We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“delightful place to stay”
Review of The Old Mill House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Mill House
Ranked #2 of 55 Padstow B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We have stayed in the Old Mill House twice and are returning for a third stay. We visit a former neighbour who retired locally and stay for a few days, eating in local restaurants. The Old Mill House rooms are clean and prettily decorated, with comfortable beds and excellent showers. Breakfast is delicious and when they say freshly squeezed orange juice they mean it comes from an orange not a carton. Very good value for money and a little bit of luxury.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FRC F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (233)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

207 - 213 of 233 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2012

We have just returned from a 4 night stay at The Old Mill House. What a find! The setting is beautiful, right next to a river, and the accommodation is spotless. We stayed in the 'Hayloft' which was very comfortable and had lovely views over the garden and river. The owners Paul and Hanna are very friendly and excellent hosts and as previous reviewers have said the service is faultless. The breakfasts are delicious and there is an excellent choice available. We would have no hesitation in returning and would highly recommend it to anyone wanting old world charm and excellent service.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

This is a fabulous place to stay in a very picturesque location. Beautifully kept accommodation, comfortable rooms, and a terrific breakfast including an old favourite of ours - "hogs pudding"! As other reviewers have said Paul and Hanna are excellent hosts and the service was faultless. We stayed in the Flour Store which is at the front of the house near to the road, but traffic was quite light and never intrusive. Great walks from the door and a huge range of quality restaurants nearby made this a perfect base for exploring this pretty part of Cornwall.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelboot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights. The accommodation is wonderful, the rooms are superb it is situated in a great location for visiting all that Cornwall has to offer. The hosts are congenial and caring the breakfasts were delicious. If we get the opportunity to vistit Cornwall again we would have no hesitation staying there again

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MatureTravellersAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

This is our second stay at the Old Mill House and was even better than before! From our initial welcome to our farewells, the attention to detail is second to none. The peace and tranquility in and around the house is wonderful if you are looking for a quiet place to stay.The standards in every aspect are outstanding. The house is spotless and beautifully presented. Breakfast was delicious with a wonderful selection of fresh fruit salad, cereals and choice of cooked breakfast- all freshly cooked and beautifully presented. The area around the Mill House is stunning, very beautiful and again, very well kept. The owners were charming, helpful and nothing was too much trouble.

Room Tip: All rooms are beautifully appointed, you would be spoilt for choice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CHK30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

What a little gem. The best breakfast we have ever had whilst away. Offer of fresh milk each time we came back to house very nice touch. Nothing too much trouble for Hanna. Paul is a great cook. Lovely comfy bed and everywhere spotless. Lovely situation next to stream. If you are a light sleeper go for a garden view room as traffic very close to front of property. Will definitely be going back. TIP: When looking for property, it is at the lowest point in the village next to the bridge, (sat nav takes you to the farm up the road!)

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the garden would be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2011

My husband and I spent 2 nights in this charming B and B. We did not book in advance and booked through the tourist office. We stayed in the Stable Room, Nice, comfortable room.Breakfast was delicious and owner was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank anne_keane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Padstow hotels
1.9 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#4 of 8 in Padstow
1,520 reviews
3.6 mi away
Treglos Hotel
Treglos Hotel
#1 of 1 in Constantine Bay
417 reviews
2 mi away
Old Custom House Inn
Old Custom House Inn
#13 of 55 in Padstow
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Padstow Townhouse
Padstow Townhouse
#8 of 55 in Padstow
91 reviews
1.9 mi away
Treverbyn House
Treverbyn House
#1 of 55 in Padstow
444 reviews
0.2 mi away
Molesworth Manor
Molesworth Manor
#1 of 2 in Little Petherick
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Mill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Mill House

Address: Little Petherick, Padstow PL27 7QT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Padstow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Padstow
Price Range: $118 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Mill House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Mill House is a 16th Century converted corn mill situated in an area of outstanding natural beauty; two miles away from Padstow. The Grade II listed building sits next to a pretty stream that runs into the Camel Estuary and is surrounded by scheduled gardens. There are seven comfortable and individually decorated bedrooms which all en-suite with colour TV and telephone/data points. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Old Mill House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Mill House Padstow, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing