We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poor value rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Old Custom House Inn
Ranked #13 of 56 Padstow B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
notts, UK
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“poor value rooms”
Reviewed September 23, 2009

We stayed here after our B and B accommodation had been double booked. It was expensive and the family room was very small and shabby - overlooking a noisy roof with air conditioning units running all night. The breakfast was fantastic however.
Like a rabbit warren - old style hotel in need of modernisation.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EricaBl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    214
    97
    35
    13
See reviews for
73
380
6
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2009

The Rooms that we had were very poor for the four star rating the bathrooms were grubby and in need of an update. The location was great Car parking was in the main car park over the road that was pay and display cost £6 per 24h.Padstow was a very nice place to visit but if we were to return would look else where to stay.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Realaleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2009

Unfortunately this was the only place in Padstow with availalability and after reading the reviews I decided to risk it. The room we were given was a standard room right at the back of the building up about ten flights of stairs and through a similar amount of corridors.The standard rooms are above the pub and restaurant so they stink of stale beer and grease 24/7, the decor is 80's Blackpool B&B but the prices are definately not! The bathrooms are
as basic as they come, lino floor - think travellodge, and crappy electric shower. The breakfast was pretty bad as well, in future we will be staying in Wadebridge or somewhere outside Padstow as it is better value for money.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
Helpful?
Thank greyhogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed September 10, 2009

My wife and I stayed for a night as part of our honeymoon and we left very dissappointed. The location is absolutley brilliant but the rooms are nothing special for the price and the breakfast was poor. They make out to be something they're not by saying things like "honey-roasted sausage and dry-cured bacon and other ellaborate descriptions for everything, when in reality it was very cheap and nasty. We expected a lot better. The room was also absolutely boiling even with the window open and we didn't have a good nights sleep. It's not good value for the money.

Would definately NOT recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WFTD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2009

What a great place, we had room 3, above the reception/conservertory. At the top of the stairs with a harbour view, not a huge room, but big enough, with everything you'd need - dressing table & chair, decent sized wardrobe, plenty of mirrors, plugs etc. Lovely high ceilings, couldn't touch the top if you tried, high domed window with fantastic views. (only slightly spoiled by the public conveniences directly in front!) Noisy, as it's right in the centre, but that's a small price to pay, Reception staff were great, very helpful. Check out St. Austell brewery website for special offers, we got 2 nights for the price of one on condition of eating in their restaurant alternate nights - not exactly a hardship! I would definately stay here again. Hire a bike and do the Camel trail to Wadebridge, great fun! Great wifi connection too. Parking is dreadful, there's a public carpark opposite, £6.50 a day or £30 for 7 days, but even at 7am there's only half a dozen available spaces, great fun watching people drive round and round! I would suggest you park up and don't move. Padstow's fantastic, but unfortunately a victim of it's own success without the infastructure to support the number of visitors. ps. Don't take anything even remotely dressy, it's shorts, flip flops and waterproofs - even at night.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catikins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swansea
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2009

Just returned from two nights at the old custom house in padstow. The hotel was second to none. we had a great room overlooking the harbour. clean if not just a little noisy as the hotel is not very well sound proofed!! All in all a good place to stay. Also worth a vist are the rick steins restaurants. food is to die for. all in all a fab weekend

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Padstow
0.1 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#4 of 8 in Padstow
1,438 reviews
3.4 mi away
Treglos Hotel
Treglos Hotel
#1 of 1 in Constantine Bay
395 reviews
1.9 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The St Enodoc Hotel
0.2 mi away
Coswarth House
Coswarth House
#15 of 56 in Padstow
324 reviews
0.9 mi away
Woodlands Country House
Woodlands Country House
#10 of 56 in Padstow
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Custom House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Custom House Inn

Property: Old Custom House Inn
Address: Inn South Quay, Padstow PL28 8BL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Padstow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Padstow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Custom House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling within sight of the open sea at the mouth of the tranquil Camel Estuary, Padstow, in Cornwall, has always been a thriving fishing port and commercial centre for north Cornwall. At the heart of the town and overlooking the medieval harbour is the Old Custom House, now a stylish and intimate place to stay. Standing on the quayside, the Old Custom House is still one of the finest buildings in the town. Today it is famous for its fine food, award winning ales, elegant, intimate accommodation and for its luxurious Beauty Studio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your Old Custom House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Custom House Hotel Padstow
Old Custom House Padstow
Old Custom House Inn Padstow, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing