We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant only review”
Review of Metropole Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Metropole Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Padstow
Reviewed April 20, 2014

The dining room is very pleasant with lovely views over the estuary. The staff are friendly and the service is good. We had the set menu and found the food to be excellent and very good value for money considering what you can pay in other restaurants in Padstow. The atmosphere is somewhat staid. This hotel is in an excellent spot and would be worth modernising in such a way as to not lose its character. If management want some ideas have a look at what they have done with the Godolphin Arms in Marazion near Penzance.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Pernicketyann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,469)
There are newer reviews for Metropole Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

798 - 804 of 1,469 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2014

Booked a double room bed and breakfast for one night £150, arrived and the hotel looks tired and in need of updating. Incredibly warm, and this was only at easter, i would hate to stay here in summer. Entered the room, which was cleanish - corners needed attention and mildew in tile grout in bathroom, wallpaper lifting. Windows only opened a few inches so the room was uncomfortably warm. Seems like the hotel knows its unbearably warm as an ancient desk fan is provided that was so old and noisy it effectively did nothing. Pillows dreadful, clearly some cheap ones that even with two they compacted to barely nothing!

Drinks were expensive and paid £3 for a small bowl of bulk buy catering chips! Did not dine at the hotel. Breakfast next morning was a tiny continental buffet, with very poor selection and dry pastries etc. There was a menu on the table indicating that a full english breakfast was £14.95! There was no indication whether this was an extra charge or included and the waitress made no effort to explain. We were so disappointed with the hotel at this stage that we just left and walked 5 mins into padstow and dined at Rick Stein's cafe who provided a full english, toast and tea/coffee for £10 and it was delish!

Will not stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BexH46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Just returned from a two night B&B break. I agree with others that yes it is a bit dated but worried that if it was updated it would loose the charm and character it currently has? We had a standard double room which was very comfortable but unfortunately the window rattled all night and kept me awake for most of the night. The following morning I asked at reception if we could have a different room which the receptionist sorted right away.The food was of a very high standard but what really impressed me about this hotel were the staff. They were ALL amazing .......... nothing was too much trouble and they made us feel very special throughout our stay. Special mention must go to the Spanish waitress who was exceptional and always had a huge smile on her face !! I would definitely return for the excellent service.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gwen194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

the views from the hotel are absolutely stunning looking out over the camel estuary . the food is of a very high standard at both breakfast and in the evening with an excellent choices to suit every pallet . the rooms are very comfortable and extremely well kitted out .
a leisurely walk into the centre of padstow takes no more than a few minutes where there is plenty of seating to relax and watch the world go by .
the metropole is well worth a visit and for what you get is very good value for money

Room Tip: a room with a sea view . its worth the little bit extra on the bill
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephenjunemason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Had a 3 night DB&B break Food was well cooked, tasty and served well. Staff all very polite, professional & helpful.
Our was on the 1st floor with a harbour & sea veiw. Yes it could do with an update it was clean & tidy. Guest who made poor reviews must be very hard to please.
This Hotel Hotel has been in Padstow for a good many years serving some very well known guest reading its history.
We would certainly return having experienced a warm welcome and stay.
Would agree it could do with a make over, it cerainly is clean and as for saying the smell of disinfectant when you pass the tpilets what do you expect when they have just been cleaned ?

Room Tip: Our room 5 was on the 1 st Floor. A veiw of the harbour & the sea. A little dated but clean &...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We have visited Cornwall many times and have always looked wistfully at The Metropole standing so grand overlooking Padstow. The location in Padstow is perfect as are the views from the dining room.
We arrived and were excited and check in was smooth. We were then disappointed once we got to our room as our room really didn't feel like a 4* hotel. The decor is out-dated and needs freshening up, our room decor was nothing like the brochure pictures and the bathroom was certainly not that of a usual 4* hotel with a plywood painted bath panel. The room could have been cleaner for example the hair dryer drawer had hair and crumbs in which made me not want to use the hair dryer and again just made me feel we were paying for 4* but were actually getting a 4* location not room. We enjoyed our stay in Padstow but this hotel is tired and needs some money spending to feel like the 4* experience we have come to expect. We wouldn't stay again for this reason.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Kooky12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Just returned from a 2 night stay. Despite arriving 3 hours before the allowed check in, 1 room was ready the other was made ready within 10 minutes, whilst we had our complementary teas and coffees. Views were stunning, staff really friendly and couldn't be more helpful. We'd phoned requesting a cab for the Sunday night as soon as we checked in they confirmed cab was ordered.the hotel does need an update, wi-fi is patchy, but we were in padstow for a break so was not essential. We will definitely return for a 3rd stay!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
Thank Nicole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Padstow
3.4 mi away
Treglos Hotel
Treglos Hotel
#1 of 1 in Constantine Bay
407 reviews
2.0 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
957 reviews
1.7 mi away
Well Parc Hotel
Well Parc Hotel
#1 of 1 in Trevone
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
1,381 reviews
11.6 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
1.0 mi away
The St Enodoc Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropole Hotel

Address: Station Road, Padstow PL28 8DB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Padstow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Padstow
Price Range: $143 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Metropole Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pride of Padstow Located in one of the most enviable positions on the north Cornwall coast, the Metropole offers stunning sea and harbour views, traditional style bedrooms and delicious AA rosette dining in the Harbour Restaurant. Complete with an outdoor pool and spa treatments, enjoy a truly Cornish welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Padstow, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing