We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptional food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Seafood Restaurant Accommodation

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Padstow
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Seafood Restaurant Accommodation
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Padstow
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Exceptional food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

Our third visit here for lunch and it is outstanding. Staff are all very friendly. Fish is out of this world.
A must if you can.
The set menu is very good value but you could always just have a main course

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Fred G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    92
    45
    24
    6
See reviews for
41
309
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

We only called the day before we were due to arrive, not minding where in "cornwall region" we stayed, I spoke to a lovely young person on phone who informed us i couldnt get two consecutive nights, however, if i was ok with packing our bags and leaving them inside the room they would move us. Very hesitantly we did this. Absolutely fine and we were delighted to be able to enjoy two different rooms. Room 6 is directly above the restaurant and a great room with a huge balcony. No problems with room at all, throughly enjoyed having copies of "Rick Stein" cookbooks to flip though, (signed copies can be purchased through reception) All extra touches were very well thought out and made this stand out as our number 1 spot in UK very romantic. Added bonus was dinner reservation was offered when we booked, this worked out perfect as we only had to walk upstairs after a wonderful meal. Breakfast back in restaurant, glad stayed two nights as choice was great

Room Tip: Room 6 has huge balcony and great bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank davidkerrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

We decided to ignore the detractors and give Mr Stein's Seafood Restaurant a go - both stayed and ate there during our honeymoon. Everything was just perfect - the room was comfy, the staff were friendly and helpful and the restaurant was amazing. Just what we'd expect from Mr Stein.

Padstow is a delightful place - pretty to mooch around - the Seafood Restaurant is right in the centre. It is true, Mr Stein does own pretty much half of the town. But you can see what prosperity the famous neighbour has helped cultivate there.

We couldn't resist visiting his gift shop - as residents of his hotel, we were given a 10% discount for all his other premises, which was a nice touch - as we'd probably have shopped/eated at his other places anyway.

I would recommend Seafood restaurant as both a hotel and restaurant - the meal we had there and the breakfasts were outstanding. It was expensive, but you would expect that from a restauranteur with such a reputation.

I would like to say think you to the staff. On the day of checking out, my husband was taken ill and they were very helpful, allowing us to check out late with no extra charge, which is very unusual, and also offering to help us should he not have been able to leave (alas he recovered quickly but I was hoping to stay longer!!!)

Room Tip: We had room 8 - it wasn't the largest but was plenty big enough with a good sized bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GinaMac123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

Just home from 3 night stay as part of my 3rd Seafood School cookery course. Last stay was Nov 2010. Same room - St Breocks : nice, clean, comfy, minor views of harbour but noise from extracting system. Not a surprise to us as not first visit but can still grate from time to time. Room sells for £185 per night so my mark on room/ value is little lower as I perhaps question this cost.
Hotel & Restaurant staff professional, approachable, courteous and down to earth . The Seafood Restaurant remains remarkable : friendly, unassuming, varied menus. High standard of choice, preparation and your deliberation of dishes May take some time. My meals were simply - Delicious . I will be back at some point... Oh yes!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HarleyButton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
exeter
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Just made our third visit to this restaurant and once again the service was great and the food absolutely delicious, watch out the portions are big so save plenty of room. We can recommend the courgette flowers and also the lobster thermidor, what a wonderful dish, yum!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robynexeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

If you're going to Padstow and you love Seafood then I would say Rick Stein's Seafood Restaurant is a must. On our arrival there we were really impressed with how friendly all of the staff are there, they really cannot do enough for you. For starters we had the Butternut squash rissoto and the Crab starter which were both delicious. For our main courses my fiance fancied the Singapore chilli crab but was a little worried about how she would cope with such a dish. The waiter was superb and put her mind at rest that yes it is a messy dish but oh soooo worth the effort.... if you fancy it you must go for it, it's as tasty as it is spectacular! I had the Indonesian curry with monkfish, squid and prawns which was the tastiest curry I've ever had. The sauce was a delicious creamy mixture of coriander and coconut milk but yet the flavours from the fish still came shining through.
I cannot recommend the restaurant enough..... Yes you will pay more than all of the other restaurants locally (it's more London prices) however with the friendly personal service the staff there give and quality of the food not to mention the extensive wine list make it well worth the visit. Next time in Padstow we most certainly will be returning. Thank you so much to everyone at the Seafood Restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JezLayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

After visiting The Seafood Resteraunt on numerous occasions; the consistency of hospitality, food and service have never faltered. Everything about this resteraunt works like clockwork; from the warn friendly greeting to the fond farewell and all that happens between. This most definitely is our favourite resteraunt in the south west.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Padstow
0.0 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#3 of 8 in Padstow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,362 reviews
3.5 mi away
Treglos Hotel
Treglos Hotel
#1 of 1 in Constantine Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
2.1 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
6.4 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
0.1 mi away
Old Custom House Inn
Old Custom House Inn
#12 of 58 in Padstow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Seafood Restaurant Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Seafood Restaurant Accommodation

Property: The Seafood Restaurant Accommodation
Address: Riverside, Padstow PL28 8BY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Padstow
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Padstow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Seafood Restaurant Accommodation 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in one of our 16 rooms at our flagship seafood restaurant and enjoy picturesque views over the harbour and camel estuary.At a glance16 roomsPrivate rooftop terraces (Rooms 5 & 6)Pets accepted (dog friendly in selected rooms)Complimentary bikes available to hireDisabled accessChildren welcome (cots and child beds available on request)Priority restaurant bookings available upon room bookingThe locationOur guest rooms are above The Seafood Restaurant, famous for establishing an international reputation for imaginative cooking of the very freshest fish and shellfish by Rick Stein and head chef Stephane Delourme. BreakfastBreakfast is served in our flagship seafood restaurant with a choice of speciality dishes such as smoked haddock kedgeree, grilled kippers or the classic English breakfast. Or if you prefer, a continental breakfast can be served in your room.Indulgent soakingFor ultimate pampering book our Gulland or St Kew rooms for large stylish bathrooms, powerful showers and free standing baths.Relax and unwindPrivate balconies and views over the beautiful Camel Estuary make the perfect setting for some rest and relaxation.Features and servicesComplimentary Molton Brown toiletriesLaundry and dry cleaning serviceIroning facilities available in roomUse of bathrobesNewspapers available on request (charge payable)Freeview televisionFree wifiTea and coffee making facilities (fresh milk, Origin Coffee, Twinings Tea and Stein’s Patisserie biscuits)Mini barHair dryerSea views (selected rooms)Baby sitting service (charge payable)Dog sitting (charge payable)Beauty treatments available (booked and charged independently) ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Seafood Restaurant Hotel Padstow
Seafood Hotel Padstow
The Seafood Hotel
The Seafood Restaurant Accommodation Padstow, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing