We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Already booked to return in 2016!”
other travelers have booked this property
Chaffinch Lodge is one of eight fully-accessible lodges set in over 10 acres of Devon countryside.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Chaffinch Lodge is one of eight fully-accessible lodges set in over 10 acres of Devon countryside.
1.5 acre coarse fishing lake, with carp (common, mirror and ghost), rudd, roach, perch and bream. All lodges have South-facing private balconies with views across the fishing lake to the countryside
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Chaffinch Lodge is one of eight fully-accessible lodges set in over 10 acres of Devon countryside.
1.5 acre coarse fishing lake, with carp (common, mirror and ghost), rudd, roach, perch and bream.
All lodges have South-facing private balconies with views across the fishing lake to the countryside
Lodges have covered porches where you can store bikes, surfboards,fishing kit & mobility equipme
The iindoor heated swimming pool is open from April-Sept and has a large sundeck for sunbathing
The kitchen has a cooker, microwave, dishwasher, washer/dryer and fridge/freezer
The spacious kitchen/dining area has plenty of space
There is a drop down grab rail beside the toilet and grab rails beside the basin and shower area
The fully-accessible wet room has a power shower, toilet and basin with lever handles and grab rails
Our Games Room offers a comfortable space to relax in inclement weather.
There is plenty to do in the Games Room, including a book, DVD and games library.
There is a snooker table and TV in the Games Room to enjoy in the evenings.
Chaffinch living room is comfortable and practical with lake views from patio doors to the balcony.
All beds are made with crisp white Egyptian-cotton linen.
Each lodge has its own balcony.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Ashwater, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Devina C
Newbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“Already booked to return in 2016!”
Reviewed September 22, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Chaffinch Lodge ticked all the boxes! Comfortable, clean, very well equipped, peaceful, accessible, lovely views, sunny veranda, wildlife, walks, indoor swimming pool and relaxing bar for an evening drink also on site. Lovely welcome and finding scones, jam and cream waiting for us was a great start to our week's holiday. Ideally placed to visit Bude, Hartland Quay, Launceston, Padstow, Bodmin and many more places in both Devon and Cornwall. Great food at local pub too!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole relaxing environment of Chaffinch Lodge and its surrounding area
Liked least: Can't think of anything!!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael F
Nailsworth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Superb accommodation, beautiful surroundings”
Reviewed August 21, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Accommodation was excellent and catered brilliantly for the needs of our son who has learning disabilities. We felt completely at ease knowing he could have free access to our accommodation without us having to worry about him. The pool was a superb bonus especially in the British weather. It was wonderfully peaceful and Karen and Ian couldn't have been more helpful and approachable. Definitely one to recommend to friends and to put on our return visit list.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Accommodation
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick H
1 review
“Excellent site, Chaffinch lodge and hosts”
Reviewed August 14, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Our week stay in Chaffinch lodge was excellent, the lodge was very well equipped with everything you need, it was very clean with all items in a very good condition. Nice touch to find scones, jam and cream on table to welcome us. Hosts very nice, explained every thing we needed to know about the lodge and facilities on the site. Although the farm is quite remote wasn't far to Bude, Launceston and many attractions. Would highly recommend as a relaxing place to spend a holiday at.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lodge very comfortable, plenty of room for 4 adults and a small toddler
Liked least: nothing to complain about except wi-fi not very good (did not worry us but son in law a missed it)
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathhews2...
Hampshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely perfect!”
Reviewed April 10, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from our week holiday at Blagdon Farm. It couldn't have been more perfect. It was spotlessly clean, very well equipped with every thing you would need, plus much more. It was lovely and spacious for my family of four plus our dog. We were greeted on arrival by Karen who escorted us to our lodge and talked us through were every thing was and facilities which were available on our stay. On the dining table we had fresh scones, with jam and clotted cream for us all. Which was lovely and very much enjoyed after our journey. Also in the fridge was a bottle of Blagdon farms very own Apple juice, from there own orchard which was delicious.
All the lodges over have a balcony over looking the fishing lake, beautiful grounds and country side. So beautifully peaceful and tranquil. It was close to supermarkets and local amities.
The games room and swimming pool on site were great for keeping the kids entertain, there was also a football goal and other games on the grass for the children to play.
The lodge was a great location for visiting both Devon and Cornwall's sites of interest. We particularly loved Bude for its town and beach.
We will definitely be returning for another holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful location
Liked least: having to go home
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike A
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great Stay - Fabulous Place”
Reviewed March 31, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Just a very short review as there is little to say except fantastic. Our cottage was spotless and Karen and Ian could not do enough to make the stay any better, they were wonderful hosts. I would recommend Blagdon Farm to anybody. Fab place for all families our just a great place to "chill out"

Traveling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erica G
Buckingham, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable and very piece full”
Reviewed September 3, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We were pleasantly surprised with our stay. What a lovely place to spend with your family .
Very well equipped lodge with excellent facilities. Very spacious apartments/rooms.

Karen and Ian were always keen to help and give advice on fishing and the local area.
We will be back again. Thank you Ian and Karen !

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart P
1 review
“Very Peaceful and relaxing atmosphere.”
Reviewed August 18, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Just returned from 1 weeks break at Blagdon Farm with the family. Enjoyed the relaxing atmosphere and wildlife onsite that visits you each morning at the balcony. The kids were entertained each day at the swimming pool and games room. The Chaffinch lodge was like home from home with all the essentials. Would highly recommend to anyone.

Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing