We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Would be very hard to beat!”
other traveler has booked this property
Mallard Lodge is one of eight fully-accessible lodges set in over 10 acres of Devon countryside.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Mallard Lodge is one of eight fully-accessible lodges set in over 10 acres of Devon countryside.
The kitchen/diner seats up to 6 and has dishwasher, washer, oven, microwave and fridge/freezer The light and airy living space features a faux-leather sofa and sofa bed
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Mallard Lodge is one of eight fully-accessible lodges set in over 10 acres of Devon countryside.
The kitchen/diner seats up to 6 and has dishwasher, washer, oven, microwave and fridge/freezer
The light and airy living space features a faux-leather sofa and sofa bed
The Master bedroom has a luxurious rosewood sleigh bed with lake views
All beds are made with crisp white Egyptian-cotton linen.
There's no better place for morning coffee than in the lounge with views over the lake and beyond
All lodges have South-facing private balconies with views across the fishing lake to the countryside
The 11m x 5m indoor heated swimming pool (open April-October) and has South-facing sunbathing deck
The fully-accessible wet room features lever taps and grab rails for people with limited mobility
The newly fitted fully-accessible wet room has a roll-in power shower
1.5 acre coarse fishing lake, with carp (common, mirror and ghost), rudd, roach, perch and bream.
Lodges have covered porches where you can store bikes, surfboards,fishing kit and mobility equipment
Our Games Room offers a comfortable space to relax in inclement weather.
There is plenty to do in the Games Room, including a book, DVD and games library.
There is a snooker table and TV in the Games Room to enjoy in the evenings.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Ashwater, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ALISON B
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Would be very hard to beat!”
Reviewed July 24, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We fell in love with Blagdon Farm all over again on returning after last year. Everything is perfect and extremely wheelchair accessible. Accommodation is very spacious, we stayed in Mallard lodge, and the photos do not really do it justice to be honest. We made use of the fishing lake, pool and small but friendly on site Dippers Bar. Didn't go in the games room this year, probably because of the glorious weather we had. The owners really do everything to ensure your holiday is perfect and nothing is too much trouble. It is in an excellent location for sightseeing but it can be difficult to drag yourself away from this idyllic place, especially if the weather is good. All in all I cannot recommend Blagdon Farm highly enough and cannot wait to book again for next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Stunning location
Liked least: Nothing - can't even offer any constructive criticism
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dre P
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mr ”
Reviewed June 17, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

What can i say
Well ive been to devon and cornwall many times
And this is the perfect location
The view from the property is fantastic .
Buy bird seed and nuts and feeder
As woodpeckers will land and feed
Along with many other beautiful birds
Also a squirrel pops up for breakfast
The accommodation is perfect
With lots of thought gone into being
Suitable for people with disabilities
Wet room is fantastic with power shower. non slip tiles .also ideal for ablebodied people
Sofas are super comfy .parking right outside lodge
No traffic noise .no loud music or shouting
Great swimming pool .thats lovely and warm .sun longers on terrace
Very nice bar .games room .
Great fishing lake
Ill definitely revist
To be honest id be happy living there
It was that good
Tesco at launceston great for shopping and some fantastic places to eat not far either
Its a credit to the owners who are welcomeing frendly and thoughtfull
Four-poster bed very comfy
Also hardly any traffic .sometimes just my car on even a main road
Also the accommodation is larger than it appears in photos

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 19, 2016
Thank you so much for staying with us and for your lovely review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvonne L
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Mrs ”
Reviewed April 3, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Cannot fault this holiday best in a long time just what we all needed and we all thank you for making our holiday memorable
Spotlessly clean and tidy
Beds comfortable
Great swimming pool
We have arranged already to go back next year

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kategcamb...
Cambridge
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect relax”
Reviewed July 27, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Arrived home safely from Blagdon Manor Farm .Devon. Mallard Lodge. Had the most fab fishing holiday ever. Such a relaxing time,beautiful views,lots of wild life,loved seeing woody each day and many other wild birds. Spoilt the chickens each day too . My husband caught lots of different varieties of fish,while i sunbathed on the balcony. The lodge has everything you need and more. Lovely place lovely people. Will certainly be back. Thank you for all your hospitality Sarah Ian and family, nothing was to much trouble what ever you needed was there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Absolutely everything.
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALISON B
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back!”
Reviewed July 19, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Absolutely stunning location and a very high standard of accommodation which is fully wheelchair accessible. The site itself offers everything for a relaxing holiday; fishing lake, swimming pool, games room, football and on site bar which is a great opportunity to socialise with other guests. We were able to buy free range eggs curtesy of the resident chickens and the most delicious apple juice from the orchard fruit. We spent ages watching the numerous birds on our veranda including woodpeckers and I didn't even mind accompanying my hubby on his 5 hour fishing stint because it was so beautiful at the lake. We had a lovely holiday and I really can't find any faults or even offer any constructive criticism. I can't imagine anyone would be disappointed and we will definitely be booking for next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy S
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A lovely relaxing place to stay.”
Reviewed March 30, 2015 for a stay in October 2014

We have stayed in many holiday properties over the years but Blagdon Farm is the first one we have ever gone back to as we stayed in October and again in February this year. It is a lovely peaceful setting but with facilities you wouldn't necessarily expect such as an indoor swimming pool and games room. The bar is a nice touch as well as it gives you the opportunity to meet up with fellow guests. Karen and Ian are very helpful and nothing is too much trouble and the welcome packs are a nice touch.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie W
North Cornelly, null, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Exceptional holiday experience definitely to be repeated.”
Reviewed August 12, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Mallard lodge was excellent, having every appliance and implement required. The lodge was exceptionally clean and well furnished with good accessibility for our son in his wheelchair.
The location was stunning with beautiful views from all the lodges across the lake and beyond, and travel to local activities was easy by car.
The bar on site was welcoming, reasonably priced, with a good selection of drinks including 'local ales' and we spent a few relaxing evenings there in the company of the owners and several other guests.
The swimming pool was warm and not overcrowded as the guests tended to police themselves as to the number of bathers at a time, and the hoist was suitable for disabled access to the water.
The games room had a good selection of activities especially for younger visitors should the weather be poor, which however was not the case during our stay.
The owners, Karen, Ian, and their son Robert were amazingly friendly and helpful, making everyones holiday enjoyable and they deserve to succeed with their new project.
We as a family usually find a week is too short for a good break with fourteen days being too long. This time however after our fourteen days at Blagdon farm we all could have stayed longer, and will definitely be returning at some time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing