We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comfortable and excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Woodlands Country House
Ranked #11 of 55 Padstow B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We recently enjoyed an excellent stay at the Woodlands Country House, it is a beautiful house and is nicely located just outside Padstow.

We were greeted by Pippa, who showed us all the various bits and pieces we needed to know, our room was very comfortable indeed with pleasant views over looking the farmland towards the sea.

As other people have mentioned, breakfast is something to savour for sure, all freshly cooked with a whole variety of other cereals, fruits and home baked banana bread, it is a meal in itself and sets you up for the day nicely - lunch maybe not required!

It was all very peaceful and quiet there, just how we like it, although Padstow is a very small town, the town centre can get a little noisy with all the tourists and day trippers, so the Woodlands is a nice retreat just outside.

The town is just under a mile away, which is an easy 20 minute walk.

We would certainly lover to return to the Woodlands in the future!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulW_Bmth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HugePerson, Owner at Woodlands Country House, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Thank you for the nice comments. Our restaurant friends might get a little miffed that we feed you up at breakfast and you may forgo lunch!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (232)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 232 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2012

We had a lovely weekend at Woodlands County House. Pippa and Hugo who are the owners were extremely welcoming and the rooms were beautiful with views of the sea round the coast from Padstow. Breakfast was delicious, with lots of home made preserves and Hugo's famous museli. We would like to return again in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GMM50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stayed here with our 2 year old and all our needs were catered for. Wonderful hosts and staff, nothing is too much trouble. Very clean. Breakfast was outstanding. We stayed in the Beach Room which was so spacious, the three of us could have slept in the bathroom if we had wanted to!! Lovely views and quiet room. All in all a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eviesm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HugePerson, Owner at Woodlands Country House, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2012

Thank you for your lovely review. It is always a pleasure having little children staying with us, especially one who is so well behaved, he was charming.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

We received a warm welcome from Pippa on arrival and I was stunned by the beauty of the house - the photos can't do it justice. We stayed in the Jade Room which was romantic and luxurious; not to mention the best tub ever with views across the countryside to the sea! The blue room is perfect for enjoying a drink from the honesty bar before heading out for dinner and so elegant. Breakfast was glorious and full of excellent produce. I cannot fault this place - we will return! Tip - Padstow is hellish in the summer holidays so try visiting out of season.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wondagirll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HugePerson, Owner at Woodlands Country House, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Thank you for the kind comments and we are delighted you enjoyed yourselves in The Jade Room. Padstow can be very 'buzzy' in the summer holidays but you can get away from it here at Woodlands Country House. Padstow can be 'buzzy' most of the year, come to that! We are only half a mile/ 15 minutes walk from the harbour and parking here is free, and much quieter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Easy to find, comfortable rooms, made to feel welcome. Nice modern bath/shower rooms. Beds had duvets- (definite tick), real milk as well as local produce on tea tray in our room. EXCELLENT breakfast. Very nice owners. 5* for customer service and comfort. We will be back and hopefully bringing the sun with us next time.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

One night stay at this charming B&B. The full Cornish breakfast was amazing. We stayed in the Bay room which was comfy and clean. Nice touch with the bathrobes and toiletries. We drove to Padstow, where there was lots to do and see, especially eating!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KL33333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

Woodlands Country House is elegant, spotless, and wonderfully situated. We stayed there for four nights in June and loved the atmosphere. We walked down into Padstow each day and found the walk very pleasant. At night the free parking lot at the top of the hill with a path and steps into the town is a very convenient option for those concerned about walking home in the dark.Our room was lovely and spacious(the Beach room), the bed extremely comfortable, and the views of the water and grazing sheep and farmlands almost idyllic. The legendary breakfasts indeed deserve their reputation. As a vegetarian, I was delighted by the healthy array of fresh fruit salad, soya milk, and marvelous home made banana bread, berry compote, whole grain breads, and many other delicious items, including the many options for the cooked breakfasts. Both my husband and I really enjoyed our stay and Pippa and Hugo's hospitality. This B and B is in a class of its own. We will definitely be back!
Ann Arbor, Michigan USA

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pol892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Padstow
0.9 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#4 of 8 in Padstow
1,500 reviews
2.5 mi away
Treglos Hotel
Treglos Hotel
#1 of 1 in Constantine Bay
415 reviews
1.9 mi away
The St Enodoc Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Old Mill House
The Old Mill House
#2 of 55 in Padstow
232 reviews
0.9 mi away
Old Custom House Inn
Old Custom House Inn
#13 of 55 in Padstow
592 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Harlyn Inn
The Harlyn Inn
#26 of 55 in Padstow
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodlands Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlands Country House

Address: Treator, Padstow PL28 8RU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Padstow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Padstow
Price Range: $148 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Woodlands Country House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woodlands Country House is a comfortable bed and breakfast guesthouse, a large Victorian house standing in a rural setting with farmland views, sweeping down to Trevone Bay and the coastline. There are eight en-suite double and/or twin rooms all individually and stylishly decorated - four Standard rooms, four Premier rooms. There is an honesty bar in the guest sitting room and outside; a car park and gardens. In the morning enjoy our famous Cornish breakfast. Accommodation with breakfast with a touch of splendor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Woodlands Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Country House Padstow, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing