We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great place!”
other travelers have booked this property
Porthcothan Bay
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Porthcothan Bay
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
16 reviews
Porthcothan Bay
Living Room
Sea Views
Sunset views
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Padstow, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Sarah C
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place!”
Reviewed December 9, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

This was the first time we'd been to cornwall, and our first time renting a place. Both of us were pleasantly surprised at the accommodation, plus the location (10 mins from Padstow) was perfect. Will definitely book again!

Date of stay: November 2015
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MitchsTra...
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Room with a view!”
Reviewed October 2, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Away from the hordes and the hounds in Padstow, 'Sunnyridge' is a peaceful retreat high up on the hill near Porthcothan. The building is relatively new and in terms of room layout is 'upside down' with the single open-plan kitchen-diner-lounge upstairs and 3 bedrooms downstairs. This arrangement allows for a fabulous sea view through a pair of west-facing double doors at one end of the living space. Here there is a glass-fronted juliet balcony so that the the wonderful sea view is not obstructed - great when the doors are open and the fresh air rolls in.
The contemporary design of the living area is very stylish and comes with all of today's modern conveniences. The property throughout is very clean and tidy and offers two bathrooms - one downstairs en-suite and a bright and cheerful shower room upstairs which we preferred to use.
The location is great for walking as one can leave the car at home and head off on the coastal path in either direction from Porthcothan Bay. Take care on the short stretch of road to the beach as it can be quite busy. Nearby St Merryn has many places to eat including Rick Stein's pub the Cornish Arms. All-in-all a fab location!
The only negative - the blue lighting over the kitchen sink area doesn't work and the bed mattresses could have been better quality - but I'm a grumpy ol' man! I also recommend taking your own pillows but I'd recommend that wherever you go. That said, we would love to return another day.

Date of stay: September 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: The double bed(s)
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helene p
Stroud, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beyond our expectations”
Reviewed September 8, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Booked Sunnyridge after my father passed away and we wanted to take our mother somewhere nice and tranquil.... Four of us, and we had an amazing time.... Cottage in a stunning location, beautiful views and close to an amazing beach with a Lagoon! weather was kind to us... clean, spotless, comfortable with all the facilities, i.e. washing machine, dishwasher etc... outside shower great as it was warm and allowed us to wash away sand before treading it in... close to Padstow and the Cornish Arms pub with Rick Stein was great value and great pub food. Only downside, duvet covers tend to be a little slippy... the material that they are made off and would take our own covers in future... just a personal preference really... will defo book again next year if we can get the availability. HPJ

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The duvet covers they were slippery
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josephine...
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fab location and accommodation”
Reviewed August 1, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Modern well equipped, spacious, clean with fab views. Kids loved the outdoor hot shower after the beach. The milk, tea, coffee and biscuits were very welcome after a long drive. Will definitely book again if returning to Cornwall on holiday.

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gael LE R
1 review
Reviewed April 18, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
Google Translation

Date of stay: April 2016
Traveling group: En famille avec jeune(s) enfant(s)
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing