We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Woodpecker lodge”
Kestrel Lodge is one of eight fully-accessible lodges set in over 10 acres of Devon countryside.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kestrel Lodge is one of eight fully-accessible lodges set in over 10 acres of Devon countryside.
The master bedroom has wide patio doors to the private South-facing terrace overlooking the lake The dining area in Kestrel has an extendable dining table which can seat up to 6 people
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Kestrel Lodge is one of eight fully-accessible lodges set in over 10 acres of Devon countryside.
The master bedroom has wide patio doors to the private South-facing terrace overlooking the lake
The dining area in Kestrel has an extendable dining table which can seat up to 6 people
The second bedroom in Kestrel has twin faux leather bedframes - all beds have Egyptian-cotton linen.
Kestrel's kitchen features a double oven, microwave, dishwasher, washer/dryer and fridge freezer
The Kestrel wet room features a power shower
The 11m x 5m swimming pool is open from April until the end of October & has a South-facing sun deck
All our lodges have South-facing private balconies which overlook the 1.5acre coarse fishing lake
1.5 acre coarse fishing lake, with carp (common, mirror and ghost), rudd, roach, perch and bream.
Lodges have covered porches where you can store bikes, surfboards,fishing kit and mobility equipment
A king-size contemporary faux leather bedframe is a feature of the Kestrel master bedroom
The master bedroom in Kestrel features a fitted double wardrobe, dressing chest and bedside tables
Just imagine watching the sun rise over the lake while you have breakfast in bed!
A fitted double wardrobe and a dressing table are provided in the Kestrel twin bedroom
Lovely soft furnishings give Kestrel a relaxed and contemporary style
The fully-accessible wet room in Kestrel features lever taps
There are grab rails around the basin, toilet and shower area to help guests who are less mobile
There is plenty to do in the Games Room, including a book, DVD and games library.
There is a snooker table and TV in the Games Room to enjoy in the evenings.
Our Games Room offers a comfortable space to relax in inclement weather.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Ashwater, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
chris o
worcester
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Woodpecker lodge ”
Reviewed August 20, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Our second visit to blagdon, and just as amazing and enjoyable as last year, my son wants to return again next year. Its a lovely place with every emenitie available, if you want first class accomadation, beautiful settings and comfort visit here for sure....

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daviea2
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
Reviewed July 23, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I would strongly recommend that you spend time at Blagdon Farm. It is one of the most peaceful pretty places that i have stayed at. Kestrel lodge was lovely, spacious and clean with everything we needed. The grounds are beautiful and well kept. Sitting on the verandah at night watching the sun go down over the lake was amazing. Ian and Karen do a wonderful job of making everyone who stays very welcome. Thank you for a great week. Highly recommended *****

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michaelpo...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An absolutely beautiful and comfortable lodge with everything you could possibly need set in a peaceful location”
Reviewed May 13, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We had a fantastic stay in kestrel I could not find fault with anything. The lodge was large and spacious I was worried that we would have a problem with my wife's wheelchair ,but the doorways were plenty wide enough and the wet room was ideal, the kitchen had every mod con you could wish for.On our arrival we were shown to the lodge and everything was explained to us and a lovely plate of scones jam and clotted cream awaited us. They have a small but beautifully warm and clean swimming pool which even has a hoist for disabled guests.But for me the best bit was the fishing with my daughter looking after my wife I managed to sneak in a few sessions and caught some beautiful common and ghost carp it certainly is well stocked and I ended up catching an 18.8 common which apparently is a lake record but I'm sure that will soon get broken as I saw some a lot bigger than that.Well I think that's enough said I would certainly recommend blagdon farm without hesitation it is truly stunning and welcoming and I would be back there in a heartbeat

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 14, 2016
Thank you so much for such a fabulous review for Kestrel Lodge at Blagdon Farm. We hope to see you again at some point in the future and the challenge is set for someone to beat your catch record!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ffion3
swansea
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This place is magical”
Reviewed March 25, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We stayed In Kestral lodge for 5days ,we just arrived home and had to write this review.
The lodge is wonderful .all mod cons ,with everything you could wish for.
We woke in the morning to look out of the window to see the birds tweeting good morning.
The area is beautiful and very relaxing .The owners have done a wonderful job on the whole site.would like to have stayed another day but they were booked up.
If we come to that area again we would definitely stay here..the scones Karen left were delicious and the apple juice was yummy ,hence we bought 8bottles to bring home for friends.
Thanks you for the welcome

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise B
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Peaceful well equipped lodge in beautiful countryside”
Reviewed November 1, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We were greeted on arrival by Sarah who showed us around the lodge. The team were very accomodating during our stay. My teenage girls loved the Games room at the end of the row of lodges, with Xbox and the table tennis table (full size). We also liked messing about in the pool, although not for length swimmers, its fine for splashing about in, the changing facilities and pool were spotlessly clean. Lodge during our half term break was really cosy and warm, Kestrel lodge had a nice view over lake and countryside beyond. We enjoyed strolling down the quiet countryside lanes to Ashwater, good access to coast, Bude and to Holsworthy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Onsite facilities
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theomum
suffolk
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Idyllic comfort!”
Reviewed July 31, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We have just returned from a weeks stay at Blagdon Farm where we stayed in Kestrel lodge. Our group consisted of my wheelchair bound father and 7 year old son so a varied party in regards to needs! We travelled for 7 hours to get there and it was well worth it. We were greeted and shown round our lodge efficiently and left to enjoy. The lodge itself was everything we needed and a bit more. It was spotlessly clean and very well equipped. The disabled guests are very well catered for from a low level top in the kitchen to a superb wet room. The farm itself is just beautiful with amazing views out across the lake from all the lodges with an abundance of wildlife. We purchased some bird food to fill the feeder on the decking and spent alot of time bird spotting from the sofa!! The area is also a delight and despite poor weather there was lots to do can highly recommend the big sheep and the hidden valley. The swimming pool was again spotless and we enjoyed spending time in there as well as the games room for my little boy. I can highly recommend Blagdon Farm for both able and disabled people, we would love to visit again so thankyou very much x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: nothing!!
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina...
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our Perfect Place In The Country”
Reviewed July 18, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We are just back from our second stay at Blagdon Farm Lodges and we can't recommend them highly enough. What a beautiful location with everything we could have needed for our stay, including a swimming pool for the kids to enjoy and a bar that is open for residents to meet. The owners are very friendly and helpful and my children loved hearing about the chickens! We will definitely be back again next year. Our week with you just goes far too quickly!

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing