We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Cup of Coffee with a Great View”

Harbour Restaurant at The Metropole Hotel
Ranked #40 of 91 Restaurants in Padstow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $39
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Harbour Restaurant in Padstow has the perfect name, as you can hardly lift your eyes without seeing the majestic vistas of the lovely harbour, charming village and Camel estuary. Set in an imposing Victorian hotel with comfy lounges and fireplaces, this award-winning restaurant is in the extremely capable hands of chef Adam Warne, who has recently taken the reins and aims to continue and grow the reputation of the modern British menu. The elegant dining room decorated in traditional style, in keeping with the era of the hotel, is extremely comfortable. In winter and busy times, an indoor terrace overlooking the river comes into use. As this is Padstow, the daily-changing menu draws inspiration from the sea.
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“A Cup of Coffee with a Great View”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We visited here as we were leaving Padstow via the Camel Trail. The coffee was good and the views over the estuary were excellent. Price was comparable with other outlets within Padstow (where prices are rather high because the town is so popular especially because of the Camel Trail Cyle Trail

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GusHon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    44
    13
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch with stunning views”
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Stopped here for lunch during a visit to Cornwall. Excellent venue, good food even if one or two dishes a little overpriced. But this is compensated for by the lovely views and great service followed by relaxing with a coffee in the lounge. Would definately visit here again when in Cornwall and disagree with other reviewers that the place is dated. That's what gives places like this their charm and are getting harder to find these days because too many people want places "modernised". Highly recommended!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Clarenicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ware, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
273 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“My Miss Marple Hotel”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

I adore this hotel. It is so quaint and reminds me of a television programme. The rooms are reasonably large. I have stayed maby times here in different rooms and they have all been good. The Hotel stands very proud along Padstow, the best views you can get. I love the swimming pool and gardens, it is so relaxing. The food in the restaurant is very good, and they have lots of choice. If I could afford it I would stay here at this hotel many times a year. I love this place.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cherry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bushey
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
“needs a lot of loving”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

the hotel is old very creaky floors but would still go there again as it is probably the only hotel with a car park that is a must staff were great

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank sylvia b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch.”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

The Metropole does have a certain faded elegance which is part of the charm.We decided to eat at the Harbour Restaurant whilst staying in Padstow. Sunday lunch is excellent value and we enjoyed a salmon starter, sole main course with Bakewell tart to round things off. Whilst eating, we enjoyed the amazing views over Padstow - fabulous! There was also music in the background, provided by two two gentlemen, which was another rather nice touch. Service was good and we didn't wait too long between courses. This is a large and rather traditional establishment which we found thoroughly enjoyable - the views over Padstow are an attraction in itself! We will certainly eat here again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank merlinroth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harbour Restaurant at The Metropole Hotel also viewed

 

Been to Harbour Restaurant at The Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing