We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (730)
Filter reviews
730 results
Traveler rating
264
278
121
46
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
264
278
121
46
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub harbour view car park oyster bar st austell brewery no lift pay and display mussels cornish breakfast excellent location visited padstow ate here double room stayed two nights cooked breakfast lovely view lovely room
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
82 - 87 of 730 reviews
Reviewed June 25, 2018 via mobile

We had a few days here without realising we had booked in on a very busy weekend - Father’s Day in the UK - and despite the busy streets, restaurants and general buzz outside, it was very pleasant to come in to rest here!
The breakfast is provided at Cally’s cafe, part of the premises and this was first rate too!
No air conditioning but that did not present us with a problem as we enjoyed balmy lovely evenings in Padstow!

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
2  Thank DiNoosaHeads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCHManagmentTeam, Manager at Old Custom House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2018

Thank you for your review, I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2018

Stayed here for 3 nights over May bank holiday and would not hesitate to recommend. Perfectly located in the harbour-side heart of the village with the surrounding shops and facilities on the doorstep.

There is also easy access to the coast path for excellent hiking and to the camel trail, which is one of the loveliest cycle tracks in the country. Make sure you stop for tea and award winning sparkling English wine at the camel trail tea rooms in a lovely setting in the woods.

The rooms are large and spacious with comfortable beds and extra living space to relax in. Whilst breakfast isn’t a buffet, it is of a good standard and the bar and restaurant are both excellent with extensive menus and a very pleasant atmosphere.

It can get a little noisy but personally, this did not detract from our stay in any way.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank Kurt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCHManagmentTeam, Manager at Old Custom House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review, we appreciate your feedback and will of course pass them onto our staff. We are very fortunate to be in such a location, with so many attractive places to visit around us. We hope you continue to visit us in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2018 via mobile

We arrived a bit early to check in, but luckily our room (room 12) was ready, YAY! We were also able to have our 2 hugely fat 20kg bags carried up the many different steps and through several doors and short hallways, as we simply couldn't do it!

Our room was just beautiful. Three windows with white plantation shutters, all overlooking the bustling vibrant harbour. Wonderful, tasteful seaside but modern blue and cream decor, lovely bathroom with good shower.

No AC, but it was quite cool outside at this time of year so we just had the windows open a bit until night time when it got cold, and then we shut them and the room was perfectly comfortable.

Lots of power outlets for charging phones, etc, cool mirror in the bathroom with embedded lights and clock!

I didn't want to close the shutters at night, and kept taking photos of the harbour as the sun went down and it got dark. There was a busker outside one evening who was really good and made the atmosphere even nicer.

Dinners were at various pubs and all were great. On the last night, we had dinner at the hotel's own pub and we ate in one of the more restaurant-looking dining areas, and it was lovely.

The complementary breakfast was great, with a selection of cereals, fruits, yoghurt, toast with various jams, as well as hot breakfast you could order. The breakfast dining room was lovely also.

When we checked out, a bit earlier than usual, the staff were able to carry our obese bags down to the foyer, for which we were very grateful.

I love Padstow. If you love dogs but don't have one or are missing your own while travelling, spend some time here as I have never seen so many dogs in such a small radius before in my life! I loved it! I especially loved seeing dogs inside pubs and restaurants!

For the reviewer who said their room was "disgusting" and the dining areas dated? Ah...are you sure you stayed at the same place?

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank stevie_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCHManagmentTeam, Manager at Old Custom House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2018

Thank you for your lovely review! I am delighted you enjoyed your stay, and will of course pass your feedback onto our teams who always appreciate reading them. We hope to welcome you back in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2018 via mobile

This is the perfect location but you need to pay daily for parking. We went for the most expensive room with a great view of the harbour. All good except the windows needed a good clean around the edges. Very black! Our last night the room was not made up although we had been out for hours walking. We just had a knock at the door asking if we needed anything. My husband answered no assuming someone would be back to make up in the afternoon when we went out again. It didn’t happen but to be fair maybe they thought we weren’t bothered. It was an expensive room really and little touches like not having to ask for the ordered paper each day would have been good. Stayed several nights received paper once.
Overall a good place to stay but attention to some detail would make it perfect.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 565glr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCHManagmentTeam, Manager at Old Custom House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2018

Thank you for your room, I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I understand your comments, and will pass these onto our teams to improve the service we offer. We hope you choose to stay with us again next time you visit Padstow.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2018 via mobile

Room 14 (almost its own suite) great view of the harbour and Rock. Spotlessly clean, Wonderful bed, ensuite bathroom. Took our evening meal in the bar restaurant - flavoursome and filling. The breakfast was generally acceptable, but I can’t recall there being a vegetarian option (as I had the same size servings of non-veg options as everyone else)? Excellent staff, with superb levels of customer service. Not too far to walk to and from bus station with luggage. In sight of SWCP (just across the harbour).

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCHManagmentTeam, Manager at Old Custom House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2018

Thank you for your lovely review, I am very pleased you enjoyed your recent stay and we very much hope to welcome you back in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews