We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible value for money”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Padstow
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rick Stein's St Edmunds House
Ranked #16 of 56 Padstow B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Terrible value for money”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

The bed, six inches lower on one side with a huge lump in the middle. Toiletries were very basic, shampoo & shower only. No tissues, no slippers, no turndown service, so no clean towels in the evening and dressing gowns that had seen much better days.
The decor of the room was cheap. The shutters at the windows did not work properly. No air-conditioning and the room was extremely hot.
We ate at the restaurant on two occasions and whilst the food was good the service was very average. Breakfast poor.

Room Tip: Dont stay in Tregirls
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Calking8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    24
    10
    3
    3
See reviews for
14
108
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Selsey
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We had a 2 night stay in rick stein's hotel and also 2 nights of eating in his fish restaurant. We had room 6 which was his top room with a balcony that overlooked the harbour. It was perfect apart from the weather but you can't have everything. The staff were very polite and could not have been nicer. They were a credit to the rick stein name and brand. The breakfasts were amazing as were the evening meals. We enjoyed every moment of our stay in padstow.

Room Tip: Room 6 has a private balcony. It also has a 4 poster bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jehk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We made the long journey down from Oxford to stay a couple of nights at St Edmunds house. The room was lovely, beautifully decorated and lots of space. The breakfast was outstanding, the best hotel breakfast either of us have ever had. The location of the hotel is great, just a couple of minutes walk to the middle of Padstow. The only reason we gave this 4/5 rather than 5/5, as other people have already highlighted - our room was on the ground floor. This meant that we could hear the people shuffling around upstairs. Although I wouldn't describe it as intolerable, more of a mild irritation. None the less, shouldn't be the case for a hotel of this standard.

That said, we are already planning our return and will be staying in the same place albeit asking for a first floor room next time. The staff were very friendly and helpful, particularly the waiting staff who had just the right balance of keeping an eye on you without being intrusive/annoying.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elliemax1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We have just returned from a 2 day stay at St Edmund's House. We were given a top floor room which overlooked the harbour. The room was very spacious and every comfort had been thought of. The bathroom was fantastic with a wonderful power shower. The king-size bed was very comfortable although the pillows were a little flat for me but maybe I am being picky!
We ate at the Seafood Restaurant on Thursday night and it was buzzing. The service, food and ambiance was spot on and is British cooking at it's best.The staff were attentive and friendly, without being too intrusive and nothing was too much trouble. It was our 2nd visit, the last time being over 10 years ago and we were impressed with the change of layout and decor. very similar to "The Hampton's" style.
The only downside was we did not get too much sleep, thanks to the seagulls, but I guess even Rick Stein is unable to do much to change this!

Room Tip: ask for a 1st floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Foodie224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

What an amazing room! With the most luxurious bathroom complete with free-standing bath & fabulous power shower.
4 poster bed with a stunning view through the french doors of fabulous Padstow bay.
Lots of lovely treats with Rick Stein's selection of coffee, biscuits & super toiletries.
Yummy breakfast too with a vast selection & gorgeous pastries.
Wasn't cheap, but certainly memorable for all the right reasons.

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor middle room where the bathroom is in the roof - lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharpkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aldington
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

we stayed 4 nights in an upstairs suite.it was very comfortable and a beautifull room with views out across the beaches from our french windows. being in the town centre perhaps it was not as quite as we would have liked but other wise we were very happy . we had breakfast each morning in the seafood restuarant 3 minutes away and this was superb with excellent choice and service.the wide choice of breakfasts were superbly cooked and presented

Room Tip: upstairs rooms are best choice, preferably the one nearest car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank calleywell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

We stayed at St Edmunds House for two nights in May to celebrate our anniversary - were not disappointed! Accommodation very comfortable (Polzeath) - huge room and enormous bathroom with double shower, fluffy robes and fab Moulton Brown toiletries - very pampered! Enjoyed dinner in Seafood Restaurant - great food and exceptional service (special anniversary treat - nice surprise!) Second night had excellent meal at St Petrocs - superb Chateaubriand - would recommend ! Padstow is an excellent weekend destination - fab eating, great shops, quaint harbour, good shopping and wonderful scenery!

Room Tip: St Edmunds House - recommend ground floor room with private deck and garden outlook
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gigha36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Padstow
0.0 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#4 of 8 in Padstow
1,438 reviews
3.4 mi away
Treglos Hotel
Treglos Hotel
#1 of 1 in Constantine Bay
395 reviews
2.0 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The St Enodoc Hotel
0.1 mi away
Old Custom House Inn
Old Custom House Inn
#13 of 56 in Padstow
555 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coswarth House
Coswarth House
#15 of 56 in Padstow
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rick Stein's St Edmunds House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rick Stein's St Edmunds House

Property: Rick Stein's St Edmunds House
Address: St Edmunds Lane, Padstow PL28 8EA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Padstow
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Padstow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rick Stein's St Edmunds House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated behind The Seafood Restaurant are our six most luxurious rooms set in a private garden all with lovely views across the Camel Estuary to Rock and Daymer Bay.At a glance6 rooms Private Juliette balconies or decking areaPrivate gardenPrivate parkingComplimentary bikes available to hireChildren welcome (cots and child beds available on request)Priority restaurant bookings available upon room bookingBreakfastsBreakfast is served in our flagship seafood restaurant, just a short walk down the hill, with a choice of speciality dishes such as smoked haddock kedgeree, grilled kippers or the classic English breakfast. Or if you prefer, a continental breakfast can be served in your room.Indulgent soakingWith powerful showers and generous baths our bathrooms are lovingly designed for ultimate relaxation. A taste of coastal luxuryOak flooring, double French doors and American shutters complement these light, stylish and luxurious rooms to create a coastal lifestyle feel.Relax and unwindFresh crisp linen, four poster beds and estuary views make St Edmund’s House the perfect place to unwind.Features and servicesComplimentary Molton Brown toiletriesLaundry and dry cleaning serviceIroning facilities available in roomUse of bathrobesNewspapers available on request (charge payable)Freeview televisionFree wifiTea and coffee making facilities (fresh milk, Origin Coffee, Twinings Tea and Stein’s Patisserie biscuits)Mini barHair dryerBaby sitting service (charge payable)Beauty treatments available (booked and charged independently) ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rick Stein`s St Edmunds House Hotel Padstow
Rick Stein's St Edmunds House Padstow, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing