We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The George Inn, Blackawton
Ranked #1 of 3 Blackawton B&B and Inns
Dartmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We first found this hidden gem in 2011. Went for Sunday lunch whilst visiting the area - the welcome, service and friendliness of the team was exemplary and having been in the hospitality industry for over 12 years I could not have wished for more.
Our meals were properly home cooked - no sound of pinging microwaves !!
The real ale was kept exactly as it should be and I learnt that their guest ales changed on a weekly basis.
Returned in 2012 and all felt the same as we had left it - same team, same great service, same great food and ales - and to show attention to detail Matt behind the bar remembered us from over a year before !! Albeit we have not slept at the George we have seen the rooms which have been recently refurbished and like the Inn they are spotlessly clean and warm.
Well worth putting the postcode in your SatNav and visit on a regular basis.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rowena87, Guest Relations Manager at The George Inn, Blackawton, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to make a review.
Glad to hear you've enjoyed your visits. Although you haven't stayed in our rooms, I'm sure your review will be helpful to future guests, diners & drinkers alike.
See you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    15
    4
    4
    2
See reviews for
15
19
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

slipped out of woodlands theme park for a well earned pint and lunch. discovered this place which was just about pefect. 100% old school traditional pub complete with pleasant no nonsense landlady. food was fresh cooked, tasty and inexpensive. beer well kept, locals friendly. even woodlands wasn's so bad in the afternoon...

Room Tip: try the bar!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank El-Muncho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rowena87, Guest Relations Manager at The George Inn, Blackawton, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, great to hear you enjoyed your visit as well as Woodlands. We're glad to hear you 'get what we are about'. We would love to see a pub section too but your comment will, I'm sure, help prospective guests, diners and drinkers alike.
We would love to see more visitors from Woodlands as we are so close and set in such a beautiful part of the countryside. As you said, a pleasant lunchtime escape or dinner to finish the day.
Our ales are Cask Marque awarded so you can always expect to receive a well kept pint.
Would love to see you again if you have another trip our way ;D
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We have recently discovered this place and wish we had found it earlier - especially as we only live just down the road in Dartmouth. This is a simple country pub - no fancy frills or gastro gimmicks - but the food is amazing and offers the best value menu in South Devon. Try and book when they have their special Guest Chef Sundays.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frandevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rowena87, Guest Relations Manager at The George Inn, Blackawton, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for making time to post a review. We are so pleased to read that you've enjoyed your experiences whilst dining with us & especially enjoyed the guest chefs menus.
It is great that you can see what we are about, 'a simple country pub - no fancy frills or gastro gimmicks'. We really appreciate your feedback, and hope others will find it useful.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We really enjoyed staying at this pub - and yes it is just a pub, but it is also warm, and welcoming, spotlessly clean, and has good food (great fish), and outstanding beer. The views are great and it is beautifully quiet. Coupled with very comfortable bed and a new ensuite bathroom this is a highly recommended place and one to where we would be pleased to return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 22Mat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rowena87, Guest Relations Manager at The George Inn, Blackawton, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you for reviewing your experience with us. We are very pleased to hear to truly enjoyed your stay & hope to welcome you back to Blackawton in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Boooked for 2 night stay via Internet and was shocked on arrival. The room was clean but shabby and extremely poorly decorated for a 3 star inn. The carpet was badly stained and peeling wallpaper. This was in complete contrast to en suite which was newly fitted. There were some nice touches in that the tea/coffee facilities were well presented. Ate in the pub for evening meal and service was poor food very mediocre. A very extensive menu which suggests "ready meals" from freezer. If you are in the area look elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WetherbyLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rowena87, Guest Relations Manager at The George Inn, Blackawton, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you for reviewing your experience with us. We appreciate your feedback and have taken on board your comments. Sorry for the delay in making this response, we've only just worked out how to respond.
As you noticed, the en-suite shower room has been newly fitted, we are working towards improvements throughout the building, which comes at a cost, which we slowly have to earn. However, we are pleased you found the cleanliness of your room up to standard.
We are disappointed that you felt the service was poor, we cannot and will not try to make excuses for this, but we will work on training for continually improving our customers experiences.
Sorry to read about your presumption of an extensive menu suggesting 'ready meals'. In some cases recipes have to be prepared in advance, it would be impractical to provide certain 'home cooked meals' from scratch when needed/ordered. It is, therefore, a necessity to cook & freeze certain items on our menu to ensure freshness, timely service & reduce waste.
We hope that perhaps in a few months time, after improvements have been made you could return and we could create a new perception of our business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We arrived at this quaint old pub, very rustic downstairs and were given a brilliant welcome.
The upstairs was totally different to downstairs and our room was refurbished, new shower room/WC lovely decor, spotlessly clean with TV and tea making facilities. The breakfast and dinners were superb. We wouldn't hesitate to go again when we are in that area. Close enough to Dartmouth in lovely countryside.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rowena87, Guest Relations Manager at The George Inn, Blackawton, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience. We have only just worked out how to respond to reviews, so sorry for the delay. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your experience with us. We have noticed that your sleep quality didn't mark as highly as other areas, if there is something we could address to resolve this we would love to improve for future stays, so please let us know. We look forward to seeing you again when you're in the area. Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blackawton
1.3 mi away
Best Western The Dartmouth Hotel Golf & Spa
4.5 mi away
Royal Castle Hotel
Royal Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dartmouth
1,005 reviews
3.9 mi away
Stoke Lodge Hotel
Stoke Lodge Hotel
#5 of 6 in Dartmouth
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
#3 of 6 in Dartmouth
305 reviews
3.8 mi away
Townstal Farmhouse
Townstal Farmhouse
#6 of 6 in Dartmouth
122 reviews
4.1 mi away
Leonards Cove Holiday Park
Leonards Cove Holiday Park
#3 of 13 in Dartmouth
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Inn, Blackawton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Inn, Blackawton

Property: The George Inn, Blackawton
Address: Main Street, Blackawton, Dartmouth TQ9 7BG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmouth > Blackawton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Blackawton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The George Inn, Blackawton 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded 3* village inn in the heart of the Devon countryside. Silver award from Green Tourism. Cask Marque awarded ales. Good value quality food selection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Book Direct Rooms, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your The George Inn, Blackawton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Inn, Blackawton Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing