We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,125)
Filter reviews
1,126 results
Traveler rating
669
264
132
33
28
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
669
264
132
33
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cowshed spa outdoor pool land rover sea view beach hut garden suite spa hotel board games bar menu king size room self catering the cliff family hotel sun loungers changing rooms daymer bay school holidays
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
78 - 83 of 1,126 reviews
Reviewed July 24, 2018 via mobile

Had a short midweek break in June. The room was spotless and had everything we needed. The staff were brilliant, Nothing was too much trouble.fab location. Free shuttle to the beach.Can't wait to go back!

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank michaellowda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chloe-St-Moritz, Guest Relations Manager at St. Moritz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2018

Dear 'michaellowda'

Thank you so much for posting a review on your stay with us in June. I am delighted to hear you found the well equipped rooms spotless and comfortable. We are so lucky to be situated between the beautiful beaches of Polzeath and Daymer Bay and getting to them is made so easy with the complimentary land rover shuttle service!

Thank you so much, we all look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kindest Regards,

Chloe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2018 via mobile

Great modern hotel, with super comfortable rooms, cowshed bathroom products, best breakfast on our trip, great facilities, indoor pool, steam,sauna, great outdoor pool, just a really great place that is well.... pretty faultless.
Will definitely be staying again.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Jon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chloe-St-Moritz, Guest Relations Manager at St. Moritz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2018

Dear 'Jon N'

Wow! Thank you so much for taking the time to post a fantastic review on your stay with us! Your kind words and comments are greatly appreciated and the team will be delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay.

It is a pleasure to hear you enjoyed our contemporary rooms, luxurious Cowshed toiletries and the fabulous facilities we have on site including the complimentary Land Rover shuttle service to the local beaches.

Thank you once again, we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future!

Kindest Regards,

Chloe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2018 via mobile

1st off this was our 3rd visit in 15 mths and in fact got engaged on our 2nd visit. So st moritz held many happy memories.

We had recently been married and planned a minimoon to cornwall to recreate our engagement. Given work commitments we only had 3 days to relax after our wedding so we planned this well in advance and in minute detail so we could make the most of our 2 night stay.

Long story short the hotel had made a mess of the room we'd booked and paid a deposit on in Feb. They put us in the wrong room without so much as a card to acknowledge our honeymoon. We were offered a glass of champagne as initial compensation, which we refused. Upon asking to see a senior manager the following day we requested that they comp us the 2 nights in the wrong room or put us in the correct room which we would happily pay for.

Hotel refused and offered us a night next year free of charge. Given its an 11 hr round trip we refused. Mgmt then offered us our deposit back for the 2nd night and we could stay elsewhere. We chose to change hotels.
So on the 2nd day of a 3 day honeymoon we were left to scramble and find a new hotel in cornwall in peak summer.

It was so frustrating that we had to waste so much time arguing with managers who were solely concerned with coming to a commercial arrangement and failing to grasp the significance of the occasion to us.

As mentioned we got engaged here so planned that this would become an annual summer visit for not only us but any future family. So in truth I'm as disappointed as i am annoyed as we have now lost that opportunity unless theres a serious change in how senior management treats their regular customers.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
4  Thank niallh199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chloe-St-Moritz, Guest Relations Manager at St. Moritz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2018

Dear 'niall199'

Thank you for posting a review on your stay with us. We are very sad that you did not enjoy your stay however, this review is not factually correct.

A Sea View Suite was booked and deposit paid in February, a particular Suite was discussed but not guaranteed as you had stayed on two previous occasions, both times in different suites. A Sea View Suite was allocated to you on arrival which was not the Suite you were hoping to be in. It was exactly the same with the same facilities and views as per your two previous visits. The unfortunate mistake we made was that we did not acknowledge your honeymoon which was speedily rectified with champagne and chocolates to enhance your celebrations. You asked to check out therefore the receptionist in good faith offered you your deposit back and did not charge a cancellation charge as per our cancellation policy, you changed your mind and decided to stay. The second day was enjoyed with activities and treatments at the Cowshed Spa and therefore not wasted. There was no commercial arrangement concern however, you demanded a full complimentary stay including food, beverage and spa which the manager declined to offer. An offer was made for a stay in the future in the suite which you would have preferred to be in which you declined, from every stage in the conversation it was clear compensation was wanted and not a resolution. The manager expressed his concern in rectifying the issue so the remainder of the stay would be enjoyed to which you explained this would only occur if the stay was free. The manager said you are really unhappy staying in the suite you are in which you agreed yet you are happy to stay in the suite that has allegedly ruined your stay if it was free which you agreed. A compromise was then agreed that as a gesture of goodwill the first night would be complimentary and as a further gesture of goodwill the second nights deposit would be refunded. An alternative local hotel was found very speedily with no time wasted and you were taken there in our complimentary land rover shuttle expressing you will write a poor review on TripAdvisor.

Again, we are very sorry you were disappointed with your stay, all efforts were made to ensure the issues were rectified and the remainder of your stay could be enjoyed. We wish you all the best for the future.

Kindest Regards,

Chloe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2018 via mobile

Hotel in great location. Unable to check in until 4pm ( stated this on website) so not good after long drive. Other residents complaining about this too. Room was not clean when we finally got key, previous peoples dirty pots and high chair on our terrace. No offer of help with cases and only offered to show us where room was when I asked where I had to go. Told us of hotels amenities by pointing a finger in different directions rather than showing us around. Room ( all rooms) did not have air conditioning even though one wall was all glass and had a conservatory found a fan in the wardrobe. Family suite too small for a family. No where to put bags and cases, tripping over them all the time. Only one glass and 2 mugs for 3 people. Over bath shower and no window in bathroom or aircon or fan in bathroom. Had to complain about house keeping 4 times as room not cleaned properly first morning. Beds not made, no clean towels, cups still dirty. Hotel could be amazing but seem to lack good staff or enough staff. Each time I complained staff are quite defensive rather than apologetic.Food in evening was good but service slow. Had to keep asking for things a couple of times before we received them. Gave up trying to get a pudding. Breakfast Good and breakfast staff also good. Spoke to someone who owned a house on the hotel complex who said they were having problems recruiting staff as they had to close the cafe/ bar early due to staffing issues. Stay was a little disappointing as website promised a lot but service let it down. No service recovery. Very expensive for the room and service received. Such a pity as with better management could be good.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Ballroad1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chloe-St-Moritz, Guest Relations Manager at St. Moritz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2018

Dear ' Ballroad1'

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us in one of our Family Junior Garden Suites complete with sun lounge and patio. It is saddening to hear of your unfortunate experiences. We welcome all guests to check in at any time and utilise all facilities on site such as our indoor and outdoor pools, two restaurants, tennis court and our excellent complimentary land rover service to the local beaches. We guarantee our rooms by 4pm however we are happy to show you to your room if it is available beforehand.

Thank you once again for your feedback. We do hope to welcome you back to St Moritz in the future.

Kindest Regards,

Chloe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2018

We have stayed at this hotel twice. The rooms are modern and fresh with comfortable beds and nice Cow Shed toiletries. We had Sunday lunch in the restaurant overlooking the pool which was delicious. Majority of staff are friendly and helpful, some of reception staff a bit bristly. It's well positioned - within walking distance of Polzeath and Rock, where you can also get the ferry to Padstow.

There is also a landrover service at the hotel to take you to Rock or Polzeath, but is only available up until 9pm each day (some staff are quite reluctant about it and if you ask to be taken down to Rock at 8.45pm it's a flat no - others are more keen and depends on who you speak to). Overall though it's a nice hotel with easy access to the coast path.

Some rooms come with a beach hut. Although the huts aren't on the beach, they do have sea views and are perfect having glass of wine or hot drink while watching the sunset.

Room tip: Some of the king size rooms come with a beach hut. Although not on the beach, they have sea views.
Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank HarryAppleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chloe-St-Moritz, Guest Relations Manager at St. Moritz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2018

Dear 'HarryAppleton'

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on your second stay with us at St Moritz. Thank you for choosing us again for your special Cornish break.

Our complimentary land rover service is available to shuttle guests to and from the local beaches every day until 6pm. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed its helpful service and the use of your very own personal beach hut along with your King room to enjoy the sea views and sunsets.

Thank you once again, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kindest Regards,

Chloe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews