We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Creaking fllorboards”
Review of Metropole Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Metropole Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Padstow
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Athe usual good experience was spoilt by the creaking floorboards in ROOM 54 which is one of the newly refurbished ones. This was a real shame as everything else was its usual good standard. There was not one area in either the room or the bathroom where you had to walk that did not creak... i felt sorry for anyone in the room beneath us as they must have thought that we were about to come through the celing....

Room Tip: 3rd floor have good views out the front... avoid room 54!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zabata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,535)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,093 - 1,099 of 1,535 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2013

Our first visit to The Metropole and exactly what we needed. Great staff, welcoming fires, hearty breakfast with the best view in Padstow, and our spaniel made to feel very much at home. All this and only 300 yards from The Seafood Restaurant! Heaven.

Room Tip: If you have a dog ask for a ground floor room which has French doors opening onto the lawn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Howard1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Our third year back at the Metropole & yet again it was amazing. The staff are so friendly & helpful,the food just incredible! We stayed in a premium room this time,it was amazing. Cant wait to go back again.

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms are a must!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynn m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Spent a long weekend last week at The Metropole, Padstow with friends, having enjoyed other Richardson hotels. Friendly helpful service throughout with real people working there - no standard hotel/restaurant clichés.

Glorious view from the room of Padstow bay - it was four bright sunny but cold days, which naturally helped. Hotel and rooms are somewhat faded glory but doesn't detract from a pleasent stay unless you are there for the decor. Just a flight of steps from the back garden down to Rick Stein's Seafood Restaurant if you are planning to eat there (which we did).

The Metropole Restaurant is very good value and quality - especially if you book one of the deals including breakfast and dinner, in advance - a huge saving - although set dinner is a very fair price for the quality.

Overall a very pleasent experience and really good value for money if you book one of the offers

Generally plenty of free parking at hotel but a daytime conference on Saturday caused gridlock but I am sure this won't happen in the future. I like hotels that give precedence in parking to resident guests.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms really worth it for beautiful seaside locations
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank telgas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Birthday treat for my partner and six friends we went online to find the hotel who were doing
BB and evening meal the Metropole fitted our requirements and from the time we booked to the time we left it was all excellent. Staff, food, Hotel all Five Star. Other hotels could learn a lot by their management spending a weekend at this superb hotel

Room Tip: Sea view preferred
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clive E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We chose this hotel from the Internet and as we were taking 6 friends with us we were anxious about the quality of the hotel. We were not disappointed! Our rooms were beautiful; all had sea views and were decorated tastefully. The rooms were warm and cosy (it was freezing cold outside)! The food was more than excellent it was brilliant. What can I say about the staff? - all without exception were polite, willing, friendly and very hardworking. We will be back ASAP!,

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
Thank catrose2302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We have stayed here a few times, most recently for a night in feb as we were eating out in town and wanted a hotel within walking distance of all that padstow has to offer. The room (50) was spacious and clean, probably could do with a little freshen up but nothing too bad, the only down side was the shower, I've been caught in heavier rain showers than this one!! I know power showers are not the norm but this had no power at all, it was barely a drip and unable to wash hair properly, luckily there's is a bath so there is a solution I do wonder if other rooms suffer the same issues?
There was plenty of room for our 7yr old daughter on a sofa bed and the room was really quiet at night even though it was at the front( previously had rooms at rear over kitchen fan which was noisier)
Breakfast was delicious with plenty of choice inc croissants , yoghurt and fresh fruits plus cooked items, all enjoyed with a fab view.
The bar areas/lounge are are little worn but I can imagine keeping on top of this place must be a mammoth task and it did not distract from our stay, will certainly be using this hotel time and time again
Staff are really friendly and welcoming too which adds to your stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Owners2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Padstow
3.4 mi away
Treglos Hotel
Treglos Hotel
#1 of 1 in Constantine Bay
417 reviews
2 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
980 reviews
1 mi away
The St Enodoc Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
1.7 mi away
Well Parc Hotel
Well Parc Hotel
#1 of 1 in Trevone
110 reviews
19.4 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
1,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropole Hotel

Address: Station Road, Padstow PL28 8DB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Padstow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Padstow
Price Range: $126 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Metropole Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pride of Padstow Located in one of the most enviable positions on the north Cornwall coast, the Metropole offers stunning sea and harbour views, traditional style bedrooms and delicious AA rosette dining in the Harbour Restaurant. Complete with an outdoor pool and spa treatments, enjoy a truly Cornish welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Padstow, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing