We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great apartment in excellent location but beware...”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
28 reviews
Front of Duke House and street
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Padstow, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
CheshireC...
Cheshire
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great apartment in excellent location but beware noise from above & below.”
Reviewed November 4, 2012 for a stay in October 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed in Dukes Cabin for 7 days. Location excellent for all that Padstow has to offer. Apartment was adequate size for 2 & well kitted out and the outside decking/seating area super. Comfy bed, good shower & instantaneous heating. There were a couple of niggles, the apartment needed an end of season clean, bedroom quite dusty & black mould in the shower. The noise from Dukes Retreat on the top floor was a slight issue due to hardwood and very squeaky floorboards. We were lucky that the 2 couples who stayed in the flat above kept similar hours to us so this was not too troublesome but you do lie in bed and can hear those above moving around. The settee/sofa bed in the living room has definitely seen better days and was possibly the most uncomfortable sofa ever! We did however, have a very enjoyable stay in the apartment. Not sure we would stay again astound, lots of great choice in the area competitively priced where you don't have a £35 a week car parking charge. We knew this beforehand as we found the owners gave decent car parking choices and information but this extra cost should be factored into your holiday cost.

Date of stay: October 2012
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judith B
Mahone Bay, Canada
1 review
“Duke House Apartments”
Reviewed November 2, 2012 for a stay in October 2012

Our apartment on the top floor was great...very complete, everything we needed. Location very good and a short walk to the Information Centre - very helpful and assisted us with an excellent private tour guide and reservations at Jamie Olivers '15'. The staircase a challenge - travel light! We would recomment this location. Also well equiped small grocer across the street..very friendly and complete.

Date of stay: October 2012
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John P
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic Apartment in Great Location”
Reviewed October 31, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

Very comfortable and clean. Everything we could have needed. Very peaceful location and accommodation is of a very high standard. We would strongly recommend. Will definately be booking again. Many Thanks

Date of stay: September 2012
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian B
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“excellent holiday 1st week june 2012”
Reviewed October 22, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

The apartment on the first floor was spacious and had everything we required for a lovely holiday.
Situated in the centre of Padstow we were able to enjoy the jubilee celebrations and the walks along the coast.A trip to Rick Steins for my husbands 70th was a delight.
The seating area was good and well thought out in the raised gardens.
We will definitly be booking again.

Date of stay: June 2012
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janinaspe...
DERBYSHIRE
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Duke House Apartments”
Reviewed October 12, 2012 for a stay in September 2012
3
people found this review helpful

The apartment is centrally located with parking being an obvious issue. It was well equipped and finished to a high standard. The outside deck area would have been lovely without the rain.

The spiral staircase though lovely was not ideal carrying suitcases up it.

Our stay was completely spoilt by the noise from the upstairs apartment. Hardwood floors and no sound insulation meant we heard every pin drop literally. Sounded like clog dancing going on upstairs and a 7 am start would have been my chosen wake up time. I did write to the owners to express that our stay had been spoilt and suggested they investigate the sound insulation but heard nothing from them which is poor customer services in my view.

I would not return or recommend here on the basis of my experience.

Date of stay: September 2012
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynne P
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great apartment but check the parking”
Reviewed August 2, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

Well designed and equipped apartment in a great location. The outside deck was an added bonus. It was an easy walk to all the town’s attractions. The only negative was the narrow spiral staircase to gain access to the apartment which made getting our suitcases in and out difficult.

We found the parking a problem. As overseas visitors we had no idea of the parking issues in Padstow. We made a late booking and ended up having to park in the council carpark a 10min steep uphill walk away at a cost £5.50 per 24 hours. The owner was helpful in explaining the parking situation, but more information on the booking.com site would have been helpful.

Date of stay: July 2012
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing