wedding, taking care of the big and little things so that we could enjoy the day without any worry. She sent us photos and ideas while we were planning, helping us to get through the mountain of decisions we had to make. As always with weddings there are last minute changes and these were well accomodated by the venue. The facilities and rooms were clean and comfy, and just wish we had stayed another night! Would recommend to anyone planning a wedding/party/family event.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank finulaLincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2011

We stayed at DGCC for the second year running in very early January. A group of twelve which comprised eight golfers (includuding our two teenage sons) and four non-golfers. We had a fantastic time. Outstanding service and friendliness from all the staff, from my initial inquiry and throughout our stay. Good food, great accommodation and of course a fabulous golf course helped make it a truly memorable stay for all of us. The non golfers loved it just as much as the golfers and we will definitely go again.
A big thank you to all the staff, the Prendergast family, West Dorset.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paulprend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews