We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding food!”
Review of Normandy Arms - CLOSED

Normandy Arms
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $31
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Normandy Arms is to be found in the lovely village of Blackawton, near Dartmouth in the South Hams Open Tuesday through Sunday.We pride ourselves on the food at the Normandy Arms, with every dish produced on the premises using locally sourced ingredients.Menu offerings include traditional classics and specials, alongside more mordern dishes
Totnes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding food!”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

I am a bit of a cheapskate and normally would never dream of spending more than a tenner on dinner. However, my husband decided to treat me on Valentines night and I let him! :) This was such a de-li-cious dinner. Fabulous food. Worth every penny. And its great that Andy as the chef gets directly involved in serving the food to his customers. Thank you! :) x

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SusyPutnam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    25
    2
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Best New Years EVER”
Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

Stayed over new years and dined in the restarant on New Years eve. There was a special menu for he night and all I can say is WOW. Canapes to start followed by a choice of starter, I had scallops which were very special, perfectly cooked, main course was a classic of Fillet of beef rossini, perfect medium rare with amazingly tastey piece of pan fred foie gras. Next was a highlight of a semi frozen pink champagne, you could still feel the bubbles. A lovely delicate opera cake to finish. Amazing! After dinner we retired to our room that was so comfortable, clean and well appointed we fell straight to sleep thoroughly satisfied, only to wake in the morning to a fabulously laid out breakfast buffet. I can't think of any better way to spend a New Year.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank falfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and wonderful hosts.”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We had a lovely weekend with Andy and Reka looking after us and our friends spectacularly well. We could not find a thing wrong. What a lovely place and a lovely couple.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Michelin-starred quality food - outstanding inn”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed for two nights at the Normandy Arms and ate in the restaurant both evenings. The rooms were wonderful and delightful - just what anyone would want form an inn. They were very roomy, well appointed and extremely comfortable. The breakfast each day was perfect, with brilliant choices, from fantastic bacon, sausages and eggs, to sublime eggs benedict.

However, it was the dinner where this outstanding inn also delivered incredible food - chef Andrew West-Letford offered up superb cuisine all round. It was very hard to find fault in his cooking. It could (and should) find itself the recipient of a Michelin star before too long - well worth a detour to eat. Gastro-pub food at its very, very best - of at least an equivalent standard to that produced by Tom Kerridge when he won his first star. The haunch of venison was a particular highlight - perfect in every way.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Matthew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peak District National Park, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Pure delight !”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Just had a perfect five night stay at The Normandy Arms. It has a lovely feel and is spotlessly clean. Blackawton is a genuine Devon community village and the pub sits prominently at the top of it. We were made very welcome by both Reka and Andrew who take great pride in all they do and their attention to detail is always evident.
Our room (Rouen) had lovely views over the village and to rolling fields in the distance.
It was very comfortable,spotlessly clean and everything worked as it should do. We ate there every night and every course was cooked to perfection, obviously using quality ingredients and the same applied at breakfast.
Andrew definitely knows his art in the kitchen and takes great pride in ensuring the food is just right, sometimes bringing meals to the table himself.
Reka attends to all your requirements,making you feel comfortable and relaxed.
The price of accommodation,food and drink represents good value at this standard.
This is a genuine establishment run by genuine couple who deserve to succeed. If only all experiences were as good as this and if only we lived closer. Given the opportunity,we will definitely return.Happy days !!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jickyjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Normandy Arms also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing