We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis discovered on a long walk - but pity about the instant cappuccino.”

Rest A While Tea Garden
Ranked #2 of 6 Coffee & Tea in Padstow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $13
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Scenic view, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout
Description: The (tiny) tea garden is at the back of the two hundred year old 'Coastguard Houses' at Hawkers Cove, on the Coastal Path, 150m from the slipway at Hawkers Cove beach and enjoys fantastic views across the Doom Bar and mouth of the Camel Estuary, to Polzeath and Daymer Bay. We serve hot and cold drinks, homemade cakes, quiches and pies, homemade soups, filled jacket potatoes, made to order sandwiches, cream teas, ice creams and various snacks.(Our cream teas and our crab sandwiches are getting rave reviews). For anyone who is Coeliac, we have also added a Gluten Free Flapjack to our homemade products, which include Gluten Free Scones (of course), Gluten Free Lemon Drizzle Cake and Gluten Free Ginger Cake. We are stocking Gluten Free Bread, for sandwiches and Gluten Free Bread Rolls to compliment our Gluten Free homemade soups. We are 'Dog Friendly', welcoming well behaved pooches with a fresh bowl of water and biscuits. The tea garden is, literally, a garden, with no inside seating and is consequently very 'weather dependent' so if the weather is at all 'unsettled', we would advise that you phone ahead to make sure that we are open. The tea garden will be open 7 days a week (weather permitting) from Easter to October. Unfortunately we don't have any parking facilities, so if you wish to drive to us, we suggest that you park in the farmer's car park and walk along the coast path, or park anywhere on the road to Hawkers Cove and walk down the hill, (approx 500m). The tea garden is situated behind the top row of houses. We accept most Credit/Debit Cards. Please come and see us.... You will be made most welcome! Please note that during October we are open from 11.00am to 3.00pm
Wirral
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An oasis discovered on a long walk - but pity about the instant cappuccino.”
Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

We stumbled accross this tiny, hidden gem in the midst of our 8 miler to Trevone and found it to be very pleasant. The hostess was very welcoming and the scones looked delicious. Views were great. Only one problem: the two cappuccinos we ordered were out of a tin and left a nasty taste with us all day. She should either invest in a coffee making machine or take cappuccino off the menu. Instant doesn't work.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank WirralJohnG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin H, Owner at Rest A While Tea Garden, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thanks for the lovely review about our tiny tea garden.
I'm sorry that you didn't like the Cappuccinos. If you had let us know at the time, we would have gladly refunded your money.
Our kitchen is so tiny that we didn't think that we had room for a coffee machine and only added the instant cappuccino to the menu recently after receiving requests for it. It does state clearly on the menu that it is instant.
However, at a recent trade show, we saw a coffee machine that we think will fit into our work space, if we move the milk shake machine into the other room.
We have one on order and it will be installed as soon as it arrives from Italy.
So any time in the next two weeks (hopefully), we will be serving the full range of Lavazza coffees, including Espresso, Cappuccino and Latte.
Please let us know when you are coming back this way and we will gladly serve you a proper job Lavazza Cappuccino.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    515
    105
    10
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

A lovely surprise to find this cafe on our walk today; friendly service, delicious scones and great views, all make this a lovely place to visit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CathMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin H, Owner at Rest A While Tea Garden, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
I'm glad that you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Padstow's hidden gem”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

What a fantastic find! On a coastal walk from Padstow we were recommended this cafe by some other walkers. It is a bit of a mission to get to but worth it! The atmosphere was great and the views...amazing! We only had tea and scones but they were lovely, next time hopefully we'll try the food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank crazyseg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin H, Owner at Rest A While Tea Garden, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for the lovely review.
I'm so pleased that you listened to other walkers recommendations and came to visit us.
Most of our visitors are pleased to find us in the middle of their walk and there is usually a good atmosphere in the garden. (Good weather always helps).
I'm glad you enjoyed the tea and scones and look forward to serving you some of the other goodies on our menu next time you visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing view, fantastic find!”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Saw a flyer for this tiny tea room set in the owners back garden just 50m off the coastal path at Hawkers Cove. Freshly made cakes and scones and a delightful family serving! Would highly recommend this tea room for its view, cakes and overall quaintness!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trevtraveller72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin H, Owner at Rest A While Tea Garden, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thanks for your kind review.
I think it will be quite nice to be known for our 'Quaintness'.
Hope to see you again, next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Stunning view for a cuppa”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

This tea garden is in Hawker's Cove - halfway between Padstow and Stepper Point. It's a great walk and the tea garden appears just when you need it! It's a little bit off the path but it's well signposted and easy to find.

In the simplest sense, it's a few tables in the back garden of a little terraced cottage - you order at the kitchen window! Despite there being no airs and graces it's delightful. The view over the camel estuary is stunning and the cakes and sandwiches are very well made and presented.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LincolnShep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin H, Owner at Rest A While Tea Garden, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and post a photo.
I'm glad you enjoyed your visit.
Hope to see you again, next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rest A While Tea Garden also viewed

 

Been to Rest A While Tea Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing