We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flawless !!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Old Custom House Inn
Ranked #13 of 55 Padstow B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Stayed for one night and the whole stay was an absolute pleasure. Start to finish staff were great, very accommodating and everything you expect from a great hotel.

Room was modern but in keeping with the feel of the area. Warm and homely, even upgraded us as was a birthday weekend.

Breakfast was lovely, again great service. Staff genuinely interested in your stay.

Pub was also great, comfortable setting great place for a drink after a long coastal walk, pre dinner drinks or a few night caps.

Recommend this to anyone looking for a couples weekend away.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Sophie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StAustellManagement, Manager at Old Custom House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Thank you for your great review. We really appreciate your feedback, I will pass your comments onto the team here at the Old Custom House. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (591)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

382 - 388 of 591 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2013

We have stayed here on previous occasions, but it has had an overhaul since our last visit. A big improvement decoratively - everything newly painted, new carpets, bathrooms etc. Let down by tiny TVs. The beds are super comfortable. We were on the first floor above the restaurant and it was rather noisy in the afternoon and evening, but all went quiet about 10.30 and we had a peaceful night. A bit on the expensive side if you compare it to similar in other parts of the country, but this is STEIN country now, so prices reflect this.

Breakfast is buffet style for the fist course with plenty of choices and then a choice of full Cornish (English) or smoked Salmon and scrambled Egg for the main. Service was good, food was superb, tea and coffee topped up as desired.

Will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Try to choose a bedroom away public areas on the ground floor. But then you may not get a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JenniferMary46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StAustellManagement, Manager at Old Custom House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review, we regularly maintain and refurbish our rooms and glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you also for mentioning our breakfast which we know is an important part of your stay. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

The title of this review says it all really. We had a great stay here. Large,pleasant room overlooking the harbour.

We ate one evening at their own restaurant "Pescadou" and had a superb meal and a fun night.

Probably the only place in Padstow not owned by Rick Stein !

All the staff we encountered were very friendly and customer facing.

We will go back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Freddy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StAustellManagement, Manager at Old Custom House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your wonderful review. We are proud of our rooms, and believe we have some of the best views in town. We will pass on your comments to our staff who will be very pleased you enjoyed your meal and visit. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed here for our wedding anniversary in September and we really enjoyed our stay except for one thing.

The good points are the staff and cleanliness. The service was excellent and could not be faulted. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

The down side is how thin the walls were. On our first night we had very little sleep due to snoring coming from another room which was incredibly loud. After a night of this the culprit must have left and new neighbours moved in. Although no snoring we could here every move they made.

Overall don't let this put you off as it is an excellent place to stay

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SeahorseMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StAustellManagement, Manager at Old Custom House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Thank you for your comments, I am glad we helped make your wedding anniversary visit an enjoyable one. I am sorry to hear you experienced some noise, our receptionists are always very willing to help resolve all issues with your stay. All feedback is very much appreciated, we strive to improve wherever we can.
We are however very pleased you found the staff and service friendly and helpful, and we hope to welcome you back in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Impressed upon arrival as though we arrived at the wrong entrance for the hotel the barman (younger blond with well polished shoes) showed us round and even took my husband back to the car (a fair distance down the carpark) under an umbrella and bought back our luggage. was impressed again on the last day of ouer stay because while we were having dinner in the pub we saw another barman (older and sincere looking possibly the manager as he wore a lighter shirt) take a dish of milk to a stray cat that had wandered in out of the rain. room was well kept, food was excellent but full marks here are for customer service. you are an asset to the community.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vicky w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StAustellManagement, Manager at Old Custom House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely review, our team works hard to deliver great customer service and will be pleased to see they made your visit a memorable one. I will of course pass on your comments to our bar staff and we hope you choose to visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

It's a lovely old Inn with bags of character right in the centre of Padstow, so in a great location - but we had a bit of a mixed experience.

Had booked through LateRooms and supposed to have a superior double room, but we must have been the last ones in as we got put away in a very disappointing, small, drafty, noisy room with a window just outside the door that they couldn't close (this was on a horrible wet, windy night in March!) - and the heating in the room either didn't work, or was just ineffective.

We complained about the room and they moved us without any question or issue to another room which was far far superior. Lovely big room, big bed, great bathroom, warm.... just what we'd hoped for originally.

Have no idea why they'd stuffed us away in the attic in the first place!

Breakfast in the morning was excellent too.

Room Tip: Don't let them put you in the attic room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CJM1073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Nice helpful staff and great location. Walker friendly, but compared with most of the places we stayed in while walking the Southwest Coast Path it seemed relatively expensive for what it offered. The attached restaurant Piscadou was lovely though.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Sidewinder4504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Padstow
0.1 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#4 of 8 in Padstow
1,497 reviews
3.4 mi away
Treglos Hotel
Treglos Hotel
#1 of 1 in Constantine Bay
415 reviews
1.0 mi away
The St Enodoc Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Harlyn Inn
The Harlyn Inn
#25 of 55 in Padstow
312 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Old Mill House
The Old Mill House
#3 of 55 in Padstow
232 reviews
0.2 mi away
Padstow Townhouse
Padstow Townhouse
#8 of 55 in Padstow
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Custom House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Custom House Inn

Address: Inn South Quay, Padstow PL28 8BL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Padstow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Padstow
Price Range: $154 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Custom House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling within sight of the open sea at the mouth of the tranquil Camel Estuary, Padstow, in Cornwall, has always been a thriving fishing port and commercial centre for north Cornwall. At the heart of the town and overlooking the medieval harbour is the Old Custom House, now a stylish and intimate place to stay. Standing on the quayside, the Old Custom House is still one of the finest buildings in the town. Today it is famous for its fine food, award winning ales, elegant, intimate accommodation and for its luxurious Beauty Studio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Old Custom House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Custom House Hotel Padstow
Old Custom House Padstow
Old Custom House Inn Padstow, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing