We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous food”

The Old Ship Hotel Restaurant
Ranked #43 of 88 Restaurants in Padstow
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Gorgeous food”
Reviewed June 27, 2014

A delicious meal served promptly and presented beautifully. Excellent value for money, would willingly have paid more. Wide choice of dishes all looked lovely and the smells coming from the kitchen made it very hard to choose. I recommend the scallops, they were amazing!
We will certainly be back!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank cal19865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    136
    58
    32
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Redditch
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cracking lunch”
Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

Dropped in for lunch whilst visiting and, whilst it is perhaps not the most appealing frontage and tries to be all things to all men, we had an absolutely superb lunch and feel compelled to tell all about this.

My wife was a bit unsure about the outside area with the usual selection of dogs, kids and strange locals (and not so local) but it was clean and we'll tendered by the staff.

We had a glass of perfectly presentable white wine reasonably priced and I went for the safe favourite of a pint of Brains SA. The topping on the cake was the steak burger that was not your usual rubbish but was most definitely home and hand made with great ingredients and survived with fresh salad, chips and coleslaw. I can't describe what a breath of fresh air this was and, as we were feeling rather peckish, we also had the mixed meats and cheese platter which was a bargain at £14. This was gorgeous thick, local ham, thick rare orated beef served with 3 cheeses, cornichons, onions, salad and coleslaw. I cannot recommend this highly enough. It was probably a bit greedy for 1 but once to indulge. Highly recommended.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mikechesterton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely outside area”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

We stayed in Padstow for two weeks and came in here every day for a drink, I had the Pimms. Food is excellent, we only ate here once but I enjoyed my chicken burger and my partner enjoyed the chefs platter. Could not fault inside or outside areas, both very clean, staff very friendly.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank emma r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Terrible .....really gone down hill”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

We had visited several time previously, however after ths visit never again. Out of 4 main meal, 3 were wrong, and 1 had to be sent back 3 times. Staff were not particularly sorry. Very expensive considering they couldnt even get the order right. NEVER AGAIN!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice pub and food, but expensive for what it was....”
Reviewed June 19, 2014

We had a nice visit and found the pub well presented and comfortable. It was a very sunny and busy day, but there was plenty of space inside the airy bar and eating area. We had the seafood sharing platter which having ordered we found came with no salad or bread etc. We ordered some olives and bread which was nothing special, but added around £10 to the bill. The food was nice but came out more expensive than a neighbouring restaurant. Nevertheless, a very pleasant lunch.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Ship Hotel Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Old Ship Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing