We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (739)
Filter reviews
740 results
Traveler rating
269
280
121
48
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
269
280
121
48
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub harbour view car park oyster bar st austell brewery no lift pay and display mussels cornish breakfast excellent location visited padstow ate here double room stayed two nights cooked breakfast lovely view full english breakfast
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
96 - 101 of 740 reviews
Reviewed June 19, 2018 via mobile

Room 14 (almost its own suite) great view of the harbour and Rock. Spotlessly clean, Wonderful bed, ensuite bathroom. Took our evening meal in the bar restaurant - flavoursome and filling. The breakfast was generally acceptable, but I can’t recall there being a vegetarian option (as I had the same size servings of non-veg options as everyone else)? Excellent staff, with superb levels of customer service. Not too far to walk to and from bus station with luggage. In sight of SWCP (just across the harbour).

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCHManagmentTeam, Manager at Old Custom House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2018

Thank you for your lovely review, I am very pleased you enjoyed your recent stay and we very much hope to welcome you back in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2018 via mobile

Went to the old custom house with frds for a 3night stay . Our frds booked it for two double rooms at a price of 170 pounds per night per room. Booked in got our keys we had room 14 our frds had 9 our room was disgusting first of all it was at the top of the building could not open the door as it hit the bed. Disgusting smell so after a telling the guy there was. No Way we would stop in this room he took us down to room 5 which was ok still not great for the 170 a night . We then went to our frds room number 9 which was much larger they had a fridge settee two chairs water and a bowl of sweets.so how on earth can the custom house charge frds that booked in together charges the same and have two completely different rooms . Will never recommend the custom house also our room was not clean the radiator in the bathroom was disgusting. Where we had breakfast was very dirty and dated .sorry to say the staff seemed to not want to be there either as nobody had a smile or a warm welcome . Overpriced and dated needs a complete overhaul.wont ever go back .

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank junenorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCHManagmentTeam, Manager at Old Custom House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2018

Thank you for your review, though I apologise if you felt your stay was less than you expected. Your friends had a free upgrade which we occasionally do when we can, so this may have appeared to be unfair when we could not offer you the same.
Our staff were very helpful and understanding when you did not like the upper floor room you had originally had, no smell was mentioned or noticed, without fuss we moved you to a room closer to your friends that was more light and suitable. You seemed much happier with this move, and our staff were very obliging providing you with the latest Dyson air fan and ensuring your comfort.
Breakfast was served in our lovely Cally restaurant that enjoys sought after harbour views, I am disappointed you did not feel that this was as lovely as we do.
We enjoyed having you as guests, and it was lovely to meet you. I am disappointed you felt your stay was a not as enjoyable as you had expected. We very much care for our guests and pride ourselves on our hospitality. It is better to book with us directly so we can ensure you are close by friends, and we have the right room to meet your needs. We very much hope you choose to visit us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2018 via mobile

We have visited Padstow many times but this was the first time we had food here.
Both nights were really good.
Excellent food well presented by friendly staff.
There is a “pub grub” menu and a specials board offering alternatives
There is also a good range of local ale, ciders and lager along with some of your favourite national brands
There is also a good interesting wine list

Would recommend this pub

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank gosportkev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCHManagmentTeam, Manager at Old Custom House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2018

Thank you for your wonderful review and recommendation! We hope you continue to visit us on your future visits to Padstow!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2018

For my wife’s birthday we visited Padstow and booked the Old Custom House Inn for three nights. After a minor issue with our room which was resolved without any fuss and a lovely touch was the bottle of wine left for us to enjoy on our return.
The hotel has a prime location beside the harbour and everything is within easy walking distance.
Our room was spacious with a comfortable bed and large step in shower. Being an old building the room had no air conditioning but a fan is provided.
Breakfast was a mixture of buffet and service. The buffet had a good selection of juices, fruit and cereals along with breads and pastries while the cooked breakfast was good quality and we both enjoyed the full Cornish breakfast. All the staff we met were very attentive and friendly. The bar area was always busy, a good sign and the food again was very tasty. They certainly don’t cheat on portion size.
We enjoyed our relaxing three nights in the Custom House Inn and hopefully will return again soon.

Room tip: Harbour view room was very spacious.
Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank CocoJojo60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCHManagmentTeam, Manager at Old Custom House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2018

Thank you for your lovely review! I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2018 via mobile

Ate here during our stay in Cornwall. Popped in as were informed it was dog friendly and we have two large dogs. Suffice to say it was! Bar staff helpful and attentive, food arrived promptly and tasted great. Couldn't really fault it to be honest. Would eat here again and if you do have dogs with you, pop in, they really are dog friendly with great food and reasonably priced....

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank stevebO428VR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCHManagmentTeam, Manager at Old Custom House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2018

Thank you for your review! Dogs are always made welcome throughout our main bar, and Padstow remains a popular place to bring dogs with you. I am delighted you found our bar staff polite and attentive, I will of course pass on your comments to our teams. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews