We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic Family Holiday”
Good quality mattresses and furniture
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Good quality mattresses and furniture
Kitchen fully equipped down to a cafetiere and garlic press Quirky dining table and dresser
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
116 reviews
Good quality mattresses and furniture
Kitchen fully equipped down to a cafetiere and garlic press
Quirky dining table and dresser
Open fire or woodburner
Ekornes Stressless recliners in the Old Round House cottage
Heated indoor swimming pool (Easter to end of October)
Farm play equipment
Barn owlet
Barn owl on own of our Owlcams
Dundee - one of our miniature Shetland ponies
Frankie - our other Shetland pony - on a creekside walk
Trevorrick Farm and the Camel Estuary
The Camel Estuary and iron bridge
Trevorrick Seamills - walking in to Padstow
The Camel trail and iron bridge walking in to Padstow
Camel Estuary at low tide
Walk down to the beach from Padstow
Padstow harbour
The imfamous Rick Stein's Seafood Restaurant in Padstow
Padstow harbour
Padstow harbour
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Padstow, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 116 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
DaveG922
Guernsey, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not The Standard We Were Expecting”
Reviewed August 24, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I spent a week at trevorrick farm together with our son and his family in july of this year, their accommodation at the Old Round House was perfectly acceptable, but ours, staying at Lily Pad Cottage was a massive disappointment, On arrival we were shocked to see the scruffy appearance surrounding the cottage with weeds,and rubbish strewn everywhere , with dead flowers in pots outside the door , The close proximity of Lily Pad Cottage to the actual farm animals was not what we expected, we knew obviously that we were going to stay on a farm but we didn't expect them to be literally outside our windows roaming free, . The noise and smell from the poultry made it extremely unpleasant, every time we left the cottage we had to walk down a rough concrete strip that was covered in droppings from the animals , which never seemed to be hosed down. The inside of the cottage was very clean, but basic , with chipped very old china in the cupboards, it seemed to us that compared to the rest of the cottages we certainly had drawn the short straw, attention to detail was zero , Our son and his wife however were delighted with there accommodation, having a better location and a newer more up to property. Melanie , who was the owner was extremely unhelpful, and unconcerned of our plight , we were very disappointed with her attitude, If you are considering having a holiday at Trevorrick Farm DO NOT STAY AT LILY PAD COTTAGE , It certainly is not four star accommodation , which is how they are advertising it, A very uncomfortable week

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 3, 2014
Thank you for taking time to write a review. I really am sorry that you chose a holiday which didn't suit
you. You expressed surprise on arrival that we are a
"working farm", yet the small scale farm experience, well documented
in all our reviews, is one of our greatest strengths. Mike and I tried
our best to make your stay as comfortable as possible, however given
that you asked for a 50% refund as soon as you stepped into the
cottage, it was always going to be an uphill struggle. You had earlier
walked around the farm (you didn't view the cottage booked for your
son until they arrived the next day) and decided that all the other
cottages and our neighbour's private residence - which I pointed out
was not one of our cottages - had a nicer "aspect". When you entered
your cottage I don't believe you had even seen the wonderful decked
area we had built for exclusive use by Lily Pad guests with wonderful
views over the creek towards Padstow and Rock and the Camel estuary. You
weren't interested in looking around the inside of the cottage: the
superb modern bathroom with powerful shower installed last year, the
lovely bedroom with kingsize bed only a year old, or the newly
refitted kitchen. All these improvements meant that the cottage was
actually awarded a Gold Award, to add to the Four Star award, in April
2014. We pay independent professionals to assess the quality of our
cottages. You, sadly, just stated you wanted 50% of your money back,
which I am afraid I really couldn't offer you and I am sorry that on
that basis you consider me unhelpful. We are however delighted that
your family had such a lovely time. Your grandson, Sam was such a
great help with our unique interactive farm animal experience in the mornings, which is so much enjoyed by all, as other reviews illustrate. It was
wonderful that on arrival we were able to show him and his parents the
calf that had been born five minutes earlier. I welcomed other members
of your family, who were also in Cornwall, when they visited you, and
I spent time to take the aspiring young vet to see the calf. It must have been a
great family reunion. Best regards. Melanie and Mike. xxx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayley123
England
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic Family Holiday”
Reviewed August 17, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for a week in Serendipity Cottage and had a wonderful holiday/farm experience. Our two girls (aged 4 and 7) loved feeding, walking and stroking the animals. The guinea pigs in particular were a big hit. They also enjoyed rounding all the animals up again in the evening. Trevorrick Farm have lots of play equipment in the garden for the children to enjoy and the swimming pool was very popular with our two.

While we were there a new baby calf was born, which was very exciting, and there appeared to be new baby chicks hatching every day.

We spent a few days at the beach, went on a couple of 'nature' walks looking for animals, insects etc and popped to Padstow a couple of times for fish and chips and cornish pasties.

In the evening we generally stayed in the cottage but did walk to the Pickwick Inn a couple of times, sometimes just for a drink and to let the girls have a play on their park, which was very nice. Also, went on night walks around the farm looking for the owls, which we did manage to spot a few times.

I must mention the Old Mill House in Little Petherick. It does wonderful Cream Teas and their garden is beautiful. The girls made friends with the owners dog, which kept them busy for an hour or so. All in all a very pleasant week in Padstow. Thank you Melanie and Mike.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the animals
Liked least: nothing - it was all good.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 1, 2014
So glad you had such a fantastic farm holiday experience with us. We have so many animals to meet, but guinea pigs are often the favourites. Always an added bonus when the owls are around, always great to watch the adults swooping in and out bringing food to feed the 3 owlets. Looking forward to seeing you all again in the future. Melanie xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley_W...
Kent, England
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Perfect holiday”
Reviewed August 15, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

I've lost count of the times we have loved our holidays at Trevorrick, and our holiday earlier this month was just the same. The cottage was beautiful, spotless, and well appointed and there was nothing else we could have asked for.

The farmland and surrounding countryside are just stunning and the variety of animals perfect. Add to that two lovely hosts and we couldn't ask for more. Children of all ages just love the morning "feed and pet the animals" routine, and I saw lots of happy children enjoying themselves bottle feeding the lambs, taking the ponies and goats for walks, rounding up the chicks and doting on the world's most chilled out guinea pigs. I think most families there don't actually get a chance to go out until around 10am, as the children are totally absorbed until then.

The owners don't rest on their laurels - they are always making improvements. This year there is wifi in the cottages and different animals to spend time with. My favourites this year were the delightful kune kune pigs, which were always keen to come running for a treat or two. There is a new heating system for water on the complex and we thought the swimming pool temperature was just right being heated this way.

We ate out at the Ring O Bells and the Pickwick Inn - both within easy walking distance. They serve excellent food, but they do get very busy so if you want to eat there, get there and order some time before you actually want to eat. We also ate at the cottage several times as it's a real home from home and has absolutely everything a kitchen should have.

The beaches in the area are lovely and we were blessed with fine weather this year and we spent many happy hours trying to catch great waves to body surf on.

For a location with perfect peace, stunning scenery and a very chilled out, happy vibe, Trevorrick is hard to beat. Oh yes, and the Old Round House probably has the most comfortable bed in Cornwall!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Absolutely everything.
Liked least: Having to leave.
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy R
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent holiday cottage”
Reviewed August 13, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We stayed in owls roost and it was perfect for us and our two children (under 3)
Lots of toys for our 2 year old to play with in the cottage which were perfect for his age. Fantastic hands on feeding the animals every morning-always welcomed and Melanie new all the children by name and encouraged them and ensured all felt welcome.
Pool was great for a dip/swim and so many toys in the adjoining play room. Excellent outdoor play facilities too.
Location was great and could get to where ever we needed very easily.
Cottage was in good condition and had good facilities/equipment within it. Owners were very helpful in giving advice on local attractions and we would certainly return.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JKP761
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Brilliant family escape”
Reviewed July 31, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We were so lucky to have our holiday here. We came with our nearly 2 year old and it was utterly perfect. We need not have bought any toys with us as there was a wonderful selection of age appropriate toys left for us in the cottage a brilliant play field with sand pit, play houses etc which was hard to get him to leave and also a fantastic kids play tractor which was one of his highlights. He also loved help feeding the animals in the morning and still talks about them.
With Padstow, Rock, Trevone and so much more around we were spoilt for choice of beeches and lovely places to eat.
It felt like a perfect family bolt hole, we stayed in the old round house.
Thank you

Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarahgood...
Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Ideal Holiday For Young Families”
Reviewed July 6, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in Curlew Cottage last week and had a superb time. Plenty for our toddlers to do - a great park with swings and slides, a swimming pool, animal feeding every morning, toys bursting out of every corner - we rarely left the farm. They were so happy playing there we didn't need to.

Cottages are very comfortable. Melanie and Mike were extremely helpful and went to great lengths to ensure our stay was a good one.

Padstow is just a short drive away (the Cornish pasties were still warm after we drove back to the cottage :-) ) and the local beaches are fantastic. Trevone Beach was our favourite.

If you want a peaceful break away that's safe and fun for young children, this is the place to go. The internet connection was slow but I didn't mind that - gave me a great excuse to completely disconnect and enjoy a good old fashioned family holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The facilities - animal feeding, pool, toys, park...all brilliant
Liked least: Could do with another washing line
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 7, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review, it was wonderful to see your daughter and the friend she made having such a great time, some of our guests' children make lasting friends during their stay, and come back again and again. We look forward to seeing you all again. As hopefully I remembered to explain, Superfast Broadband is coming to Trevorrick as soon as it goes live. The cables have been fixed to the telegraph poles already, so hopefully it won't be long now! We are also great for couples and have had some lovely comments on a well known social media site recently! Also lots of pictures of our animals and latest news from our little Cornish farm. Melanie xxx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew T
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Place, Great Holiday”
Reviewed July 4, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Thank you Melanie & Mike for a great holiday, we stayed in the Lily Pad cottage & it was well equipped with everything we needed. The bed was so comfortable & the bathroom was superb. Our balcony overlooking Little Petherick Creek had stunning views. It was wonderful to see all your farm animals & see the children from next door feeding & petting them. The Barn Owls were a delight to see, we spent 30 minutes each night watching them. The walks were fantastic, we only used our car twice over the week. We walked each night to the local pub The Pickwick Inn, highly recommend, great food not over priced. We will definitely be back, many thanks

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Local walks
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 14, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. Great to know that couples love us as well as families, we are such a peaceful quiet location with great walks from the door. We love it that it is possible to do so much from here without the car and we are so lucky to have the Pickwick Inn half mile away and Ring O Bells just one mile away. We are so glad you enjoyed our barn owls, they will be fledging soon and our guests will be able to see the young outside the box. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Melanie and Mike xxx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing