We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value”
Review of Cullinan's B&B

Cullinan's B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Padstow
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cullinan's B&B
Ranked #50 of 55 Padstow B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 5, 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a four day break at this B&B in Padstow, staying in the top floor room {the harbour suite} overlooking the stunning Camel estuary.

I can see that this establishment has had mixed reviews, however we have stayed at this B&B previously and have always found it to be excellent value.

The large top floor room has a balcony and the view is spectacular. it's pleasantly decorated with a super kingsize comfy bed. The bathroom is next door and is for the sole use of this bedroom occupants. This year a super shower has been installed, which is more than adequate for the residents needs.

There are prints and photos portraying the many outdoor activities the owners have enjoyed and are still plainly enjoying.There are also books galour to enjoy on a rainy day.
This theme continues through the property and lends a homely charm, which indeed is the home of the owners.

The Cullinans will great you with a warm friendliness and make you most welcome in their home.
They put on a magnificent breakfast, which will certainly be a good start of the day. They will also be most helpful, should you require help or advice on the local attractions.

There is no doubt that we will be revisiting Padstow and staying at this B&B.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 41 of 41 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2012

Just returned from a 3 night break with my parents and having read the reviews before we travelled I was a little concerned. My concerns were unfounded!

If you are looking for bare, minimalistic, multi room sameness then this is not the place for you.

If you're looking for a B&B in a fabulous location right on the quay at Padstow then this could well be the place for you. No parking but directly opposite the car park charging £6.50 per day or £35 per week.

You are welcomed into the owners home. They offer two rooms, one double on the first floor with a shower and you share a toilet with the owner (down a couple of steps). The second is on the top floor, larger and with a small balcony and separate bathroom for use by this room only. You can almost throw a pebble into the harbour!

These rooms are in the owners home and we even shared a breakfast table with them in their dining area/kitchen. Breakfast was fresh, hot and delicious - thank you.

I have to disagree with previous reviews, we did not find a beer crate, nor was the house unclean or the bed musty. Yes the bathroom and bedrooms do have books and pictures but please remember that you are sharing the owners home and therefore the house will have their things around - I certainly wouldn't say it was cluttered! It was great to feel as though we were staying in a home and not a sterile, faceless hotel.

If we are ever visiting Padstow again we will definitely look at staying here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NickWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

I'd wholeheartedly endorse the previous review. My husband and I stayed there and found the cleanliness level unendurable. We were accompanied by my brother and sister-in-law, who found that the double bed in their room was missing a leg but, hey ho, the owners had thoughtfully employed a beer crate to prop it up instead. The whole place felt dirty and down-at-heel. Unfortunately we had to stay the first night but cut short our visit the following day and bugged out fast. We didn't find anything to recommend the place except the sea view - it's right on the front.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mystery1142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter C, Owner at Cullinan's B&B, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2017

Bugged out? Says it all, I think.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

Although the hosts were friendly and welcoming, the condition of the house let them down. It is extremely cluttered and untidy. The bed smelt musty, the bedroom and bathroom was full of dusty old books and clutter. Even the soap in the shower had dried bubbles from previous user! Shower did not work. Dining table looked like it had not been cleaned for a while.
Overall not a pleasant stay and even though the location could not have been better the cleanliness left a lot to be dersired. Could not possibly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank carters77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter C, Owner at Cullinan's B&B, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2017

There are plenty of new, wrapped-up soaps, and plenty of liquid soap dispensers. Shower is new and works perfectly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Padstow hotels
0.0 mi away
Old Custom House Inn
Old Custom House Inn
#13 of 55 in Padstow
592 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cyntwell
Cyntwell
#16 of 55 in Padstow
185 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coswarth House
Coswarth House
#15 of 55 in Padstow
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Padstow Breaks
Padstow Breaks
#12 of 27 in Padstow
29 reviews
0.3 mi away
Althea Library
Althea Library
#3 of 55 in Padstow
287 reviews
0.2 mi away
10 Treverbyn Road B&B
10 Treverbyn Road B&B
#19 of 55 in Padstow
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cullinan's B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cullinan's B&B

Address: South Quay, Padstow PL28 8BL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Padstow
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Padstow
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Cullinan's B&B Padstow, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing