We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quality Hotel - Shame about the staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of St. Moritz Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
St. Moritz Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Wadebridge
Certificate of Excellence
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Quality Hotel - Shame about the staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

Booked in to the Hotel for a Spa and Lunch. The Lunch was ok, main meal good but sweet a real let down at £6.50, worth more like £2.50. The waiting staff here were fine
The Spa, the facilities are good and there is a gym which again is fine. However the reception staff I dealt with was really poor. First of all she said that we couldn't use the gym when our booking confirmation quite clearly said we could, she was unable to move our lunch reservation by 15 minutes and when we went to the lunch the restaurant was half empty and basically her customer service skills were not up to this Hotels billing - She basically spoiled our day with her abrupt attitude which was a shame because we had gone threre to relax and chill !!

Room Tip: Only visited Spa which was fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack18755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

909 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    560
    212
    97
    25
    15
See reviews for
226
484
14
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
100 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Booked this via one of those weekly emailed deals, £99 for a night B & B, with 5 course 'taster menu' thrown in. The hotel is in a beautiful location, minues from a lovely beach. Our 'cosy' room was spotless, super comfy bed, immaculate linen/towels/dressing gowns. The food was the best i'd had in Cornwall in 30+ years of going, save one Rib-Eye in Newquay, 2007, and we've eaten at a certain fish restaurant in Padstow too. The breakfast was, as expected, lovely, even freshly squeeezed OJ by the jug full, and the biggest cereal bowls ever seen! All the staff were friendly, welcoming and helpful. Can't wait for better weather, Tregenna has been usurped.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davem001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel complex that we have watched develop during many visits to the St. moritz villas. The food is great delivered through an open kitchen led by the Head Chef and his team of nine. My squid salad and Halibut with lobster risotto was first class. Lunch at the Seaview was also very good where great cooking was again in evidence. The bar area is very comfortable and great for putting away a few pints of Doom Bar served by the friendly and attentive bar team. Breakfast was also good and cooked to order with many options to choose from.
Our room was not big but was well designed and the bottle of wine on arrival was much appreciated.
Did the usual walks which are great this time of year. We will keep going back!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Timtee56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
445 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

Our day started with a walk a long the coast path by New Polzeath. This is a lovely area and quiet in winter, sea was rough and incredible to watch.
We booked a 'special' on Travel Zoo for 6 of us as a bit of a post Christmas treat which made it excellent value. We has a great 2-course lunch in the restaurant. Food quality was excellent and it was quite busy for January, a good sign?
This followed by inclusive use of the pool etc. The pool is practical and you can swim in it and the steam room was good too. Sauna is a bit dark for my liking and the jacuzzi is very small.
Lovely changing rooms and showers.
Would definetely do this again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Newquaygreen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed at St Moritz over the Christmas holidays in 2012. The hotel is absolutely perfectly located, within walking distance to Polzeath and Rock and with the water bus, Padstow. We had lovely walks along the coastline. The hotel staff were very helpful and gave us tips for exploring the area. They even offered to pick us up in the Landrover a few times.

We enjoyed all the food we ate at the hotel. The breakfast buffet was fantastic and the choice of cooked breakfast was almost overwhelming. The dinner menu was also what was to be expected from a seaside hotel.

We used both the spa (book early) and went for early morning swims - had the facilities all to ourselves!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anu N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

We were really disappointed with our stay at this hotel, it was far from the promised relaxing break and overpriced for what it is. The hotel markets itself on being a family experience and we should have paid more attention to this as it really does deliver on its marketing. If you are without children and looking for a quiet getaway, look elsewhere.

We stayed in a king room and whilst the bed was big and comfy the bathrooms were pretty compact and as the walls in the rooms are paper thin and you can hear your neighbours when in their rooms and in the corridor - TVs in the cosy rooms next door were crystal clear as were the young family opposite all day and all night.

We were also disappointed with the swimming / relaxation areas which were open to children all day until 7pm when supposedly over 18s only were permitted (not enforced by parents or hotel). The area is quite small so there really was no escaping the noise, divebombing or running around.

The food in the restaurant and bar areas was nice, particularly breakfast. However we thought it was overpriced for what you got (drinks and food) and we were surprised the chefs/waiting staff could not confirm whether dishes were suitable for pregnancy e.g. when asking if any of the deserts contained raw eggs or alcohol I was told they weren't sure and couldn't really guarantee anything, but that I should go ahead and try them. For the price and supposed standard of hotel / restaurant this is the worst restaurant I've experienced in pregnancy.

On the positive side, the hotel is in a lovely location, with great walks to Rock, Polzeath and the coastal path. The landrover service drop-off and collection from Rock, Polzeath and the passenger ferry port to Padstow is really helpful and the hotel provide a very useful guide to activities, attractions and restaurants in the local area. What saved the break for us was the service, thank you in particular to Alys, who was full of great advice on what to do and helping to make arrangements.

Unfortunately even with children we won't be returning as there were too many downsides for us, particularly the lack of soundproofing and the lack of value for money. For a quiet couple's break in the area I would instead recommend Treann B&B on the Padstow side for great value, big rooms, location and lovely homecooked breakfasts.

Room Tip: Bring your ear plugs, there is no soundproofing between the rooms and you can hear EVERYTHING from y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anon641
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

Stunning location, absolutely beautiful hotel,fantastic food and lovely spa. Staff friendly and helpful..they even offered to come collect us in the landrover if it rained too much. I can't praise this hotel enough.
Rooms were extremely comfortable with everything you could wish for.
Lovely festive christmas atmosphere even when the hotel was not very busy

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Claire g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wadebridge
12.8 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
8.2 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
2.0 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#4 of 8 in Padstow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,488 reviews
4.8 mi away
Treglos Hotel
Treglos Hotel
#1 of 1 in Constantine Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
17.4 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Moritz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Moritz Hotel

Property: St. Moritz Hotel
Address: St. Moritz Villas | Trebetherick, Wadebridge PL27 6SD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Wadebridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Wadebridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Moritz Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your St. Moritz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Moritz Hotel Wadebridge, Cornwall
St Moritz Wadebridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing