We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth the 200 mile trip!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Padstow
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Seafood Restaurant Accommodation
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Padstow
Certificate of Excellence
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Well worth the 200 mile trip!”
Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

Fantastic setting, amazing ambience and food to die for! The service was top class and all in all we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves!
This seafood restaurant would be great for all occasions and I'd strongly recommend the venue to friends and family. It's most certainly a must when visiting Padstow!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank leeoliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    95
    45
    24
    6
See reviews for
43
320
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hove, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

I had booked a lunch months ago with my fiancé. I was looking forward to it as a lot of people had recommended this place. We booked the lunch for 12:00. On arrival we were taken to our table where I was crammed into a very small space unable to get out to use the bathroom as the table next to us was far too close. The restaurant was a two hour slot and it didn't even get half full in that time, so I don't understand why we had to be crammed in like that. I ordered the mussels for starters and what a disappointment. They were small and undercooked, I was sick for 24 hours after the meal. My fiancé had the fish and chips and his chips were raw in the middle, needless to say he didn't eat them. I have always loved watching Rick Stein and enjoy his cookbooks so I was sorely disappointed with his restaurant. I ordered the lunchtime special was £38.50 and for my main meal I ordered the lobster, however you have to order a side dish which costs an extra £5. Overpriced and overrated. We paid a lot of money, waited months looking forward to it, for me to then be ill for the first 24 hours of my holiday because of the undercooked food. What a shame.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Deborah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Put together the following ingredients: a central Padstow location; friendly, accommodating and helpful staff; clean, modern and well maintained rooms tastefully decorated and comfortably furnished; spotless bathrooms with show-heads that knock you out; all mod cons; great views of the harbour (depending on your room of course) and a gourmet fish restaurant on your doorstep ... all makes for a superb stay. We were there for several days in room #5 which has the middle terrace overlooking the Camel Estuary and Rock. Then room #7 for two nights; no terrace, but fairly large and windows looking out over both the estuary and the town harbour. Excellent. If you want to treat yourself, then this is the hotel for you, although book early to avoid disappointment!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank steviewonder123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014

You cannot visit Cornwall without making a trip to this restaurant. Unfortunately the highlight of our particular evening was a spectacular lightning storm which lit up the whole harbour area. No such fireworks from the kitchen though. Menu selection was superb, and to be honest my wife enjoyed her meal, mine however was a little disappointing, I selected stone bass Madras curry, as I had been following Rick's Asian safaris, but it was far too hot for my taste and rather disappointing for the price of £39. Wine selection was very impressive and the service by a large contingent of young staff, was excellent and friendly.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicola D, Guest Relations Manager at The Seafood Restaurant Accommodation, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you for your review.

We are glad to hear that you were impressed by the service and wine although we are sorry that we did not exceed your expectations with the curry. We have passed your review onto our executive chef. If you would like to discuss further then please contact us at feedback@rickstein.com.

We hope you will visit us again soon.

Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

As usual we are never let down. The staff are so professional and always so courteous that nothing is too much trouble. We love rooms 5 and 6 but this time due to them being booked we stayed in room 2 which looks out on the harbour. Food in the restaurant brilliant. There is a terrace upstairs where you can have drinks overlooking the harbour and the splendid views. Breakfast again the food is excellent and the catering school is relaxed and very enjoyable picking up wonderful tips. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff here. We love coming back here.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank sally t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicola D, Guest Relations Manager at The Seafood Restaurant Accommodation, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you for posting such a great review.

It’s great to hear you enjoyed your stay so much; we’re very luck to have such fantastic views from some of our rooms.

We are delighted to hear that you found our staff professional and courteous and that you enjoyed your meal at The Seafood Restaurant.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your time at Padstow Seafood School, it’s a great way to spend a day in Padstow.

We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

We visited the seafood restaurant last month and stayed for 2 nights. What a great time we had. We had our little dog - a small cockapoo with us and the hotel were so accomodating. The first night we had take away fish and chips (of course from steins) and we took them up on the decking and watched the boats. The 2nd night we went to the cafe and that was also great great food and really reasonable. We spent the days walking along the beach, drinking in local bistros, eating and having fun. We did the cycle 11 miles there and back (cant remember what it was called) but its the first stop of the camel trail. To be honest cycle was great but it wasn't a great town to cycle too as there wasnt much there. If you go cycling....go with water and snacks...we didnt and I was so thirsty during the cycle. The only thing I would change was the room was so so hot I didnt sleep well on either night and there was a note to say we couldnt turn the air con down :( but overall a lovely time.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicola D, Guest Relations Manager at The Seafood Restaurant Accommodation, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you for leaving such a lovely review.

It sounds like you had the perfect break in Padstow. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed fish & chips from Stein’s Fish & Chips and that you found the food at Rick Stein’s Café to be great and good value for money.

Thank you for your feedback regarding the air con, we are always happy to offer extra fans on situations like this.

We look forward to welcoming you and your cockapoo back to Padstow again soon.

Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Although Rick Stein’s is rightly regarded as a mecca for seafood lovers, the accommodation there is pretty good too. My wife and I stayed for three nights at the end of April on a special deal which included dinner at St Petroc’s Bistro and the Seafood restaurant.

Two of our nights were in the main building which has been impressively converted to a modern restaurant with accommodation to match. The corridors are narrow and winding but that is all part of the charm of this place. Not all the rooms have a sea view and ours being on a special deal only had a glimpse of the estuary. No matter, the level of comfort is really good with a large double bed that was so comfortable it almost swallowed you up. TV, video player, radio are all there and an impressively designed bathroom. The colours are plain but the room is tastefully finished by Jill Stein. Tea and coffee making facilities are available and fresh milk in the fridge – a refreshing change from the cartons of UHT you usually get. There is no parking other than the municipal car park on the harbour where a space can usually be found. It is best to buy a ticket covering your stay which is around £7 a day. That way you can come and go as you please and not have to worry about getting a parking fine.

Our third night was in St Edumunds House a property that has also been converted immediately behind the main building. This has its own parking and the rooms are even more plush than we had previously experienced. A double glazed door leads out onto a manicured lawn and sunbeds are provided. This room was quite big, had all the usual refinements and a large bathroom which had only just been refurbished.

No report on this hotel would be complete without mentioning the food. It is quite simply superb. My wife had a fruits de mer which included half a lobster although a little tough and a crab that tasted out of this world as well as a whole range of shellfish all of which were so fresh they tasted as though they had just come from the sea. The list of dishes is impressive and includes hake, salmon, exotic dishes from Rick Stein’s travels all presented in tip top condition judging by what we saw coming to the table.

Well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Choose upper floors in the Seafood restaurant and ground floor in St Edmunds
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicola D, Guest Relations Manager at The Seafood Restaurant Accommodation, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review of our restaurant and accommodation.

We are thrilled to read that you had an excellent three night stay on one of our seasonal foodie breaks. Rick and Jill believe that to make a good cup of tea or coffee, you need fresh milk and it’s lovely to hear you appreciated it being in your room fridge on arrival.

It was very nice to hear that the bed was so comfortable it almost swallowed you up and we are very happy that your wife enjoyed her fruits de mer, it’s one of The Seafood Restaurant’s signature dishes.

We hope to welcome you back to Padstow in the very near future.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Padstow
0.0 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#4 of 8 in Padstow
1,438 reviews
3.5 mi away
Treglos Hotel
Treglos Hotel
#1 of 1 in Constantine Bay
395 reviews
2.0 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The St Enodoc Hotel
1.8 mi away
Well Parc Hotel
Well Parc Hotel
#1 of 1 in Trevone
99 reviews
11.6 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Seafood Restaurant Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Seafood Restaurant Accommodation

Property: The Seafood Restaurant Accommodation
Address: Riverside, Padstow PL28 8BY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Padstow
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Padstow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Seafood Restaurant Accommodation 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in one of our 16 rooms at our flagship seafood restaurant and enjoy picturesque views over the harbour and camel estuary.At a glance16 roomsPrivate rooftop terraces (Rooms 5 & 6)Pets accepted (dog friendly in selected rooms)Complimentary bikes available to hireDisabled accessChildren welcome (cots and child beds available on request)Priority restaurant bookings available upon room bookingThe locationOur guest rooms are above The Seafood Restaurant, famous for establishing an international reputation for imaginative cooking of the very freshest fish and shellfish by Rick Stein and head chef Stephane Delourme. BreakfastBreakfast is served in our flagship seafood restaurant with a choice of speciality dishes such as smoked haddock kedgeree, grilled kippers or the classic English breakfast. Or if you prefer, a continental breakfast can be served in your room.Indulgent soakingFor ultimate pampering book our Gulland or St Kew rooms for large stylish bathrooms, powerful showers and free standing baths.Relax and unwindPrivate balconies and views over the beautiful Camel Estuary make the perfect setting for some rest and relaxation.Features and servicesComplimentary Molton Brown toiletriesLaundry and dry cleaning serviceIroning facilities available in roomUse of bathrobesNewspapers available on request (charge payable)Freeview televisionFree wifiTea and coffee making facilities (fresh milk, Origin Coffee, Twinings Tea and Stein’s Patisserie biscuits)Mini barHair dryerSea views (selected rooms)Baby sitting service (charge payable)Dog sitting (charge payable)Beauty treatments available (booked and charged independently) ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Seafood Restaurant Hotel Padstow
Seafood Hotel Padstow
The Seafood Hotel
The Seafood Restaurant Accommodation Padstow, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing