We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Padstow
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dennis Cove Campsite
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds
Level 6 Contributor
354 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 466 helpful votes
“Fantastic location”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

What makes this camp site different to many other sites is its fantastic location.

If you just want a field to camp in then there are many much cheaper sites, but if you are looking for things to see and do nearby then this site is for you.

It`s about a half mile walk to Padstow along a cycle track. Padstow is a beautiful place with many things to see and do such as the harbour, beaches ( dog friendly), restaurants & pubs and Rick Steins fish and chips. Cycle hire (we hired a tandem with a dog trailer) is available nearby and a good day out can be had on the nearby cycle path (Camel trial).

The site itself was well maintained with reasonably sized pitches. We were in a motorhome and the cost was about £28 per night including electric and a dog, but extra small charge to have a shower. Some pitches have a sea view.

We would certainly stay here again. Its not the cheapest site but I think that its location more than justifies the price.

It`s advisable to book in advance, particularly with a motorhome or caravan (tents have a big field)
as the site was full when we were there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bestyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesHarrySmith, Manager at Dennis Cove Campsite, responded to this review, December 23, 2014
It’s great to read that you took advantage of the site’s fantastic location. Very brave to head out cycling a tandem with a dog trailer on the Camel Trail in July, but good on you, sounds as though fun was had by all!

Thank you for taking the time to review our site and share your experiences with others. We are happy to hear that you found the site well maintained and the pitches reasonably sized. Moreover, to hear that you would return again is brilliant and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

We acknowledge your comment in respect to our camping tariff. Although more expensive than some sites, we feel as though we are comparable to others and indeed cheaper than some in the vicinity. When all considered, we feel as though we do good value for money to campers wishing to stay close to Padstow and we are pleased that you agree.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    32
    12
    3
    0
See reviews for
27
67
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kinver, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Dennis cove mid June, arriving on a Saturday for two nights camping. The lady in reception was very friendly and extremely helpful, giving us all the information we needed for our stay.

The site was very clean, tidy and peaceful. We couldn't have asked for much more from our pitch, other than maybe an electric hook up. There were plenty of drinking water taps around the site.

The toilet block and showers were very clean and well equipped, the showers have very recently been changed and they gave plenty of hot water with good water pressure. The showers are operated by tokens which are 40p each which gives you 5 minutes. They also have plug sockets for hair dryers etc in the toilet block. The toilets also come with toilet roll so no need to take your own.

The site is about a 10 minute walk from Padstow's centre and the walk in is very nice as its along the camel trail which follows the coastline.

My wife and I would definately stay here again, in fact, we are already booking for next year.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Magpietraveller9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesHarrySmith, Manager at Dennis Cove Campsite, responded to this review, December 23, 2014
Thank you for your visit in 2013 and we hope that you were able to visit for the summer in 2014. We’re happy to hear that you found our staff friendly and helpful. In addition to that, it is great to hear that the cleanliness of the site and the facilities met expectations.

We do take on board your feedback with regard to electric hook up. As camping changes over time, the importance for small sites, like our family’s site, to keep up with the needs of campers, and in this case, the need for electric hook up, is certainly something that is on our radar. In the forthcoming years, I hope to see an increase in the number of electric hook ups, whilst maintaining the character of our site.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham england
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We have just stayed over the recent Bank Holiday with friends.As ever the site
was very clean,and the recently added new showers were lovely.Fabulous views
over estuary.Ideally situated next to camel trail.cycled to bodmin and the camel
valley vineyard.Good sized pitches.Highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 50something18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesHarrySmith, Manager at Dennis Cove Campsite, responded to this review, December 23, 2014
It is great to read feedback on the new showers that we built in 2013; we’re pleased that you liked them. Furthermore, to hear that you found the site very clean and that the pitches were of a good size is very pleasing. Thank you for taking the time to share your view. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our family’s site in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed over the recent bank-holiday weekend and had a brilliant time. The campsite is located just off the camel-trail and took 5-10 minutes to walk into Padstow. The toilets and showers were absolutely spotless, as was the whole site in general. We found the staff to be very friendly, helpful and accommodating. Depending on which pitch you get, there is a slight slope, but it's not awful and everything else more than makes up for it. We'll certainly be heading back there on our next trip to Padstow.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cat3310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesHarrySmith, Manager at Dennis Cove Campsite, responded to this review, December 23, 2014
We are pleased to hear that you had a brilliant time when you stayed with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the future should you find yourself in Padstow again. Moreover, to hear that you found the staff helpful and the facilities spotless is very pleasing since we work hard to ensure we provide clean facilities and are on hand to help campers at all possible times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Ideally located right next to the camel trail. Just a short 5/10 minute walk into Padstow. Shame about the slope, I did seem to spend half the night wriggling around in my sleeping bag.
My friend and I had a few drinks in town one evening and, although a little spooky, we felt perfectly fine walking back in the dark (the torch was needed though).
Friendly staff and immaculate facilities (toilets/showers might be a bit cold in spring/autumn though).
Would stay again but I'd ask for a flat pitch next time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
Helpful?
Thank MaxineMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesHarrySmith, Manager at Dennis Cove Campsite, responded to this review, December 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our family’s campsite. Other than taking the opportunity to benefit from our location, we are pleased that you found the staff friendly and the facilities clean. Should you decide to visit it us again in the future, please do remember to request a flatter pitch since we will always do our utmost to accommodate campers’ preferences and requests for specific pitches.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We stayed for a week in August with our own tent. The location of the campsite is perfect, right on the camel trail and only a ten minute walk into the beautiful Padstow, it couldnt have been better. There is a tesco a 5 min drive away and plenty to see and do in the area. The owners were really friendly and couldnt have been more helpful. This is a great family site, its basically one lane with pitches on either side, a bit like a street! The pitches are close together and cars have to be parked up in front of the pitches so its pretty busy and there is no privacy. We got moved up to the overflow field which had better views and was much quieter which we preferred. There is only one toilet block and drinking water tap so be aware that it is a is a trek if you are in the overflow field. Great for families and kids, not so much for couples, i felt that at £20 a night plus extra for showers it was a little overpriced given the very basic facilities etc.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

This was a impulse stop and most likely the best site we ever found!
It was our only camping trip this year and we had 3 nights (The weather put us off the rest of the summer).
The site was well kept and the showers and toilets very clean and plenty of hot water. There is even a family shower room, which is great with a 4 year old. The staff were very accomodating in let us pay in the morning for the next night, in case the weather changed for the worst (it never did).
Its about 1 mile out from Padstow on the Camel trail, which is great in the day, but at night take a torch!! it is very dark and there are no lights on the site or road to it.
On a plus the view from the top of the field is great, but can be windy!! And the walk to the toilet/shower block was at the bottom of the hill and out of the field.
But to us this was what camping is about, a field, the stars and a bacon butty in the morning cooked with a view!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matthew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Padstow
3.4 mi away
Treglos Hotel
Treglos Hotel
#1 of 1 in Constantine Bay
395 reviews
0.4 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#4 of 8 in Padstow
1,438 reviews
2.4 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Atlantic Bays Holiday Park
Atlantic Bays Holiday Park
#7 of 12 in St Merryn
127 reviews
2.5 mi away
Bay Retreat Villas
Bay Retreat Villas
#5 of 12 in St Merryn
164 reviews
9.1 mi away
Porth Beach Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dennis Cove Campsite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dennis Cove Campsite

Property: Dennis Cove Campsite
Address: Dennis Lane, Padstow PL28 8DR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Padstow
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Padstow
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dennis Cove Campsite is a well cared for, family run site close to Padstow and bordering the stunning Camel Estuary. Tents, Touring Caravans & Campervans. Small number of Electric Hook-ups. Excellent washing facilities. Peaceful, rural location with views of the Estuary. Family owned since 1987 and recently brought back under the family's management in 2013. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dennis Cove Camping Hotel Padstow
Dennis Cove Campsite Padstow, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing