We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed with rooms standard.very outdated..”
Review of Metropole Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Metropole Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Padstow
Reviewed October 25, 2013

This was to be a 4 day trip to Padstow and a surprise for my Husbands Birthday to go to Rick Steins. But when we got to our room I was so disappointed as the room looked so dated I felt quite embarrassed at my choice of Hotel and wanted to cry as he had utterly spoilt me when it was mine.
I wanted to check out there and then and book elsewhere, but was given a different room choice which was better.
In keeping with the age of the hotel, I understand a modern look would spoil it but I also believe the bedrooms need to be updated as they look shabby, and the bed quilts are tucked like those in Travel Lodge !!!
So for us another trip will be planned but not at the Metropole.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deedles01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa H, General Manager at Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Dear Deedles01,

Thank you for your review but I am sorry your stay wasnt a more pleasurable one.

We are in the process of refurbishing our rooms and more work is due to commence in the coming weeks. I am glad we were able to offer you an alternative room that was more suitable for you.

I do hope that you may revisit sometime in the future so we can show what improvements we have made.

Many thanks

Melissa Harris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,513)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

925 - 931 of 1,513 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2013

This was a midweek week break through some offer -can't remember from where
Old hotel but comfortable
Our offer included a bottle of wine but we were really pleased to get a free cream tea overlooking the harbour
The evening meal was really nice and service excellent especially as I had broken my collar bone and could only use the wrong arm so they kindly provided a spoon for me!
Breakfast menu was excellent where you could really spoil yourself

Overall the hotel is "traditional" with fantastic views from the restaurant but if you want it from the room you"l&l need to pay that little bit more

Room Tip: Spend a bit more to get a sea view if you want to spend time in the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Damian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa H, General Manager at Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Dear damien c,

Thank you for your kind review.

I am pleased you were able to take up one of our special offers and you enjoyed your cream tea overlooking the fantastic views.

Im glad the staff could look after you and I hope we may be able to do so again soon.

Thank you and kind regards

Melissa Harris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We are regulars at this hotel and take advantage of their break offers at least once a year. We took a late September 4 day break and it was brilliant, this is our favorite Richardson hotel. Everything at the hotel is excellent, especially the food. Car parking can be difficult at times do to the popularity of hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kfj_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa H, General Manager at Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Dear kfj_7,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us.

I am pleased that being a regular guest with us, the team are still achieving such good standards and I am delighted that we are your favourite Richardson Hotel!

We look forward to seeing you again next year!

Kind regards

Melissa Harris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Recently my wife and I took advantage of a special offer price break at the Metropole Hotel Padstow , We have stayed at the hotel several times before, even before it was purchased by the Richardson Chain and we both had a most enjoyable relaxing stay, the standard and presentation of the evening meal was excellent and breakfast was more than adequate, All staff made efforts to please us and house keeping was also to a very good standard. The hotel stands in a magnificent position over looking the harbour with views across to Rock which of course all adds to your stay,PS don't forget to take binoculars

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ken E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa H, General Manager at Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Dear ken E,

Thank you for your lovely review.

We are in a fantastic position and we are able to boast some fabulous views, even after may years, I certainly dont tire of the view!

I am delighted you enjoyed the food and that everyone here was able to make your stay a relaxing one. I hope it wont be too long before we are able to welcome you back again.

Many thanks

Melissa Harris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Another enjoyable break at the Metropole. Our room was excellent with magnificent views – the bed was a little hard for us but the attentiveness and warmth of the staff more than made up for this and enhanced what was a super holiday. The food was delicious and beautifully presented as always and we particularly enjoyed the breakfasts which were always freshly cooked to order. We hope to be back again before too long. We have been staying at the hotel for over 25 years now and do feel that the present management are doing a great job

Room Tip: Spend the extra on a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heliman1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa H, General Manager at Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Dear heliman1998,

Thank you so much for your lovely review.

What a pleasure to read and be able to pass on such great comments especially since you know the hotel so well and after 25 years I hope that we can still impove on every visit.

We do have a fantastic team who work so hard, I will have great pleasure in passing on your kind feedback.

Many thanks and kind regards

Melissa Harris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

My wife and I stayed at The Metropole for a further 5 nights during mid October – having enjoyed our time at the hotel at the end of April [See review dated 10th May 2013].

As with that visit, we found the hotel to be very comfortable – with some areas having been re-carpeted and redecorated. Housekeeping is extremely good, and Premier rooms overlook the harbour and lovely estuary.

Food was again of a very high standard. As I said in my previous report, in our opinion the eating experience at The Metropole is at least on a par with other Padstow restaurants. Food allergies and intolerances are well catered for by the chefs and restaurant staff.

There is not a lot to add to my previous review – except to say that the friendliness, professionalism and helpfulness of the staff throughout the hotel and restaurant is hard to better.

The on going refurbishment of this beautiful Victorian building enables us to upgrade our review to 5 star for this visit.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WGS55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa H, General Manager at Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Dear WGS55,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted that we were able to you welcome you back once again and that you were looked after by all the staff including our marvellous team of Chefs who do produce some of the best food around!

I am pleased that you have seen the difference since your visit in May with regards to the refurbishment that is in progress and we very much look forward to welcoming you back soon and showing what more we have achieved.

Many thanks

Melissa Harris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We came back to this hotel after a 2 year break, and were given the same inland two bedroom as we had before. The room was comfortable and roomy and clean, but it cost us over twice as much as before!!! The service in the restaurant was awful ( 20 minutes wait between each course). When we went to the lounge afterwards for our coffee there was no where to sit, the second lounge was locked up for what reason we don't know. Considering what we were charged for a 3 night stay this was far from what we expected. If the hotel is catering for coach parties as well as guests they should at least have the correct number of staff employed there. We will not be going back to that particular Richardson hotel, such a shame as it really is in a wonderful position in Padstow and could offer so much more (a reasonable tariff would help)

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bulldog1063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa H, General Manager at Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dear bulldog1063,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your stay back in September.

I am sorry that your return visit was not a more pleasurable one especially having enjoyed your previous stay with us.

September is still a very busy time of year not just with us but also in Padstow but in no way should that have impacted on the service you recieved and I apologise for that.

I do hope that you would consider returning to us. We do have special offers running throughout the year that you might find of interest especially as the winter offers are extremely good value for money. Should you wish to discuss them or anything else concerning your stay, please do contact me at the hotel.

Many thanks and kind regards

Melissa Harris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Padstow
3.4 mi away
Treglos Hotel
Treglos Hotel
#1 of 1 in Constantine Bay
417 reviews
2.0 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
969 reviews
1.0 mi away
The St Enodoc Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
11.6 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
1.7 mi away
Well Parc Hotel
Well Parc Hotel
#1 of 1 in Trevone
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropole Hotel

Address: Station Road, Padstow PL28 8DB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Padstow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Padstow
Price Range: $121 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Metropole Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pride of Padstow Located in one of the most enviable positions on the north Cornwall coast, the Metropole offers stunning sea and harbour views, traditional style bedrooms and delicious AA rosette dining in the Harbour Restaurant. Complete with an outdoor pool and spa treatments, enjoy a truly Cornish welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Padstow, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing