We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Woodlands Camping and Caravan Park
Nearby Hotels
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$135
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$210
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$338
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$128
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$104
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Reviews (200)
Filter reviews
200 results
Traveler rating
88
55
29
15
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
88
55
29
15
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstheme parkfree entrygames roomleisure parkshower blockgreat campsiteevening entertainmentsoft playrecycling facilitiestoilet and shower facilitiessummer holidayshard standingnoisy at nightnoisy neighboursboys agedshop on sitebig kids
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
182 - 187 of 200 reviews
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Stayed for a week over Easter, we were pitched next to the games room/shower block which could be a bit noisy in the evenings, the pitches are set out in blocks with hedges in between, the site was very clean and the showers were lovely, cleaned every morning.

Washing up and washing machines available also an iron lol if you felt the need to do some ironing (I didn't lol)

As mentioned in the title we had numerous power cuts over the Saturday and Sunday with the electric being cut off from 7pm till midnight which did make us a bit cross as we had paid extra for the pleasure. So make sure you have a full gas bottle as back up.

The rules of the campsite do feel a bit military on occassions for example no flags as they make too much noise lol and make sure you park how they tell you otherwise you will be told off !

Nice little shop on site can be expensive better to go to Lidl 10 mins up the road in Dartmouth but ok if desperate.

Very dog friendly nice dog walk on site and free kennels if you wanted to visit the attached theme park.

Make sure you don't bring kettles etc from home use low voltage appliances only otherwise you will constantly tripping the electric hook up or turn high voltage equipment off to use other stuff as the electric hook-up is 10 amps.

Tips
Make sure you pack a torch
Low voltage kettle
Sat Nav
Visit Blackpool Sands, Gara Rock Beach and Kingsbridge for cream teas yummy

Had a lovely week and found loads more campsites to stay to continue our adventures in Devon.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The_Madhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Just come back after spending a week here in a tourer with friends and this was our first family holiday to Devon. before I go on I'm conscious I don't come across as reviewer with nothing good to say but I will give an honest opinion of our experience.

We arrived mid afternoon, checked in okay and was taken to our pitch by a warden. The pitch itself was really big, we chose to go on grass and we were tucked away in the corner which was lovely, same area as our friends so that always helps. Got caravan set up and took kids off to the park as sitting in the car for 6 hours sent them stir crazy.

Park was lovely and busy which was to be expected as we went Easter holidays but never really had to queue up for any length of time - kids (and grown ups) loved it. Now here's were the problems started!

Tucking in to some dinner after a really long day only to experience a power cut, not a major deal at this point but after about 15 minutes the power was restored. This went on a further 4 times that night - mmmmmmmm.

Next day, again went around the park, visited Dartmouth which was beautiful, but after 8pm again, guess what? Yep, power cuts. This time about 5 in one night. In fact, we ended up going to bed as the power did not look like being restored.

Some people, including me, were having a little chunter the next day only to be told by the wardens that loads had joined the site that week and the campers were using too many electrical facilities which was causing the problem. Okay, we'll buy that for now.

Next day - even worse, we must've gone through about 10 power cuts which eventually flattened my tourer leisure battery. By this point everyone was massively annoyed. This is a 5 star campsite with one of the South West's largest theme parks on it but couldn't handle the additional ampage. I ended up going to the reception where nobody would give a solution. All they said was that it was the campers fault for too many electrical items and that a recent visit by wardens had found some tents with big TVs, a microwave and 3 bar heaters in one tent! they said they had issued notices to all tent users saying that in their terms and conditions of business no household appliances should be used! Well if this was the case then why didn't they confiscate the items?

In essence, nobody would take control or be accountable and it got to the stage where people weren't looking forward to the evenings due to all the power cuts. It eventually quietened down and the Wardens said many were leaving hence less power cuts.

My gripe is that there were never any power cuts on the theme park and the accommodation area was less that 800 yards away so why was it still operating on a 10 amp system for such a huge site with 5 star facilities. At first, my anger was at the wardens/Woodlands as they didn't seem to want to deal with the problem but I think it is now at the campers - why take a microwave, TV and 3 heaters for one tent? Surely camping is about "roughing it"? If it's luxuries you are after then stay in a hotel...... Albeit, the management and wardens, in my opinion, could've done more and the site needs to be upgraded to 16 amp.

Other things: Great facilities, especially the family rooms, good games room, good shop, food on park was way over priced but I guess it's catering to a "captive audience". Had a dog walk area which came in handy. Just wanted to give a massive shout out to a warden called Phil, who went out of his way once my battery had gone dead to test my facilities/fuses, internal battery charger etc - great guy!

Would I go back - don't think so but that's more down to the worry of power cuts and spineless management rather than the site itself.

Room Tip: If camping, please leave your TVs. microwaves, hair straighteners, every heater you own, your Sky + box, Xbox's etc as these trip the system - it's called camping for a reason!
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave24872450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

This is not the type of campsite I would normally stay in. It is everything that I don't like in a campsite yet Woodlands managed to win me over!

I prefer open spaces, few units, small intimate sites with space and quietness in abundance. Woodlands had all that, but mainly because we attended here well off season. This is a campsite that attracts families and because we visited during school term it was very, very quiet. We were able to take advantage of their fabulous weekday deal. Sunday-Friday for £40. The Friday to Sunday cost £50!

The weekdays we stayed were blissfully quiet and there was tons of space. The wardens spaced out what units there were. The park is divided into sections, each able to take 8 units. Each section had no more than 4 units put in so it was peaceful but not deserted. The weekend was busier with families turning up to use the park on the Saturday. People arrived on Friday afternoon onward and mostly packed up and away on the Sunday morning. Again, there were no more than 4 units to a section so apart from a little increased noise from children playing there was no major disruption.

The toilet block was fabulous and spacious. Plenty of toilets and showers in this quiet time. I quickly discovered that the family shower-rooms were warmer and the showers stayed on (instead of having to push the wee button every 30 seconds!) so I used them on the weekdays. There was a large and reasonably priced laundry. Freezers were in the wash-up area for ice blocks and the dishwashing was spacious and warm. The games room had a television area and various arcades. It was very warm up there and were were told that if we had any problems with our tent then we could take our sleeping bags there to stay the night. Very reassuring and a great idea.

The pitches were very fine grit/gravel over a solid flat base. It was easy enough to peg into and every pitch has a 'carpet' to soften underfoot through the tent. It worked fairly well but the grit got everywhere! and the tent required brushing out every day. They were flat and very spacious though and better than the gravel that some places insist on using!

The staff we came across were largely students, but they were all very friendly and seemed genuinely happy to help us. It was the main reason that we ended up there and stayed so long - the original site we landed at were very indifferent and expensive and the lovely way we were spoken to on the phone when we first enquired was fantastic and was the one thing that made us decide to give it a try even though it is not our kind of site.

We only visited the theme park once. It was very much geared for children - I would say 4 - 14 age. It is mostly climbing and playparks with some (what appeared to be) tame rides. There is a very large indoor activity area with soft play, slides and climbing. The falconry centre was excellent. For a younger age group I would imagine this would be an excellent choice.

The location of the site was brilliant for exploring the area and Dartmouth is gorgeous. In the local area we loved the pub called The George in Blackawton - very friendly locals. There was a lovely riverside pub called The Maltsters Arms in Tuckenhay. The roads are very narrow and as the site is rural, a car would be necessary for any other activities apart from the theme park.

Room Tip: Stay away from the Games Room if you want quiet at night, it is open all night and can be busy until late.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheFifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2011

Stayed here for two weeks in August with my wife and 4 year old along with some friends and their two kids (2 and 7). We found the site very well run, after checking in we were taken to our pitch by one of the wardens who was full of information and advice. The staff here are very good indeed, always smiling and helpful.

We stayed on a Hillcrest Pitch which was level and well sized. The campsite is split into several area's and the Hillcrest part is great. Lots of small 'village' green style areas with good shelter and privacy. Fresh/Grey water points are abundant as are dustbins. There is only one ablutions block for this area but it is very well kept, extremely clean and has good sized free showers with plenty of hot water (although they are push button - not my favourite personally). There are several washing up sinks (some under cover, some not) a laundry with coin operated washers/dryers and a freezer for people in tents to refreeze ice packs. There are also a couple of family bathrooms (although there is a small charge of 20p for hot water in these) which were great for our little girl as the water in the showers was sometimes a little hot for her. Although very busy we never had to queue for showers/toilets etc and they were cleaned every two hours.

The pitches on the other area's of the park seemed much more open plan, although they looked about the same size. The ablutions blocks in the other area's were newer than in Hill Crest and appeared to be kept to the same standards.

The site is quite hilly (especially Hill Crest - as the name suggests!) and could prove quite an effort if mobility is a problem. There is a small on site shop which sells the basics, and several supermarkets are within a ten minute drive from the park.

The theme park adjacent to the site (free entry with stays of two or more nights) is good. Again very hilly in parts but lots of things to do for all ages ranging from three large indoor play zones to adventure playgrounds, rides, water flumes, a toboggan run and an excellent falconry centre. Several food outlets are in the park, along with the usual array of ice cream stalls. Prices were average for this type of place and the quality of the food fairly typical (ie/ average at best). One thing to be careful of here if you have young children are the height restrictions in force on many of the rides. Alot are1.1m minimum which excluded our daughter from quite a few things. Although some of them were clearly unsuitable for small children, the H&S mob seemed to have got a little over enthusiastic in some places... Overall though a good park with plenty to do.

However, once the park closes at 6pm there is nothing to do here. Although there is a room with a few arcade machines and a pool table above one of the ablution blocks, it was pretty much taken over by teenagers and not somewhere you would want to take the younger kids to. We were also told by some on the site that the noise from here caused problems at night, although we didn;t hear anything in the Hill Crest area. There are also very few lights on the park - a torch for night trips to the loo is essential here!

There is a golf club with restaurant a few minutes walk from the park entrance - although be aware the roads are 60mph, narrow and unlit with no pavements. Other than that you would need a car to get anywhere.

Dartmouth has a pretty harbour and is only about five miles away... however, parking in the town can be a bit of an issue so it may be better to use the park and ride (easily found on the way in).

Overall, I would say this is a nice site and well worth a visit. However, I think some of it's accreditations and claims (best in england...) are over inflated. Yes its nice, but there is better out there.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aquaplsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

This 5* camp and caravan site was very good, the theme park was great fun for kids and myself. We were lucky we were placed to set up our tent right by the bathroom facilities, they were very very clean. The dogs loved it in the dog walk, the only downside is the dog kennels, we has to leave them in there when we spent the day at the theme park, we felt the dogs were slightly unsafe and very worrying about them constantly, but the dogs were fine, I think we're just over protective about our pets because they are like apart of the family. But overall we rate this camp site an 9/10.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Cleanliness
Thank Lowri D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews