We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fab day out with little ones”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Old MacDonald's Farm
Ranked #10 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Padstow
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fab day out with little ones”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

We paid a visit to Old MacDonald's on our holiday to Newquay and it was fantastic! It is the perfect place to take an energetic and curious child - our 20 month old son loved being able to run around in a lovely safe environment, and we loved letting him! The little train was a particular hit with him - 6 times round and still wanting more! Great toys, Wendy houses and the like to play in as well aa the animals to look at. Great value.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank pvd79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    18
    9
    3
    6
See reviews for
67
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newquay, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

We were invited to our daughters friends 6th birthday party here today. The children had a wonderful time feeding the animals, riding on the pony, going round on the minature train. There was so much fun to be had by all and it was so relaxing, especially knowing that your children are always within sight. Very friendly owners and staff alike, the weather was beautiful sunshine and we all had a relaxing afternoon. We would recommend any family with children young or old as there is so much to do here. We will be going back within the next few weeks as we only live in Newquay and we will be bringing our friends too!!
Sue S

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Singingsue65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

We didn't stay here but visited the farm with our 14 month old son. The shop is very well appointed and the farm area itself is wonderfully laid out. The animals are all around the edge of the field along with two play areas. The whole space is grassed, which is great for toddlers as you're not worried about grazed knees. The little train ride around the middle of the field was a highlight, especially as the driver went round the track three times just for our son! He also really enjoyed a pony ride across the field and back. All of this was included in the very reasonable entry fee.

We also had a lovely little lunch in the cafe, with my son having a kid's lunch box whilst I had a jacket potato and my husband had a ploughman's lunch.

All in all this is a grand day out and we could have stayed much longer. We will definitely be visiting here again the next time we are in Cornwall!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Becky K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

Didn't stay but went there for the afternoon with our 3 year old son. He had a fantastic time with the go karts, baby animals, trampolines etc. However these pailed into insignificance compared to the miniature train!

Really friendly owners and lots of kids around will go back next year.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Backontrackchiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nacka, Sweden
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

We, a family of four, stayed here as part of our walking holiday on the Southwest coast path. The farm is situated some ten minutes walk from central Porthcothan. We had two rooms in the main house, both very large, very comfortable and impeccably clean. The beds were wonderful, the best we had during our trip. As we were only staying the night, and were perhaps not the target audience (which I would say is families with small children) I cannot comment on the other amenities. The owners were very friendly and accommodating, and gave us a lift to the local pub for our evening meal. Breakfast was nice, as was the household dog Louis!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrixieMillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orpington
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed here as part of our SW Coast Path Walk. There is very little choice of accommodation in Porthcothan and the 1/2 mile walk to Old MacDonalds Farm is the best option. We were given a friendly welcome and offered a lift into St Merryn for dinner as there are no pubs/restaurants within easy walking distance. The purpose built B&B rooms are large, attractively decorated, clean and comfortable. For visitors with their own car, this would be an ideal place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elainej31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

Young couple, no kids- this was not aimed at us. Camped here for a week. You need a car or bikes to get anywhere, nearest pub not great. But Cornish Arms (Rick Stein) not far and is outstanding. Overall good value but nothing more.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Tigerstedge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Padstow
4.4 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#4 of 8 in Padstow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,380 reviews
2.0 mi away
Treglos Hotel
Treglos Hotel
#1 of 1 in Constantine Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
6.8 mi away
Premier Inn Newquay (Quintrell Downs) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Atlantic Bays Holiday Park
Atlantic Bays Holiday Park
#7 of 12 in St Merryn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
1.8 mi away
Bay Retreat Villas
Bay Retreat Villas
#4 of 12 in St Merryn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Harlyn Inn
The Harlyn Inn
#25 of 56 in Padstow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old MacDonald's Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old MacDonald's Farm

Property: Old MacDonald's Farm
Address: Porthcothan Bay, Padstow PL28 8LT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Padstow
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Padstow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small family run Farm Park, Bed and Breakfast plus campsite nestling amongst the rolling hills of the Cornish countryside, yet just half a mile from the beautiful Porthcothan Bay, situated along the North Cornish coast between Padstow and Newquay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Old MacDonald's Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old MacDonald's Farm Padstow, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing