We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazingly caring about their guests, would do everything possible to make them leave with a smile on their faces”
Review of St. Moritz Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
St. Moritz Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Wadebridge
Certificate of Excellence
Dunkeld
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Amazingly caring about their guests, would do everything possible to make them leave with a smile on their faces”
Reviewed July 1, 2009

Three of us booked a garden villa for a week, we were going to a wedding and decided to take a weeks holiday as travelling from Scotland. We were disappointed with the villa and told the hotel staff how we felt. They couldn't have been more helpful and almost immediately offered to move us to one of their 5* apartment suites. Wow, I really recommend anyone going to Cornwall to book into one of these. We shall certainly return. Very very spacious, incredible sea views, state of the art kitchen dining drawing room with balcony. Three large bedrooms ensuite with showers and bath. I have never slept in such a comfortable bed, you seem to sink into goosedown and I found it difficult to leave! My daughter had a massage in the Cowshed health spa and said it was the best she had experienced as did a journalist friend who was also staying in the hotel for the night. Lynsey on reception organised it all for us in a very friendly and efficient way and the owner, Hugh, couldn't have done more to give us a really memorable stay. Please anyone reading this go and stay there, you will have an amzing experience.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dalguise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

948 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    578
    223
    104
    25
    18
See reviews for
238
504
17
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2009

Spent 4 nights at St Moritz a couple of weeks back.
We stayed in the hotel part, nice sized room, but without a view.
Really comfortable bed, but felt there were some minor things that could be improved:
bathroom got wet whenever a shower was taken (top of shower screen several inches lower than the ceiling), lighting nice but not bright enough for make up, no toothmug, shower cap or soap provided - although liquid soap and shower gel chained to wall as previously mentioned - and a mirror on the wall in the bedroom would have been nice (there was one on the inside of the wardrobe door, but would have preferred one on wall.)
I would have also preferred to have tiny bottles (30 - 50ml) of the cowshed products to use, as opposed to the bottles attached to the wall. Stay quite often at Hotel du Vin where you get 150 ml bottles of shampoo/ conditioner/ shower gel, which they positivley encourage you to take away!! None of these are major things, but for me such attention to detail is important.
We dined in the restaurant on our first night, and the quality of food was excellent. Breakfasts were good too, but the service on the first 2 mornings of our stay was an absolute shambles. Although there appeared to be plenty of staff, it took ages for orders to be taken (most of those people having breakfast had to summon a waiter to place their order after lengthy waits), and items (eg butter, milk) were missing from the tables. A lot of people having breakfast were very unhappy with the service on these 2 mornings. However on the 3rd morning a french waiter was present, and the service was much improved that day and the next!
Visited most of the local haunts, including The Seafood Restaurant, and also Stein's fish and chip shop, which was excellent.
Did a lovley walk along the coastal path (at the back of the hotel) to Daymer Bay one evening (approx 30 mins walk), which I can highly recommend - much nicer than Rock.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs Picky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runcorn
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2009

Stayed at the St Moritz hotel for a week end the hotel is very good all brand new.
The thing that lets it down is it shares its pool with 20+ self catering villas.
The pool would just about be big enough for a hotel.
If you are looking for a 4* facility with relaxing spa give this a miss as it is full of children from the Villas.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler1234Runcorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
2 reviews
Reviewed June 9, 2009

If you’re after a luxury Cornish bolthole at a reasonable price this place is for you.

On the north coast of Cornwall, within easy reach of some stunning local attractions - Eden, Lanhydrock, Heligan, Tintagel...

We have stayed in the St Moritz Hotel suites (not the self catering villas) a couple of times – part of the main hotel they include an immaculately clean and modern kitchen, dining and sitting room area, alongside an en suite bedroom with the most fantastically soft and comfy beds I have ever slept in. Rooms / suites are beautifully decorated rooms in neutral shades, with a beachside feel. Looking out onto 'sub-tropical'gardens (still young as recently planted, but will be stunning when matured).

Bathrooms stocked with fluffy white towels and robes, not forgetting Cowshed products. A true delight!

The white curved, NY Guggenheim’esk, bar and restaurant building, also where the Cowshed Spa and pool are located, is truly gorgeous. Whether you’re after a comfy leather sofa to read the Sunday papers or relax over a cocktail pre-dinner you can’t fault the hotel for this stunning centre piece.

The restaurant is not to be missed, with fresh Cornish produce featuring. The open kitchen, which is the focal point of the room, adds to the ambience. Staff provide impeccable service.

Few downsides – one however would be that the restaurant is now closed for dinner during the winter – a real disappointment on our most recent visit (March 2009). However there are plenty of good places to eat nearby (although all a car journey away). Saying this we did have a very good meal at the Waterfront in Polzeath a short walk down the hill from the hotel. Other than that you’ll need to head further afield if you’re not after pub grub or a Cornish pasty (we can recommend Cone Zone in Polzeath or Rock Bakery, Rock, for Malcolm Barnecutt pasties – the best on the north coast)!
If you’d prefer not to battle the tourist traps of Rick Stein (Padstow) or Jamie Oliver (Watergate Bay) try The Harbour, No 1 Middle Street in Port Issac, or L’Estuaire in Rock. Although Rick Stein’s St Petrocs Bistro and No 6. Restaurant and Rooms (Paul Ainsworth) are worth a visit!

We’ve not partaken in any Cowshed Spa treatments, too much to explore in the area, but had excellent feedback from other guests who have!

We were a disappointed with the leisure facilities, which were looking a little tired when we tried them out on our trip before last. Wood starting to rot in the ladies changing rooms, soaking floors in need of a good mop, broken shower and Jacuzzi, alongside titles missing from the pool area. It wasn’t a major problem as the leisure facilities weren’t our top draw – but you would expect more. We were willing to pass it off as ‘unfortunate’ and will check out next time we visit.

Staff really friendly and helpful – they can’t do enough for you. We have once stayed at St Moritz using a magazine offer – and received the same high quality service despite paying considerably less (unlike a well know boutique chain I shall not mention).
Only a short walk to the coastal path connecting the beautiful bay of Daymer and the busier surfing beach of Polzeath – this hotel has a prime location for a relaxing Cornish break. We can’t recommend this hotel enough.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wwtravelgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 2, 2009

My sister recommended this hotel to me and I managed to get a last minute booking. I knew I'd made a good choice the minute we arrived. The hotel decor is cool and chic but in a homely, rather than try-hard way, it's just the right side of London trendy but in deepest Cornwall. The panoramic views are breath-taking and it's ideally placed for blustery cliff-top walks and accessible by foot to Rock and Padstow for retail therapy. The room was well equiped and I loved the Cowshed products in the bathroom, if only we'd booked earlier I would have checked out the Spa too. It was fully booked, so a good sign. If you like Soho House and members-only type places in London, you will be completely at home in the restaurant and bar. The service was faultless, it is great value and I will definitely go back. Though there were families there, it still felt ideal for a romantic getaway.

Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LondonRosie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
1 review
Reviewed May 28, 2009

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying four nights recently, on three of which we ate in the restaurant. Quite simply, it was a revelation, a complete joy. First of all, the location is second-to-none. The bedroom was excellent, the bed perhaps the best we've encountered. Food and service were impeccable and, most importantly, friendly and not at all stuffy. First visit - definitely not the last and, as we had a sneak view of one of the self-catering apartments, that may be our next choice. They are simply superb.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJBTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 28, 2009

It's a strange place really. Is it a middle-class holiday village? Hotel?

PEOPLE>
You will notice the carbon cut-out middle class families here, straight from a Mark Warner holiday. Did also notice some less savoury money around but only one person sporting the dreaded tattoo - madam, a one piece swim suit would have helped you...

STAFF>
Check-in> Had to wait over an hour, we were told shortage of staff caused the delay.

Staff shortages impacted brekkie the following day. Chaotic with lots of irate mothers giving front of house a pretty hard time.

Generally staff were OK but clearly not a vocation for most.

The kitchen was well run and food was the best part about the place whether it be breakfast or dinner. Shame the menu was the same all the time and vegetarians had one starter and one main.

ROOM>
Our suite was excellent apart from the fact that all the Cowshed products were nailed down so hard wetcouldn't use them. Just leave us with some smaller quantities that we can get at and take home, to spread the word - think about it! I half expected to see the cruet sets on string in the restaurant...

Staff shortages meant the barman had to make coffee's for the restaurant instead of providing us with an aperitif. I don't know about you but it strikes me that alcohol should take precedence over caffiene.

SUMMARY> Just a bit too wierd to be a place I'd want to go back to. It needs to figure out what it's trying to be.

& FINALLY>
The Cowshed was fully booked for all the time we were staying so do book ahead.

Screaming children in the pool was the norm when we were here - little darlings. So bring your own or stick cheese in your ears.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StripesSays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wadebridge
13.5 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
1.5 mi away
The St Enodoc Hotel
2.0 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#4 of 8 in Padstow
1,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
1,188 reviews
17.9 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,563 reviews
4.8 mi away
Treglos Hotel
Treglos Hotel
#1 of 1 in Constantine Bay
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Moritz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Moritz Hotel

Property: St. Moritz Hotel
Address: St. Moritz Villas | Trebetherick, Wadebridge PL27 6SD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Wadebridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Wadebridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Moritz Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your St. Moritz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Moritz Hotel Wadebridge, Cornwall
St Moritz Wadebridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing