We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shame about breakfast”
Review of Metropole Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Metropole Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Padstow
Portsmouth, England
1 review
“Shame about breakfast”
Reviewed November 15, 2008

This hotel is as good as you will find in Padstow. I booked a month before we arrived and decided to upgrade to a premier room so i phoned back and done so only to arrive and be told we were in a standard double. Luckily they had a room which opened up onto the garden for us.

It was a bit old fashioned but very spacious with a hugh bed and lovely bathroom. The one thing that let the room down was the poor cleaning (cobwebs over the patio doors and hanging from both light fittings).

We had booked on a half board basis and the food both evenings was the highlight of our stay. The service in the restaurant was very attentive, the menu had a good choice and the food itself superb. I am a chef myself and this was one of the best fine dining experiences i have had.

The breakfast though was a different matter. They have a very good selection on the buffet table but the breakfasts from the kitchen we had were just disgusting. The cooked breakfast i ordered the first morning was presented very well but had bacon so over cooked and dry i could snap it in half, the worst excuse for a sausage i have ever seen which was completly black and scrambled egg which looked like it was made from powded eggs (if such a thing exists?) It was unedable apart from the tomato! The porridge my partner had both mornings had raw oats and was completly unsweetened. Considering what a great chef they must have it is a shame he is not aware of the slop that the inept breakfast chef is serving.
Also on our final mourning we were completly forgoten about at breakfast and even after reminding the head waiter/maitre'd it wasn't untill after we had finished eating our breakfast and was about to leave that i got my coffee. All the waiters seemed pre occupied looking at something on the wall near the kitchen (maybe the rota). Not what you expect in a four Star hotel.

On the whole we enjoyed our stay and would probably return if we were paying out of season rates. Not worth 4 star prices unless dinner is included.

  • Liked — Evening Dinner
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MAX_J16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    570
    512
    203
    83
    49
See reviews for
179
935
27
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (504)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Maidenhead, UK
Level Contributor
517 reviews
193 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 388 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2008

Great location, easy to find, easy to park (Tip- there is MUCH more room to park in the back, go through the archway)

The hotel has been decorated in parts, some other parts are just waiting to be done, or have new carpets put in.

Bar area is small, service can be a bit slow.

Restaurant large, OK, very good quality of dinner, which was a nice surprise.

Bed quality and size poor in today's standards.
Two cracked window panes in the bedroom, leaking toilet (floor always wet) and dripping water noise in the ceiling!
The lift - goodness, hold on tight when you are in it! When you try it, you will know what I mean.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank expectant customer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2008

We used to like this hotel, we have stayed there previously and always thought that the service was not as good as the other Richardson hotels, the staff are quite dismissive and not very friendly, but we always loved the views and the convenience of the location. We stayed in the hotel in November 2007 and had the worst weekend of our lives. Firstly the room was dirty, the shower didnt work and the staff were just as rude as always. We ate in the restaurant. In the middle of Saturday night my husband started being very ill, throwing up. He was too ill to go dowm to breakfast. I went down by myself and noticed there was hardly anyone at breakfast and the people who were there were sat on their own. My husband was too ill to check out by 11am, so I asked reception if we could delay our check out. They told me that many of the guests were ill that morning and environmental health were on their way. Their attitude was that this was a real nuisance, especially as there were other guests checking into our room later that day. They were unfriendly and rude and offered no help or sympathy. A few hours later, my husband was desperate to get home, so we tired to get him in the car, he was still being sick, so I asked for a container for the journey home. They reception staff acted as if him, and 30 other guests, being sick was such an inconvenience to their day. They didnt offer to help with our bags or help him into the car. There were puddles of sick on the floor outside our room, on the stairs and in reception. No-one said sorry or offered any explanation. I started being sick not long after, so we had to check in to another hotel in Cornwall rather than go home, as neither of us could drive. I phoned the hotel the next week to find out what had caused the outbreak and was told that environmental health had said it was norovirus. Both of us were off work for a week. The hotel offered no apology or tried to contact us to see how we were. I understand that these things may happen, but it was the attitude of the staff and the management which really upset us, as we were made to feel that it was our fault that we were so sick and inconveniencing the staff. Our room was needed for other guests, so we had to get out, they just wanted rid of us. They did not close the hotel even though people had been so ill. It was a really horrible experience and we havent been to Padstow since and definitely will never stay at the Metropole or any other Richardson hotel again, as we could never forget the sight of so many people throwing up or the way that the staff treated us.

  • Stayed November 2007
    • Value
Helpful?
2 Thank Lol1_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taunton somerset
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2008

We were part of a large group that enjoyed a 4 night stay at this excellent hotel.Everybody enjoyed the break which was greatly enhanced by the service delivered by all the staff.
Our room had been tastefully refurbished and was very comfortable.
We dined every night in the very stylish restaurant overlooking the picturesque harbour/bay and in a town where Rick Stein has set the 'standard',the Head Chef and his team created great dishes which competed well with all comers.
ALL the staff were brilliant and it was so good to see a General Manager 'hands on' in the restaurant with a genuine desire to please.

We will return to this special hotel.

  • Liked — overall ambience
  • Disliked — poor water pressure
  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dudval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southampton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 11, 2008

This is an absolute gem of a hotel, after booking I read these reviews and was worried however from the minute we arrived everything was great. Brilliant position in centre of Padstow overlooking the harbour but quiet .Friendly efficient check in , complementory tea or coffee with home made biscuits was offered in the bar which has the most fantastic views. Our room was a premier sea view and was massive,leading out to the terrace through french doors. Very comfortable with character and charm that you dont find in modern hotels. The room was perfectly clean as was the bathroom and I am fussy . The dinner and breakfast were the best we had while in Cornwall,as were the views and service and yes we could compare as we did eat at many of the "famous eateries"!!! The atmosphere here is so friendly and relaxed we loved it...so much that we stayed another night on our way back through Cornwall at the end of the week. This time only a standard room was available . The room was lovely, ok no view but the public areas are so comfortable you dont spend any time in the room ( and believe me I usually stay in my room most of the time). Again the food and service were excellent. The outside pool was great fun and the lounge had a trunk full of toys and games for the kids and some interesting books for me.To sum up if you like stuffy ,modern, uniform hotels then this may not be for you, however if great food , relaxed atmosphere, comfort and charm are your thing you will love it.

  • Liked — position, parking, food , service
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sue1004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2008

The good stuff first: Terrific location and a huge car park, which was a definite benefit in Padstow. The view is great* (T&C apply - see below). Top class website, which would have you believing this is a Westin hotel. The service was, at its best, acceptable.

Now the disappointments: Vastly overpriced: at £165-170 per night, (thats $340!!) one expected more than a 100sq foot cramped room, with a "view" of the parking lot (best to check while booking), and poor overall service (esp. the charming ladies at the bar who spent several minutes chewing on their breadrolls rather than taking drinks orders).

Overall, would fully expect this sort of hotel in the £90-120 range in a generally overpriced town like Padstowe, but at this price point, its just extortionate.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank popatlalshah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2008

Selected this hotel due to its location, its parking facilities and its impressive website, and all I can say is that it was thoroughly disappointing. At £170 a night I expected a special hotel. On arrival the car park was full, which meant using the overspill which was nearly impossible to get into, and took even more effort to get out of. Had an estuary view premier room, the view would have been gorgeous if the windows had been cleaned this year, but the room was a mess, the bed was not double by any standards and all the furnishings needed to be replaced. The final straw was when I put two towels to be washed and later that evening discovered that they had been taken out of the bath, folded in the opposite direction and replaced on the towel rail!!! So no clean towels for us!!! The breakfast was nice, but the restaurant could have done with a clean between the evening meal and breakfast... The gardens left a little to be desired, however a sign outside the hotel suggested they are planning on replacing the garden with a heli pad. It was overpriced, over rated and I will not be wasting money there a second time.

  • Liked — central location
  • Disliked — it was tatty/dirty
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank taylorann3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Padstow
3.4 mi away
Treglos Hotel
Treglos Hotel
#1 of 1 in Constantine Bay
390 reviews
2.0 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
931 reviews
10.9 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The St Enodoc Hotel
19.4 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
1,334 reviews
1.8 mi away
Well Parc Hotel
Well Parc Hotel
#1 of 1 in Trevone
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropole Hotel

Property: Metropole Hotel
Address: Station Road, Padstow PL28 8DB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Padstow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Padstow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Metropole Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pride of Padstow Located in one of the most enviable positions on the north Cornwall coast, the Metropole offers stunning sea and harbour views, traditional style bedrooms and delicious AA rosette dining in the Harbour Restaurant. Complete with an outdoor pool and spa treatments, enjoy a truly Cornish welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Padstow, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing