We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking Garden”
Review of Greenswood Farm

Greenswood Farm
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blackawton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Greenswood Farm
Ranked #3 of 3 Blackawton B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We were immediately impressed by the long country lane leading to the farm and the remoteness of it. The garden is beautiful. Cosy bedroom with a fantastic view. We were welcomed warmly but also left alone which was nice. The facilities in the room were very good, proper teapot, cups and saucers as opposed to mugs which I always prefer. Very nice breakfast. Had a wonderful time. We would recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DontLikeDowns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (10)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 10 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2012

This is a lovely old house in a very quiet setting down a long lane. It is set in a splendid garden.
We were welcomed with a cream tea on arival. The bedroom was large and beautifully furnished. The breakfast was superb. I would recommend this place to anyone looking for a romantic break.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Surreyeater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2011

Greenswood is beautiful place to stay with all the olde world charm that you may expect when staying in a Devon farmhouse. The hosts Helen & Roger serve the best breakfast I've experienced on this planet and look after you like you're royalty, but never intrusive.

There were some nice touches, like fresh milk left outside the room in the morning and proper coffee with cafetiere.

This is a good base for exploring the local area and we also managed to find two good pubs and a restaurant which we plan to revisit at the next opportunity! The Tower Inn is candle lit, very romantic! The nearby Laughing Monk is also worth a visit. On the way if you're running late visit the Sea Trout Inn, a few miles off route but we enjoyed an excellent meal

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NickSynergy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2010

I fully endorse so won't repeat content of earlier reviews. The farm is of modest size with about 50 beef cows, hens, dogs and cats, all unobtrusive. You are really out in the country but you won't get mud on your shoes nor wake up to cock crowing or cow mooing, just silence. The glorious garden has very steep grass paths but you get good views from bedrooms and house entrance. The 30 yard walk from front door to car parking is level over clean concrete - no farmyard as no milking - so unless you would really have problems with stairs then don't be dissuaded in terms of accessibility.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikehol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2010

We stayed here at this lovely welcoming farmhosue for two nights, everything about it was superb, our hosts most welcoming and our room a delight with wonderful views of the ever extending country garden. Tea and home made scones were served at 'tea time; in the garden (inside in the comfortable lounge if inclement weather) We were looking for somewhere to eat in the evenings and were given a folder with many many highly recommended places nearby - we opted for two in the village of Strete, a mere ten mintes drive away. Both were wonderful.

We can not recommend this lovely place highly enough - beats any 5/6 star hotel .....

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rafles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2010

Our family stayed at this wonderful bed and breakfast farm two nights in June. We arrived late afternoon and were welcomed by the owner with afternoon tea in the beautiful gardens. We got a large en-suite family room overlooking the garden. Delicious breakfast with much choice is served in the dining room. The farm is off the beaten track and you need a car but it is a short drive to several beaches, Dartmouth and other Devon sites. We have over the years stayed in many B&B, inns and small hotels in the area but Greenswood Farm takes the first price! We can warmly recommed this place.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mariakristiina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2007

We were fortunate to be transferred to Greenswood Farm following a double booking elsewhere. We had two lovely nights and would have liked to stay for our entire holiday. The welcome was very friendly, and the setting is very peaceful and relaxing. The garden is available to relax in, and provides a great view from every window. The accommodation is very tastefully decorated and spacious, but retains the character of an old building.
The breakfast was excellent, with a wide choice of items on the menu.
We would thoroughly recommend this quality bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Swind0nian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackawton hotels
1.7 mi away
Best Western The Dartmouth Hotel Golf & Spa
1.6 mi away
The George Inn, Blackawton
The George Inn, Blackawton
#1 of 3 in Blackawton
56 reviews
1.5 mi away
Normandy Arms
Normandy Arms
#2 of 3 in Blackawton
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenswood Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenswood Farm

Address: Greenswood Lane | Darthmouth, South Hams, Blackawton, Dartmouth TQ6 0LY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmouth > Blackawton
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Blackawton
Price Range: $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Greenswood Farm Blackawton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing