We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner at the old ship”
Review of The Old Ship Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Padstow
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Ship Hotel
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Padstow
Sidmouth
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Dinner at the old ship”
Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

A very pleasant early evening meal . Service was excellent and the food was very good . A wide range of locally caught seafood was available and also a decent selection of real ales were on offer . I thoroughly recommend a visit

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Paulcox171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    116
    51
    36
    24
See reviews for
81
185
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

We stayed for 3 days and had a great time. The room was very comfortable and spacious, great bathroom. The staff were very friendly and the service was great. We had a room at the back above them kitchen and no problem with noise even when a band was playing on the Saturday night.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sdhd2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 5, 2014

From the moment I made the booking the staff were exceptionally helpful and efficient, we had an incredibly late check in and the staff could not have been more accommodating. We also initially got lost and the staff were kind enough to come and meet us in the middle of Padstow to direct us to the parking. So Impressed with how lovely everyone was we are already planning a repeat visit and fully intend to stay at The Old Ship again :) The view of the harbour from our room was even enough to get my other half out of bed early, and he is not a morning person!
Loved every second of it. Breakfast was filling with a decent selection, bed was comfy, service spot on. What more could you need.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GeorgesGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Stayed one night in I think it was room 12, beautiful room and bathroom. Location is brilliant right in the centre of Padstow, breakfast was lovely and the staff cannot do enough for you. Parking is up a backroad then down an off road path, we had a bit of a problem getting out of the car park as someone had parked a bit too far out on the back road so it was very difficult to get out, but we held our breath and managed to squeeze out. Think the hotel could do with a sign at the entrance to the car park to warn drivers not to park to near the entrance as it is used at all times.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 6, 2014

From arrival to departure we had a fantastic time! The sun shone, the walks with the dog along the estuary were fantastic and The Old Ship Hotel exceeded our expectations.
The decor was lovely and the staff very friendly and helpful in every way.
Great steaks and a good selection of wines from the bar.
Our visit was made more special by The manager - Wray Langlord who couldnt be more obliging! Thanks Wray... we will be back in the Spring.
Kind regards

Jon & Tania

Room Tip: Top floor rooms with a view over the quay
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Around the world
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Here's my review, based on our 9B criteria

* Bedroom – good size, recently decorated. Comfy bed, modern heater, small TV. Tea and Coffee provided. There isn’t a desk so it’s not ideal for working, but complimentary Wi-Fi is fast. It is true that soundproofing isn’t wonderful but this is all part and parcel of being in a modernised pub. Some rooms do have glimpses of the harbour.

* Bed – fine.

* Bathroom – small with just a shower that took ages to deliver hot water, but a great power shower when it did.

* Breakfast – selection of cereals and juice; the hot breakfast is cooked to order, delicious and generous portions.

* Bar – pleased to see local brews Doom Bar and St Austell – and Brains Bitter from Wales! Modern layout, good place to hang out.

* Bods – very friendly and welcoming

* Budget – similar accommodation would cost less elsewhere in the country but this is Padstow and a premium is unavoidable. Breakfast being included makes a difference.

* Back (i.e. would we return?) – Not on business but certainly for a fun weekend.

* Beyond the hotel...tempting to explore all the coffee shops and Cornish pasty outlets on the doorstep, as well as dwell in the harbour area before taking the ferry to Rock, or going for a drive. If you’ve read other reviews, you’ll know that getting here is tricky so here are some foolproof instructions to the carpark. Turn into Tregirls Rd and then turn right down the hill. If you reach the stone arch on Tregirls, you’ve come too far, turn around and take first left. Take the left fork up the hill. Turn right into the stone gateway where the upside down hotel sign points you. Follow it round and down to the pub carpark. The hotel is reached down some steps, not wheelchair accessible. You can drop off at the front entrance though. Bon voyage!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NickAndPaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Visited the Old Ship for a lunch time meal as we have always enjoyed a meal there.
Sadly not this time £18 pound for a 10oz steak some chips that had there skins on and a salad that consisted of salad leaves and peppers to the special of Seafood Curry £16 pounds that was extremely disappointing. The curry was supposed to contain prawns, scallops, calamari and white fish was served with 2 small prawns, 2 very small scallops (roe removed) 3 calamari rings and a small amount of fish, hardly any sauce was served and I was left feeling hungry.
Being British I did not complain which was my fault but we will not be returning for a while.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Padstow
0.2 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#4 of 8 in Padstow
1,454 reviews
3.4 mi away
Treglos Hotel
Treglos Hotel
#1 of 1 in Constantine Bay
404 reviews
1.7 mi away
Well Parc Hotel
Well Parc Hotel
#1 of 1 in Trevone
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
948 reviews
1.0 mi away
The St Enodoc Hotel
0.1 mi away
Old Custom House Inn
Old Custom House Inn
#14 of 55 in Padstow
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Ship Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Ship Hotel

Property: The Old Ship Hotel
Address: Mill Square, Padstow, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Padstow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Padstow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privately owned family run hotel, bar and restaurant for the last 30 years. Close to Padstow harbour and all amenities. An old quirky hotel with charm and many period features, modernised and updated to offer all diners and residents a pleasant and comfortable experience and stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Ship Hotel Padstow, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing