We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely staying again!”
Review of The Old Ship Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Padstow
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Ship Hotel
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Padstow
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We could not have found a more welcoming, ideally placed hotel if we'd built it ourselves. From booking, check in, breakfast to check out the staff were polite, smiling and helpful.

The hotel was clean and tidy and the room was more than we expected although a tad noisy as we were by a fire exit, but having said that we basically had our own entrance and a key. The hotel has its own car park with access from the back of the town so we didn't have to creep through the crowds at a snails pace and is 30 seconds stroll to the main harbour front.

My husband and I will definitely be staying again in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Morgen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (405)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

288 - 294 of 405 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2013

We ate twice at the The Old Ship during our two week stay in Cornwall. The staff were very friendly, helpful and attentive - and weren't phased at all by our 18 month old twins deciding to throw most of their lunch on the floor. Our first visit, we both had the mackerel salad, which was truly delicious.

Second visit, accompanied by "Uncle Guy", we enjoyed the Seafood Platter (spectacular) and good old fish and chips (excellent).

Clearly Padstow - or Stein Town - has so many other places to eat however I can recommend The Old Ship Inn as definitely worth a visit!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank larryj2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

visited padstow 25th called at ship for lunch,found food poor quality and expensive,I had fishermans pie and my partner had gammon and cheese sandwiches plus half shandy and a pint of doom bar { real ale } cost £26 WOW.!! my partner told me she had been there a few years ago and said the seafood platter for two had doubled in price to £30 BLIMEY !! the pie had a fillet of smoked haddock { NOT LARGE } and mashed potato in pastry package piled up one on top of another with some undercooked peapods and what looked like sliced cabbage leaves around edge of plate.? mashed potato half cold and a deathly grey colour and tasteless.I could have made it better myself,with a masher and lashings of butter !! the pie cost £14 double the cost of a fish pie I had in fowey a few weeks back, and nowhere near as tasty.
I will certainly not be visiting this establishment again.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Rogg-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I was whisked away to the Old Ship for 3 nights as a surprise birthday treat. And a great treat it was too. Previously, we only knew the Ship through having a drink whilst visiting Padstow, so it was good to stay there - and receive a sparkling wine surprise in the room! Lovely room, with all comforts, and a great welcome from Pete and his crew. You couldn't find a friendlier staff. The food (particularly the fish - and soft shelled crabs)and atmosphere were great, with a superb selection of wines to complement. Add to that the perfect location and dog-friendliness means it was a fantastic place to stay and created a birthday I will never forget. We wouldn't consider anywhere else in Padstow now. Thanks guys - we WILL return!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronnie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We have been to padstow for the last 3 years and always go to the ship for our drinks, this year in june 2013 we arrived on fri the 14th of june and first port of call was the old ship for our first drink of our holiday, we have 1 pint of Stella and a glass of wine and lemonade, shock price of £9.50 , thought nothing of it inflation has gone up etc , so had another 1glas wine and lemonade , and one pint of trawnrey again £9.50 , so we moved on to a shipwrights had the same drinks for £7.50 , what a difference, then mon the 17th we went back to the ship just to see, 1 pint of Stella and 1 glass of wine and lemonade £7.50 what a shock someone is on the make, but had another one round exactly the same Stella and wine and lemonade only half hour after the first one and it changed again this time £8.80 , now how can these drinks change so much not only on days but in a matter of minutes when the prices come up on the tills also I don't see any price list up in the pub,, we will also be contacting the st Austell brewery regarding this matter, it only happens at the ship as we have been to other pubs , shipwrights and London inn and there prices never changed at all from one day to the next , I can't wait to find out, so all you visitors I should watch your prices . Someone is ripping us off somewhere ,

Room Tip: We didn't stay at the ship we just go for drinks , well did but not anymore
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We have stayed at the Old Ship Hotel for a week in Spring 11 times since year 2000. It is situated just off the quaint Harbour - which is just about perfect, there is ample parking for guests at the rear of the hotel which is a very important consideration when staying in Padstow. The owners and staff are all very nice friendly people who take pride in the running of the hotel and pub.
The rooms are clean, comfortable and well appointed.
The food at the hotel is of a high standard (especially so this visit) - there is a good choice of cooked breakfast and you can help yourself to cereal and fruit etc. The day and evening food is excellent and you can either eat in the pub bar area or book a table in the restuarant. We felt this year that the food was of a particularly high standard and the chefs should feel very proud of their skills! In conclusion we feel that it would be hard to better the accommodation offered at the Old Ship, it is very good value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P.Beaumont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

we stayed here for 4 nights with our dog alfie.i found the staff very friendly and very helpful.great location room was good and big and breakfast was very good.i would recommend to friends and family to stay here if they were ever visiting padstow.thankyou for a lovely and pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lucy j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Padstow
0.2 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#4 of 8 in Padstow
1,556 reviews
3.4 mi away
Treglos Hotel
Treglos Hotel
#1 of 1 in Constantine Bay
417 reviews
1.6 mi away
Well Parc Hotel
Well Parc Hotel
#1 of 1 in Trevone
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
The St Enodoc Hotel
7.1 mi away
The Cornish Arms
The Cornish Arms
#1 of 1 in Pendoggett
251 reviews
4.1 mi away
Travelodge Wadebridge
Travelodge Wadebridge
#2 of 4 in Wadebridge
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Ship Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Ship Hotel

Address: Mill Square, Padstow, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Padstow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Padstow
Price Range: $35 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privately owned family run hotel, bar and restaurant for the last 30 years. Close to Padstow harbour and all amenities. An old quirky hotel with charm and many period features, modernised and updated to offer all diners and residents a pleasant and comfortable experience and stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Ship Hotel Padstow, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing