We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service? What Service!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of St Petroc's Bistro

St Petroc's Bistro
Ranked #19 of 86 Restaurants in Padstow
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: From our 28 day dry-aged aged Chateaubriand to our Devon Ruby Red steaks, choosing something from the grill is a must when you visit St Petroc's Bistro in Padstow. Enjoy drinks in our cosy snug bar, our relaxed lounge or dine in our pretty garden courtyard. Dogs are welcome outside and in the bar.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Service? What Service!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

To celebrate my freinds 50th Birthdays, (10 girls that have been friends since the first day of school!) we decided to spend the weekend in Cornwall and visit one of Rick Stein's establishments for dinner. We booked in to the Bistro months in advance to ensure we had a table as we were a party of 11. On the night we arrived at the Bistro on time for our reservation at 8.30pm. On arrival, there was no one to greet the party and only passing staff suggested that we move to the reading room as our table was not ready for us. This was not a problem for us as we thought we could have a pre dinner drink while looking at the menu. We were left in this room for 15 minutes with no one attending to us. We had to go and find a member of staff to take our drink order. When the drinks finally arrived, the waitress didn't even know what the drinks were that we had ordered. We had finished our drinks and were still sitting in the reading room, no one had brought menus or told us why we had not been seated. This was now 9pm. We went to find out what was happening and were told that it was a busy night at the restaurant and our table was about to be set up. We managed to get copies of the menu and handed them out to our party!
Again, we went to find a member of staff to see what was happening and when we finally found someone who could be bothered to come to the reading room, we were greeted with the remark,"i thought you were having a nice time in here". This was the last straw. No one had bothered to check on us, or give us an explanation for the delay. At this point we decided that we no longer wanted to eat at the Bisto so aksed for the drinks bill to settle.
There was still no apology or understanding of why we were not pleased with how we had been treated.
We had been kept waiting for over an hour. Surviving on Rick Stein's name and passing trade will not help this business in the long term. The basic package when operating in the service industry includes decent manners as a minimum. Rick Stein needs to be aware of how his business is being run while he is out of the country!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    481
    323
    206
    84
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ystrad Rhondda
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Total Disappointment”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

10 friends and myself rented a house for the weekend near Padstow to celebrate our 50th birthdays. The highlight of our weekend was going to be dinner at Rick Steins St Petrocs Bistro on the Saturday evening. We had booked a table for 8.30 months in advance. We were very excited and looking forward to some incredible food.We got to the bistro by 8.30 to be told our table wasn't ready but we could order a drink and wait in the bar area.We were then moved to a room which I believe they call the reading room which did not have a bar. This would have been acceptable if we hadn't had to go and look for someone to take our order for cocktails and if we hadn't been kept 45 minutes waiting for our table. After this appalling service we decided to pay for our drinks and leave. I personally have never been treated so badly in a restaurant and it spoilt a weekend that was all about celebrating and indulging ourselves.
I'm told that Rick now lives overseas and his son manages this restaurant, I suggest Rick pays a visit home to sort out his management as service like this will greatly affect his reputation.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank SusanMary_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Always a pleasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

In many ways we prefer this to the Seafood Restaurant. Pleasant surroundings, relaxed atmosphere, especially in the earlier times.
Great food as always, the scallops are always a fine choice. Some excellent grills to choose from and the desserts come of a high standard.
The service is always impeccable, friendly but unpretentious as are the crowd.
Continues to be a first choice for us.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank michaelabberley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A delightful meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

My friends and I had a fantastic time and meal with St Petroc's Bistro. We were taken to our table even we were so early. The service were very good. The quality of food and the freshness of seafoods were one of the best I have experienced.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank leojmeduk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice food . . but that's it.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

The restaurant is located on a narrow street in the old part of Padstow and looks very appealing form the street.

We arrived at the time of our reservation, only to find kitchen staff at the front door (on a computer) with no front of house staff in site. The chef was very friendly - but it was just wrong.

We were shown to our table in what was two rooms of an original house knocked into one . .into which they had fitted as many tables as physically possible. This meant it was cramped, and overly warm and uncomfortable. The furniture did not scream quality, and there was a large 'desk' with cutlery, tomato ketchup and vinegart bottles in the corner of the room that looked poor.
There was a constant noise from the kitchen, (as the kitchen and dining room doors were open) and music playing in the restaurant which just seemed inappropriate (fast tempo).

The starter's were tasty without being expectional, but I have to say the main course (sole) was very good indeed. Cheese Board for dessert was OK.

This place is also a hotel, so I found it particulary poor that the waiting staff started setting up for breakfast during the evening service.
Overall, I would go again. A bit like Rick Stein's seafood restaurant; the food is good, but it's a case of pack them in, take their cash, and get them out . . .

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TonyTrigg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St Petroc's Bistro also viewed

 

Been to St Petroc's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing