We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hi from Lee, George, Sue and John”
Review of Cullinan's B&B

Cullinan's B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Padstow
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cullinan's B&B
Ranked #36 of 56 Padstow B&B and Inns
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“hi from Lee, George, Sue and John”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

If modern interiors and minimalism are what you are after you are in the wrong place. If you are looking for a warm welcome, a great breakfast and hosts who know when to socialise and when to give you some space then this B&B is for you. Peter and Jayne's house is full of history and it is clear that the objects, books and pictures on display are treasured and mean that you really feel as you are getting to know your hosts. The breakfast was fantastic and we had the best nights sleep in ages. both rooms are very quiet despite being right on the middle of Padstow. The top floor room is more spacious, but we used the 2nd room and it was fine for us. After all, in Padstow all you need is a comfortable bed to collapse into each night. Peter's knowledge of pub's is second to none and Fitz the dog was a delight! Highly recommended if you want to share someones home and really get to know the area you are staying.

Room Tip: top floor is the best
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank the4bakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    10
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
4
26
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 1, 2012

On a visit from San Diego, California, we wanted to experience a true English B & B. We found it in Padstow and Jane and Peter (our hosts) made the experience even more delightful. Both the food and the banter were superb along with their knowledge of the area and, especially, local pubs!
Our view was great and the bed was probably the most comfortable we'd experienced on our trip.
We loved the relaxed family atmosphere and look forward to seeing our hosts (and Fritz, the dog) next year!
Angie & Joe

Room Tip: Top room with the small balcony and the view suggested, something different and fun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank westengard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 29, 2012

We rang the door bell in the hope there was a room in this superb location available. The hosts had their top room free that evening, so once we had viewed it , we were hooked. Imagine a river estuary, with sand banks, a small harbour, fishing boats, and delight of delight, the dawn sun to wake us up. Fantastic. Mine hosts, Jane and Peter, suggested we left the curtains open, and prepare to be amazed. They weren't wrong. What a treat. From the small balcony, to the left, the harbour, boats bobbing in the gentle dawn breeze, and immediately opposite, in the wonderful dawn light,a view right across to Rock. Stunning!. Breakfast was a veritable feast, we couldn't have asked for more. My wife had a continental, I , of course , had this immense full English. Turns out Jane was Cordon Bleu trained, and after taking their advice over breakfast, we were soon walking it all off on a leisurely walk with their dog, Fitzi, up over the cliff path, and down to St Georges Well. More pictures, right out to sea. Jane and Peter were very knowledgeable about Padstow, its traditions and history, and gave us sound advice on the great places to visit around and about. We decided to stay an extra night, and were invited into their lounge for a tipple. It was so nice to share their home, and to be made to feel so welcome. We were very sad to leave, and will definately return again, perhaps next year.

Room Tip: Top room has a fabulous view, the other room doesn't have the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skiinghotshots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

We have just returned from a fabulous long weekend at Peter and Jane Cullinans B&B in Padstow. It is a real home from home and is the second time we have stayed here in the top room, where you get the whole floor with a large private bathroom a massive bed that is clean and fresh and which my wife described as "the most comfortable bed in the world" add to this the balcony overlooking the harbour and you are made to feel very special. The town is literally a minutes walk around the corner with lots of shops, places to eat bars and pubs to suit all tastes but yet it is so quiet in the room you would never know. Peter and Jane are accomplished hosts and are a valuable source of information if you need help deciding how to spend your time. The breakfast is excellent and kept us going until the evening and my Wifes particular taste in full english was swiftly created by Jane. All in all a lovely house and a lovely couple, we will definitely be returning and if you are reading this and trying to decide i hope it has helped. In our opinion the best in Padstow

Room Tip: Go for the top room (if available) its amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkBagshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 5, 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a four day break at this B&B in Padstow, staying in the top floor room {the harbour suite} overlooking the stunning Camel estuary.

I can see that this establishment has had mixed reviews, however we have stayed at this B&B previously and have always found it to be excellent value.

The large top floor room has a balcony and the view is spectacular. it's pleasantly decorated with a super kingsize comfy bed. The bathroom is next door and is for the sole use of this bedroom occupants. This year a super shower has been installed, which is more than adequate for the residents needs.

There are prints and photos portraying the many outdoor activities the owners have enjoyed and are still plainly enjoying.There are also books galour to enjoy on a rainy day.
This theme continues through the property and lends a homely charm, which indeed is the home of the owners.

The Cullinans will great you with a warm friendliness and make you most welcome in their home.
They put on a magnificent breakfast, which will certainly be a good start of the day. They will also be most helpful, should you require help or advice on the local attractions.

There is no doubt that we will be revisiting Padstow and staying at this B&B.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Just returned from a 3 night break with my parents and having read the reviews before we travelled I was a little concerned. My concerns were unfounded!

If you are looking for bare, minimalistic, multi room sameness then this is not the place for you.

If you're looking for a B&B in a fabulous location right on the quay at Padstow then this could well be the place for you. No parking but directly opposite the car park charging £6.50 per day or £35 per week.

You are welcomed into the owners home. They offer two rooms, one double on the first floor with a shower and you share a toilet with the owner (down a couple of steps). The second is on the top floor, larger and with a small balcony and separate bathroom for use by this room only. You can almost throw a pebble into the harbour!

These rooms are in the owners home and we even shared a breakfast table with them in their dining area/kitchen. Breakfast was fresh, hot and delicious - thank you.

I have to disagree with previous reviews, we did not find a beer crate, nor was the house unclean or the bed musty. Yes the bathroom and bedrooms do have books and pictures but please remember that you are sharing the owners home and therefore the house will have their things around - I certainly wouldn't say it was cluttered! It was great to feel as though we were staying in a home and not a sterile, faceless hotel.

If we are ever visiting Padstow again we will definitely look at staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

I'd wholeheartedly endorse the previous review. My husband and I stayed there and found the cleanliness level unendurable. We were accompanied by my brother and sister-in-law, who found that the double bed in their room was missing a leg but, hey ho, the owners had thoughtfully employed a beer crate to prop it up instead. The whole place felt dirty and down-at-heel. Unfortunately we had to stay the first night but cut short our visit the following day and bugged out fast. We didn't find anything to recommend the place except the sea view - it's right on the front.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mystery1142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Padstow hotels
0.1 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#4 of 8 in Padstow
1,417 reviews
0.1 mi away
The London Inn
The London Inn
#52 of 56 in Padstow
117 reviews
0.1 mi away
Padstow Breaks
Padstow Breaks
#12 of 24 in Padstow
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Old Custom House Inn
Old Custom House Inn
#13 of 56 in Padstow
545 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Harlyn Inn
The Harlyn Inn
#25 of 56 in Padstow
288 reviews
0.2 mi away
10 Treverbyn Road B&B
10 Treverbyn Road B&B
#18 of 56 in Padstow
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cullinan's B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cullinan's B&B

Property: Cullinan's B&B
Address: South Quay, Padstow PL28 8BL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Padstow
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Padstow
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Cullinan's B&B Padstow, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing