We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but noisy hotel”
Review of St. Moritz Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
St. Moritz Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Wadebridge
Certificate of Excellence
West London, UK
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice but noisy hotel”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed for a week in June 2013 in a King size room with beach hut. Our room was in an annex to the main hotel building (room 108b). The room itself was clean and spacious. There are tea and coffee facilities and fresh milk provided in the mini-bar fridge. A hairdrier and hair irons were also provided. The bathroom had a shower only - no bath, bath robes were provided. There is a small cupboard on each landing where shared ironing boards are stored which is quite handy. The bedroom was overlooking the carpark. The rooms do not have air conditioning and it was quite hot but it was too noisy to have the window open at night. The room was not very sound proof - we could hear every cough, trip to the bathroom, TV, door closure of the neighbouring rooms. If you are used to a firm bed then like us, you will find the bed uncomfortable as it was very soft with feather duvet, pillows and mattress topper. We had aches and pains from the soft bed within a few days. There is no mobile phone signal in the rooms (or almost anywhere in the hotel) but there is free wifi.

The King sized rooms come with a private beach hut which is nice and has tables and chairs provided. It is not actually on the beach though, but in the hotel gardens near to the outdoor pool. The outdoor pool was too cold to swim in when we were there and it was impossible to swim in the heated indoor pool as it was full of young parents with babies and toddlers. The steam room and sauna are nice and pool towels are provided.

Breakfast in the reatuarant was excellent - lots of varierty and the hot food was cooked to order so no hanging around buffet hotplates which was great. The evening menu in the restaurant was less impressive. We are vegetarian and the same two menu options were provided every day so we ended up eating out.

The best thing about this hotel is its staff - very helpful and friendly.

Nearby we took the foot ferry across to Padstow which was great and we went to Port Isaac (where Doc Martin TV show is filmed) and to the Eden Project which is excellent but expensive.

Overall a nice hotel but spoilt by the noise, soft bed, lack of menu choice and many toddlers and babies everywhere. Probably great for young families but as a middle aged couple looking for a quiet break it didn't meet expectations.

Room Tip: The king rooms with beach huts don't have a sea view. Rooms in the annex buildings are very nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thebotleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

940 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    575
    222
    101
    25
    17
See reviews for
234
501
17
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Welwyn, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

My wife and I stayed for three nights in a king room. This was our third visit to the hotel and the first time in the summer, having stayed in Oct and New Year.

The room was a nice size and as always great service although the bar/restaurant by the pool appeared to get in a mess with some orders one lunch time.

Walks from here down to Rock along the coast are stunning and over all it was very relaxing.

My wife visited the spa and rated it 4 out of 5.

Room Tip: Ask for a room closer to the reception area as you don't have cars driving past later night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin_Welwyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

St. Moritz hotel and spa is nestled on the Cornish coastline with beautiful views out to sea. Whilst staying in nearby Tintagel for my Cornish hen weekend, my friends and I chose to visit the hotel for its famous Cowshed spa treatments on June 10th 2013.
As there were six of us, we had booked quite far in advance to ensure we could all receive our chosen treatments and Tracey the Manager made the experience very easy.
From the moment we arrived we were impressed. The hotel is very striking with its pristine white Art Deco exterior. It has amazing views and we were promptly welcomed by superb staff.
While we were each waiting for our treatments to tick round, we relaxed by the wonderful outdoor pool in the large lazy boy hammocks and drank delicious mocktails hand mixed by the staff in the Seaside bar. The beach huts are so pretty!
The Spa itself was immaculate and welcoming and the girls who worked within the Cowshed were friendly, professional and made us feel at ease. A special mention must go to the masseuse, Sheree, who was lovely and made the experience a joy from start to finish.
We hope to return in the near future and would recommend this Hotel and Spa to anyone who is staying in the area and looking for a little bit of luxury. Thank you St. Moritz!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimjam_87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugeley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed on the 'Break Away Package' which included B&Bfor two nights with 3course meal in restaurant and 2course meal in seaside restaurant.we had a cosy room and bottle of champagne in the room.our break was excellent from start to finish. Staff are extremley attentive and friendly our room was 'cosy' very clean and of a good standard with great cow shed toiletries.
Restaurant food was excellent and we decided to swap our lunch to a picnic for our journey home which was also excellent. A 4x4 is also provided free of charge to take or pick you up from Polzeath or Rock up u til 6pm I thought this was very handy although on this occasion we didn't utilise this perk.
We had such a fantastic break and can't wait to return!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

This is beautiful. A wonderful location near the coastal path with superb views out to sea. The food was excellent both in the evening and at breakfast. The suite we had was well appointed, spacious, clean and modern and the whole complex seems very well and discreetly managed. We slept well; it is quiet and the bed was large, firm and comfortable. My wife and daughter strongly recommend the Cowshed Spa.
We shall return

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GentleGordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Recently, my wife and I enjoyed a one night stay at The St Moritz Hotel, arranged as a special birthday treat. We were allocated a suite of beautiful rooms which were amazing in both ambiance and attention to detail. The facilities are superb and the location is stunning. The staff we met were consummate professionals - knowledgeable, unfussy and simply focussed on making your time there as memorable as possible.
The food (at both our evening meal and our leisurely breakfast) was first class and is sourced locally as far as is possible.
We plan to return as soon as possible and have recommended the hotel to our out-of-County relations and friends.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

I stayed here as part of a group who were playing golf on Cornwall's breezy coast. The evening food was good, the service was excellent and the rooms were comfortable. Breakfast was varied and plentiful. It is a bit on the expensive side but that's all there is to complain about. Wifi is free and easily accessible everywhere but you might have a problem with mobile phone reception. If I had my family here, I am sure they would love it with beaches, swimming pool, walking, shopping and spa treatments. Rock is a few minutes walk away and Padstow is either a drive or a ferry ride. Getting here is a bit of a pain (and in the summer the roads must be a nightmare) but once arrived, you will enjoy it and have a good time.

Room Tip: I had a small room with a double bed that looked out on to the car park. It was perfectly adaquate f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wadebridge
12.8 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
8.2 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
1,177 reviews
13.5 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#4 of 8 in Padstow
1,438 reviews
1.5 mi away
The St Enodoc Hotel
17.9 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Moritz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Moritz Hotel

Property: St. Moritz Hotel
Address: St. Moritz Villas | Trebetherick, Wadebridge PL27 6SD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Wadebridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Wadebridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Moritz Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your St. Moritz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Moritz Hotel Wadebridge, Cornwall
St Moritz Wadebridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing