We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay in Padstow”
Review of Strand House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Strand House
Ranked #23 of 55 Padstow B&B and Inns
Watford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful place to stay in Padstow”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We have just returned home after a great trip to the south west with 3nights at strand house. We had a wonderful time in Padstow aided by the incredible location of the fantastic B and B. Although we didn't have the balconies of the larger 2 rooms, trelawny did not lack in views with 3 windows giving a lovely variety and the large sky light had a fantastic view of the harbour. Sarah was an excellent host providing delicious breakfasts (with plenty of options), a warm and relaxed welcome and a useful source of local knowledge. We look forward to returning in the future and would recommend strand house to friends and family.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurenEg86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    10
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
44
167
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

We are just back from a 3 night stay in Padstow at Strand House and from the moment we arrived it exceeded our expectations. The location is perfect, walking distance to pubs and restaurants and the view of the harbour is to die for. Sarah, the owner goes out of her way to make sure everything is ok and she was able to recommend places to go to. We had Bolitho room with use of the lounge with tv and all sky channels, which was handy when coming back from a long walk. Padstow is picture perfect and strand house is possibly the best place to enjoy it. The bed was incredibly comfortable, the breakfast superb and it felt like a home from home. We will surely be back and stay at the best place by far in Padstow. Thank you Sarah

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Cedric P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 7, 2013

I concur with the sentiments and details of the other accommodation reviews so will not repeat them except to say that Heidi, Sarah's spaniel, was an adorable diversion and bonus - the first time that I have reviewed a dog !! The heating and insulation were so good that we slept with the velux window partially open in January. The cut price deal was an exceptional bargain. Choose your car park carefully because they vary between £1 and £7 per 24 hours.There were sufficient restaurants and pubs open in Padstow to dine well in winter. Despite Cornwall having few tourists in January Padstow is a central and convenient place to go walking and seeing the natural beauty of the bays and historic sites without traffic delays and parking dilemmas. Bring your wet weather gear and a smile. It will match the attributes and persona of Sarah.

Room Tip: Because Trelawney and Huxley are rooms in the roof space you need to be aware of limited sloping hea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darrell E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Sarah is a very welcoming lady and has a vast amount of local knowledge.
The accommodation is always spotless and has everything you need in the room from hairdryer to tea, coffee and even a bottle of wine.
We love staying here and just keep coming back.

Room Tip: The Huxley room is our favourite with its own little balcony, lovely to sit there on a sunny evening...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cal19865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Sarah is so welcoming and helpful, always there to help in any way she can. She likes her guests to treat it as their home while they are there and goes out of her way to make everything perfect.
The rooms have all the amenities you need and make excellent use of space, they are all beautifully decorated and so comfortable.
The breakfasts are lovely and my husband says the 'Hogs pudding' is a must!

Room Tip: The Huxley room has its own little balcony which we love in the Summer months.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

We stayed here for a couple of nights whilst attending a course at Rick Stein's seafood school.
Our room was very clean, had all the amenities you expect - tea, coffee, biscuits etc (the dish of sweets was a bonus I hadn't expected). The shower room made great use of a small space so didn't feel cramped and the soaps and shampoos were lovely. Best of all there was a small outdoor area accessible from our room which overlooked the harbour.
Breakfasts were marvellous and it nearly broke my husband's heart to order only a sausage sandwich on the day we were off to class (where we were expected to eat everything we cooked!).
The weather was pretty awful but The Strand House was a jolly place to be in spite of it, with other guests all chatting together at breakfast time. We'd definitely stay here again and would recommend The Strand House to others.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HJS15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Beautiful location with glorious views of the harbour and surrounding scenery , nestling in the heart of padstow with easy access to padstow's facilities.Everything you need in a room tv,radio,iron , hairdryer & tea making facilities and the complimentary bottle of wine on arrival was great after a 7hr drive.Sarah is a lovely host and very helpful.I would recommed this b&b to everyone.Nigel & sally

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nigel p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Padstow hotels
0.0 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#4 of 8 in Padstow
1,453 reviews
0.0 mi away
Coswarth House
Coswarth House
#14 of 55 in Padstow
325 reviews
0.0 mi away
Old Custom House Inn
Old Custom House Inn
#13 of 55 in Padstow
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Symply Padstow
Symply Padstow
#15 of 55 in Padstow
143 reviews
0.0 mi away
Padstow Bed & Breakfast
Padstow Bed & Breakfast
#17 of 55 in Padstow
34 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sea Chalet
Sea Chalet
#3 of 55 in Padstow
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strand House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strand House

Property: Strand House
Address: Padstow PL28 8BU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Padstow
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Padstow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Strand House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strand House Padstow, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing