We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Metropole Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Metropole Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Padstow
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

Myself and my partner had a lovely 2 night stay. Our room was described as box basic, but was so lovely It should have been described at much more! The staff are friendly, and the outlook is nice at breakfast. The only thing that wasn't good was that our room was too hot. We were boiling and the window wouldn't open without a key....with a buzz down to reception they got someone to open the window for us and they gave us a fan. I would recommend this Hotel to anyone staying in Padstow. Great for couples and old friends.

Room Tip: There is WIFI points on all floors however does not work on 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    557
    495
    197
    82
    49
See reviews for
176
909
24
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (494)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bath
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

This was our first time at the Metropole in Padstow and we were pleasantly surprised. The two things that stood out was the dinner on our first night which was fabulous and the beauty treatment in the new spa room. I thought I had already had the best facial when I holidayed in Dubai a few years ago but Jessica was incredible and stands out as an excellent beautician. She has magic fairy hands and was utterly charming......what an asset to the Metropole.

Thank you

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough Hants
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the hotel only one night in order to attend a function being held there.

The staff could not have been more attentive and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble, and the high morale the staff was obvious.

The hotel is one of those good "old fashioned" types, where the guests needs come first and foremost. So what if the decorators need to put a lick of paint here and there.(I am being picky here, because the need is not great).

Superbly comfortabe rooms, with the comfiest bed I have ever slept in ( apart from the one at home that is!).

The food was as everyone says excellent, and although our function was attended by some 120 people, service was in this case adequate rather than exemplary, due to a lack of staff numbers.
By my calculations the hotel was about 6 waiting staff short, but noone starved and we all got our dishes as they were meant to be.

My breakfast was FULL of goodies and there was enough to keep me going until almost tea time without starvation setting in, but one guest could not find anything positive to say about this (or anything at allto do with the hotel, but there is always one moaner, is there not?

Great situation overlooking the harbour with good public rooms. These were handy as the rain and gales were doing their best to waste the weekend for us. Plenty of boxed games to keep us occupied.)

I will happily stay at this hotel again, and enjoy good food, warm friendly service wnd the convenienc of being close to Padstow centre.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Haggismacsporran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben_Young_RGM, General Manager at Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Haggismacsporran

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review, I am extremely grateful and I will enjoy discussing it with all the team.

We do aim to offer the highest of standards of customer care and service and therefore we strive to employ staff for their attitude first and foremost - a genuine desire to please our guests is vital and should be natural, rather then false!

I will be investigating your comments on the function service as, although under pressure, I would still expect the team to offer a great standard of service.

I do hope we will have the pleasure of your patronage again in the future.

Kind regards

Ben Young
Regional Manager
Richardson Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

We have been going to the Metropole in Padstow for years. It's old and dated, and overlooks a working harbour, which for me, add to the charm of the place! The garden rooms are huge, especially the two corner ones. There is a real fire lit in the foyer in winter.....the food is lovely, so are the staff. There is also a lovely little salon with expert beautician. Not a cheap place to stay....but well worth it!
The outside of the hotel could do with smartening up, as the size of the hotel, and the dark grey colour of the stone make the place look a bit grim......which it certainly is not!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glennfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben_Young_RGM, General Manager at Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Glennfa

Thank you so much for writing this generous review, I am genuinely delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay!

I do hope you will consider revisiting us at The Metropole again in the future.

Kind regards

Ben Young
Regional Manager
Richardson Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

A very enjoyable and relaxing stay at this lovely hotel. Excellent staff throughout with warm, friendly efficiency and an attitude of wishing to please. Very high standard of food and service and stunning views if you opt for a harbour/estuary view bedroom. Great location for exploring Padstow and beyond and weather was kind enough for some lovely walks from the hotel. Wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatyDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben_Young_RGM, General Manager at Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear KatyDorset

I am very grateful for your feedback, thank you so much for taking the time to write your review.

We hope to be seeing you again in Padstow before too long!

Kind regards

Ben Young
Regional Manager
Richardson Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport
Level Contributor
108 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

Lovely slightly old fashioned hotel with great staff and good food. Packages are good value.
Super location overlooking the harbour and across the estuary to Rock.
Higher level rooms are more modern than lower floors. Refurbishment seems to be slow but steady.
Plenty of parking.
Ideal location for a weekend break.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben_Young_RGM, General Manager at Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear spreviews

I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay, and that you consider us a ideal location for a weekend break. We do hope you will consider revisiting us again in the future, and I shall enjoy discussing your comments with all the team!

Kind regards

Ben Young
Regional Manager
Richardson Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Special birthday weekend for 2 friends. So 8 ladies stayed here for the weekend, and what a lovely weekend it was. Very charming hotel old world style we enjoyed every minute. The staff were were friendly and helpful from reception to restaurant to housekeeping. Well done all of you.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Kingswoodtrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben_Young_RGM, General Manager at Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Kingswoodtrekker

I am so pleased to read that your group of 8 ladies all greatly enjoyed you stay with us. It is so rewarding to be able to share such feedback with the team at the hotel, who all strive to exceed our guests expectations.

Thank you so much for your comments.

Kind regards

Ben Young
Regional Manager
Richardson Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Padstow
3.4 mi away
Treglos Hotel
Treglos Hotel
#1 of 1 in Constantine Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
2.0 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
10.9 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,291 reviews
6.3 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
15.9 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropole Hotel

Property: Metropole Hotel
Address: Station Road, Padstow PL28 8DB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Padstow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Padstow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Metropole Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pride of Padstow Located in one of the most enviable positions on the north Cornwall coast, the Metropole offers stunning sea and harbour views, traditional style bedrooms and delicious AA rosette dining in the Harbour Restaurant. Complete with an outdoor pool and spa treatments, enjoy a truly Cornish welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Padstow, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing