We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pad along to the museum.....”
Review of Padstow Museum

Padstow Museum
Ranked #14 of 34 things to do in Padstow
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Reviewed September 25, 2013

This is a great little museum packed with interesting artefacts. The lady curators have a wealth of knowledge to impart about their exhibits and I noted that they greeted each arriving visitor drawing their attention to a particular object and describing the exhibit. In such a small museum this gained the attention of all visitors and over a short period more objects and history are so introduced to the benefit and entertainment of all. Overall an excellent way to pass an hour or so.

5  Thank Bobcat202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
widgywhoo, Guest Relations Manager at Padstow Museum, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Hi Bobcat
Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed our friendly volunteers, they love being able to interact with our visitors which in turn makes your visit more enjoyable. We hope to see you again when your next in Padstow for another chat with our ladies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (70)
There are newer reviews for Padstow Museum
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 70 of 70 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2013

I have been into this beautiful little museum and have been delighted to have been able to find and answer to all my questions. a worth while visit for young and old a like.

the staff are very up to date and are able to assist in all aspects.
100% satisfied

6  Thank Padstonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
widgywhoo, Public Relations Manager at Padstow Museum, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Thank you we are rather proud of our Museum and volunteer Staff they do an excellent job, without them we couldn't function.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Whilst in Padstow recently We decided to wander along to the local Museum, entry cost us £1.50 per adult and all three children entered free. Inside where many delights covering Padstow's rich hidden past. There are artifacts and detailed information regarding Padstows traditional Mayday celebrations, railway, seafaring, mining, wartime history, association with famous seafarers and much more. We found the staff to be both pleasant and knowledgeable on all things Padstow. Even advising us of other local attractions we could visit and decent places to eat when asked.

We came away with a better understanding of the changing face of Padstow and her people amazed by the amount of things that had happened to the town since the vikings invaded. This little museum runs on public support and donations only and is deserving of a five star rating even though it isnt a glitzy theme park.

If your after food, toilet facilities, even a decent pint... All can be found within a stones throw away from the building, along with parking surf shops and the usual suspects found these days in a Cornish seaside town.

For those interested they have a web site.

http://www.padstowmuseum.co.uk

and

facebook Page

https://www.facebook.com/padstowmuseum

If you cannot visit and would still like to help preserve the history of our land then im pretty sure you can donate on the website somewhere.

I should add at this point that actual local Padstow people, (Padstonians) are a rare breed of people, friendly, happy and helpful. They seem to come from a better time and dance to a different tune, one that is all their own.

If your around Padstow get up early one day and take a look.

6  Thank blueboing101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
widgywhoo, Public Relations Manager at Padstow Museum, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

That's a wonderful review thank you, so glad you enjoyed your visit. I do hope the Children enjoyed our quiz, with a little treat at the end!. You must have forgotten that we have FREE entry even for adults, so even more reason for you to come again. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

I have visited Padstow Museum several times. If you take your holiday in or near Padstow a visit to the Museum is a must, you will learn so much about Padstow in times gone by before it became
so popular with holiday makers. The staff are friendly and anxious to tell you about the many exhibits, photos and pictures. There is much more to Padstow than the average holiday maker sees, it was not always ice cream and trips around the estuary, it has a history of heroism and hardship.

6  Thank Reg T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
widgywhoo, Public Relations Manager at Padstow Museum, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Thank you for your kind words about our Museum, There is so much to see for such a small Museum, and you obviously enjoyed your visit. We hope to see you again when you visit Padstow in the future Thank You

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Padstow Museum also viewed

 

Been to Padstow Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing