We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful traditional hotel”
Review of Metropole Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Metropole Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Padstow
Reviewed August 10, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights. Our room was clean, extremely comfortable and well equipped with a sitting area and the most wonderful views of the estuary and harbour. The bathroom also had a bath and the walk in shower we need. The hotel's public areas were spotlessly clean. We only had breakfast in the hotel which was freshly cooked to order and delicious. All the staff were efficient, helpful and friendly. We had a great stay.
We paid full price as we book well in advance in order to get the facilities we need which was not cheap but there are last minute deals on the hotel website.
If you want to be picky then there are some areas which are ready for refurbishment but nowhere was sub-standard. Go with the flow and you will have a fabulous time as we did.

Room Tip: If you can do book a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Happywanderer93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa H, General Manager at Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2014

Dear Happywanderer93,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am so pleased you had such a great stay with us. I will, of course, have great pleasure in passing on your thanks to everyone here.

Thank you for your comments regarding the hotel, as you rightly say, some areas are in need of refurbishment but I am pleased you found nothing sub-standard and the hotel and your room were all spotlessly clean.

Thank you once again

Kind regards

Melissa Harris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,522)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

802 - 808 of 1,522 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2014

Just returned from a walking holiday, staying at The Metropole. As a single traveller it's important to feel welcomed and safe. All the staff were extremely friendly and efficient. The breakfast experience was very good and they always endeavoured to sit me on a window table overlooking the estuary.
The location is superb and very handy for the south coastal path. Take the ferry over to Rock for a walk through the dunes and make the effort to go up to Pentire Point as the views are stunning. In the opposite direction (on the Padstow side) the walk is more rugged but still pretty easy. Paths are well marked ... go as far as you want and either walk back or get the bus.
Overall a great trip, the beach is really easy to get to and it's massive, clean with amazing water ... Good for paddling tired limbs in! Love Padstow & the Metropole

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CeeBissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2014

After visiting Padstow yearly for decades & always admiring the hotel, we treated ourselves to one night before returning home after a long weekend in Cornwall. We were not disappointed. Sadly as we booked last minute we could not have a room with a seaview, but the room we had was clean & comfortable with all the usual little extras, including a fan which was of great benefit as our room was at the top of the hotel with small window. Breakfast was one of the best we have experienced with an extensive choice. Staff were friendly & eager to help.

Room Tip: Please ignore hotel ratings, could not get this to work, all were excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lorraine I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

This hotel has a great history, fantastic location, but the experience is bland.

There is always a shortage of places to stay at peak times and I guess the company trade on that, shame really as It could be a gem of a place.

Getting shabby round the edges, needs a revamp and someone who has some flair to run it.

Lots of culinary rosettes on the wall, but didn't reflect our stay

Room Tip: Top floor rooms don't have much ventilation, hence the fan in the wardrobe
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2014

We have just returned from a few days in Padstow staying at the Metropole. This was our third stay at this hotel. The place is very pleasant and we had a room overlooking the estuary which is beautiful. The hotel is right next to Rick Stein's restaurant but that is not the best thing about the Metropole. The best part is their own restaurant. The food is as good as the view. The food is well presented and just delicious to eat. Every plate was a picture. The chef has been winning awards for ten years and he deserves them all.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JackyD3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2014

The hotel room rate is very expensive for a small bedroom, the bathroom was dirty with dust and grime both on the pipes on the floor in the bathroom and marks on the walls of some description ! !
Breakfast was good however but the overall price was far too expensive at £214 for BB. Generally very disappointed and the rooms and hotel need a refurb desperately

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

Well I don't know where to start. After reading the 4 and 5 star reviews for this superbly situated hotel, my partner and I looked forward to finishing a busy weeks holiday with 2 days of luxury in Padstow's premier accommodation. We could not have been more disappointed. Even at £200 per night we only got the smallest most basic room, with a bath so tiny only a child could fit in it, and an industrial air conditioning unit outside our window so loud we could only sleep for a couple of hours. No air con in the room either , so we had to choose between boiling hot room or noise pollution - and the sheets and bedding were so small (old?) that they barely covered the bed. The hotel was also dirty and run down, poor in service, and generally in need of bringing into the 21st century from both a decoration and a customer experience perspective. On the plus side after airing out disappointment to the duty manager we were moved to a "premier" room at no cost. Still, this was a huge let down overall. Someone please give this place the makeover it deserves!

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank Technojazzbro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Padstow
3.4 mi away
Treglos Hotel
Treglos Hotel
#1 of 1 in Constantine Bay
417 reviews
2 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
974 reviews
1 mi away
The St Enodoc Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
1.7 mi away
Well Parc Hotel
Well Parc Hotel
#1 of 1 in Trevone
109 reviews
4 mi away
Travelodge Wadebridge
Travelodge Wadebridge
#2 of 4 in Wadebridge
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropole Hotel

Address: Station Road, Padstow PL28 8DB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Padstow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Padstow
Price Range: $117 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Metropole Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pride of Padstow Located in one of the most enviable positions on the north Cornwall coast, the Metropole offers stunning sea and harbour views, traditional style bedrooms and delicious AA rosette dining in the Harbour Restaurant. Complete with an outdoor pool and spa treatments, enjoy a truly Cornish welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Padstow, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing