We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
St. Moritz Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Daymer House(Trebetherick)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ballaminers House(Little Petherick)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,005)
Filter reviews
1,005 results
Traveler rating
609
239
109
29
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
609
239
109
29
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscowshed spaoutdoor poolsea viewland roverbeach hutking roomart decoopen kitchengarden suiteboard gameshotel facilitiesself cateringbar menufamily hotelthe cliffchanging roomsdaymer bay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
464 - 469 of 1,005 reviews
Reviewed March 2, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the St Moritz for one night in mid February 2014. We took advantage of 'the month of love' package which included a bottle of champagne on ice, a box of chocolate truffles, a red rose posy and a valentines gift set in the room on arrival.
This was our first stay at this hotel and it certainly lived up to our expectations. Set in a wonderful location above Daymer Bay and Polzeath the hotel itself has a lovely Art Deco style design. The staff were all very attentive and helpful and the food was beautifully presented and tasted great. We stayed in a first floor king size room which to be honest we couldn't find fault with. The bed was very comfortable and all the toiletries in the bathroom were the same products used in the Cowshed Spa.
Our room wasn't quite ready when we arrived so we took advantage of the upstairs lounge, grabbed a newspaper and ordered some drinks, and very much enjoyed the relaxed and ambient atmosphere. We did enquire about a spa session but as has been mentioned in few other reviews unfortunately they get very busy and it was all fully booked. I think to avoid similar disappointment it would be a good idea to book the spa at the same time you make your reservation. One quirky thing about the Cowshed Spa is that all the products used have names with a cow reference. For example the hand cream is called Cow Pat and there is a massage oil called Horny Old Cow. We didn't get an opportunity to use the indoor swimming pool. Had we been staying for more than one night we would have found the time. Between 7-9pm the pool is for adult use only. Worth remembering if you don't do noisy OPK's (other peoples kids).
Overall we were very happy with our stay at the St Moritz. Yes it is expensive but as with most things in life you get what you pay for. If you are planning to do something special in Cornwall you really couldn't find a much better hotel than this one.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We enjoyed a few nights in early January 2014 to celebrate my birthday & our anniversary. Great attentive service from the staff. Great food in the restaurant. Our 6 year old was welcome in all areas. Unfortunately there was no space left in the Spa so I couldn't appreciate what looks like a lovely Spa. We used the pool. Our room was the ground floor 'assisted' room, adapted for the less mobile. This was fine as really it's only the bathroom that we noticed anything significant. Our only feed back would be for the hotel to provide somewhere for you to place toiletries as there is only a small ledge. Perhaps a removable shelf unit for when able guests are accommodated ?
The kitchen was superb and had very high standard equipment. Our daughter was on a put-you-up bed in the lounge which was fine for her.
The extra little touch of the Christmas tree still being up was lovely as it did extend the festive season for us.
We would return and probably persuade friends to come to.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We stayed in one of the Garden Villas in February 2014 with another family. The villa was wonderful - spacious, comfortable and the upstairs lounge with sea view was breathtaking. Kitchen well equipped. We were able to use the hotel facilities and enjoyed the pool, spacious sauna and steam room, especially enjoying the adult only swim in the evening, often having the pool to ourselves. The staff were so friendly and helpful and we were able to take advantage of the jeep ride to and from Rock to take the ferry to Padstow. Coastal walks amazing. We had such a good time that we booked for next year before we left!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We stayed at this complex at the end of January about 3 years after our first visit and things have improved somewhat. The restaurant is now in better shape and offers a comprehensive menu. Staff were very friendly and attentive. The rooms were good (we had a first floor suite overlooking the beach) but the modern furniture was not at all comfortable; in particular the lounge had low back chairs that created both back and neck aches. But very well equipped with a full size kitchen, lounge, bedroom and bathroom. At the right time of year the large balcony would be absolutely perfect to watch the sunsets. We will return.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Corderone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

This is the second time we have stayed at the St. Moritz and we loved it. We stayed in a king room which was clean and very comfortable. Free use of the leisure facilities for guests is a great feature and we spent the afternoon using the pool, sauna and steam room. I'm a big fan of the Cowshed Spa and Cowshed products, so I love the fact that the body wash, shampoo and conditioners are available in the bathrooms and the pool/gym showers. All staff we came into contact with we're very friendly and accommodating. We will be returning!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Kylie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews