We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“CRACKER LACKER OF A HOLIDAY”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
House showing front garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
31 reviews
House showing front garden
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 3
Conservatory
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen showing fridge, sink and washing machine
Bathroom
Bath/shower
Bathroom
Harlyn beach
Harlyn beach
Verandah
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Padstow, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
BOND007_1...
Bracknell, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“CRACKER LACKER OF A HOLIDAY”
Reviewed April 13, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We went down to Undertowan over Easter 2015, and were not expecting for starters the gorgeous weather we had (always a bonus)
Undertowan is set in the most perfect location for the Beach, and the house itself is quirky, quaint, and a delight to stay in. The garden is just brilliant for a game of cricket, and if like us you have a dog its perfect for your furry friend too ,being totally enclosed.
The short walk down the lane and then down the path to the beach means that you pretty much dont need to put your dog on a lead to get down there and its one of the most stunning beaches we have been on.
We will DEFINATELY be booking again, although I think we need to get in quick as the dates are booking up already for 2016!!!

Date of stay: April 2015
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frances J
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Undertowen harlyn bay”
Reviewed September 6, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Wonderful holiday would book again near the beach cosy lounge/dining area and three lovely sized bedrooms.enclosed garden justl lovely thank you

Date of stay: July 2014
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
998jackie...
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic location for family holiday.”
Reviewed August 11, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

A clean and comfortable house with everything we needed to make the most of our family holiday. A perfect location for us to spend everyday on the vast sandy beach and in the sea, with a few hours to relax in the garden where our children and dog could run around safely.
The outside shower was a real help in keeping the sand at bay and the sun in the garden all day meant wetsuits and flip flops dried quickly!
Everything you need 'shop wise' is only a few minutes away by car. We found the 'Cornish Arms' the best pub locally.
We all (nanny and grandad, our three and six year old and family dog) had a brilliant, relaxing and very comfortable holiday at Undertowan - we plan to return and master the art of surfing!

Date of stay: July 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing given the value for money
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VickiJohn...
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A great family place to stay”
Reviewed July 1, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

A very clean and tidy house, just a little dated, but ideal for us. A proper cot (not travel one) and high chair where there for us to use. A washing machine would have been useful, especially with small children. Excellent location, just down a private path and your on the beach. Outside shower excellent for washing off from the beach, tried the pub down the road but didn't get a warm welcome, so tried others a short drive away and wasn't disappointed at all. Really enjoyed our stay and will return next year! Postcode on website takes you to M6 area not Cornwall, look out for the little lane on the right as its hard to see as tucked away once gone past Harlyn beach.

Date of stay: June 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 4, 2014
The map error on the website has been corrected. The kitchen and bathroom are due for an upgrade in January 2015 which will include the provision of a washing machine. We agree that there are better pubs than the Harlyn. Cornish Arms in St Merryn or various options in Padstow preferred.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bertie502...
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“We all had a fabulous time.”
Reviewed June 23, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

One or two issues could be improved notably replace the cooker - too slow and better if we had had a washing machine. Upgrade the bathroom to include mixer taps on bath. Also beware the heated towel rail which becomes very hot and scalding especially for young children if you are not careful. Many plus points. Cottage very comfortable and family friendly. Outside shed with loo, shower and hose. Very useful especially coming straight off beach. Thoughtful touches including spades etc for beach and BarBQ although simple works well. When using spin drier don't forget to put bowl under outlet or you will have a very wet kitchen floor!

Date of stay: June 2014
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo H
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“WYSIWYG”
Reviewed November 14, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at Undertowan just as a huge storm was due in October 2013; we felt safe and warm and the weather and countryside were amazing to observe. The proximity to the beach and the coastal walks were all there to enjoy and towns of Padstow and Wadebridge a very quick trip away. Undertowan is a lovely little bungalow and has all you need for a beach/ walking holiday. The beds are extremely comfy and the sitting room cosy; there is also a conservatory to escape from the kids for some peace and quiet. The kitchen and bathroom are completely adequate, but if you're looking for luxury this one maybe not for you. As total surf nerds we found this little place ideal and will be returning.

Date of stay: October 2013
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 5, 2013 for a stay in April 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Date of stay: April 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, the garden, the cosy lounge/diner.
Liked least: Not having a shower in the bathroom.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing